Menu
Reply
shadowswan
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
423 Views
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hub4 upgrade failed

Hi,

 

I’m after any help that anyone can offer!

I had a perfectly working hub3 on 500gb, have upgraded to gig1 and after the customary 5 day game with yodel of ‘will they deliver today’ my new hub4 turned up last night.

I’ve installed it like for like but am getting no internet. I have spoken to customer services who couldn’t help a lot but are sending out an engineer next week although I can’t wait this long! They could not re-activate my old hub3 so I have gone in a short time from perfectly working 500gb to nothing with a week without internet where I somehow have to work from home as well as all the life benefits internet has.

 

Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

I have checked the cable tightness

I have used a different coax from the TV and an old install

I have checked everything is snug in the brown box outside.

I have rebooted and reset the router

I have asked customer services to send an activation ‘ping’

The system is cycling through getting a CM IP, downloading the config file then failing and seems to only be seeing 1 downstream and 1 upstream channel.

 

Cable Modem Status

Item

Status

Comments

Cable Modem Status

Offline

DOCSIS 3.1

Primary downstream channel

Locked

SC-QAM

Channel Overview

Downstream

Upstream

DOCSIS 3.0 channels

1

1

DOCSIS 3.1 channels

0

0

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

25

331000000

0.4

37.6

QAM256

25




3.0 Downstream channels

Channel

Lock Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

25

Locked

37.636276

0

0

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

25800000

39

5120 KSym/sec

64QAM

12




3.0 Upstream channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

US_TYPE_STDMA

0

0

0

0


General Configuration

Network access

true

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

false

DOCSIS Mode

3.1

Config file

*** (not sure if I needed to redact this)




Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

4946

Max Traffic Rate

1200000450

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0




Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

4945

Max Traffic Rate

55000270

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

16320

Scheduling Type

bestEffort

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

Wed 15/12/2021 04:01:34

3

REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:02:51

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:02:51

4

T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:02:51

3

REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:ec;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:04:08

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:04:08

4

T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:04:08

3

REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:05:27

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:05:27

4

T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:05:27

3

REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:06:41

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:06:41

4

T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:06:41

3

REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Wed 15/12/2021 04:06:41

3

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=e4:**:**:**:**:**;;CMTS-MAC=00:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 5.3K
  • 259
  • 453
Moderator
Moderator
399 Views
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 upgrade failed

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Community Forums, shadowswan,

 

Sorry to hear that your new hub isn't working. Have you tried contacting the qucikstart installs team to see if it's an activation issue?  They can be reached at 0800 953 9500

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
shadowswan
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
397 Views
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 upgrade failed

Corey, 

 

Thanks for the reply, yes I called them but unfortunately they couldn’t offer any help

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.08K
  • 511
  • 1.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
382 Views
Message 4 of 5
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub4 upgrade failed

Try a full 60 second factory reset on the Hub as detailed below.  Note the do not reboot the Hub bit, it will sort itself out.

Remove any ethernet cables from the Hub and hold the pinhole reset switch for 60 seconds. Do NOT reboot the Hub, just let it do it's thing. Note you will need the passwords from the bottom of the Hub afterwards, so make sure they are legible.

This may help.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

shadowswan
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
350 Views
Message 5 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 upgrade failed

Thanks so much! This worked perfectly 

0 Kudos
Reply