Menu
isgregory
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Hub 4.0 compatability with powerline boosters

Hi,

We have just had the new Hub 4.0 delivered and want to know whether we should use our existing Powerline Booster (used with Hub 3) with the new hub.

Our Virgin connectivity throughout the house has been problematic this year. We spent ages configuring the boosters to optimum impact and don't want to spend another working day trying and then finding out the two pieces of kit are incompatible. 

If they are, how do we get a compatible booster?

0 Kudos
VM-Jon
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 4.0 compatability with powerline boosters

Hi,
They should be absolutely fine.
You may need to to set them up to clone your Hub 4 SSID if you have them set up this way. If you have them as a seperate SSID then it should be a case of just plugging the ethernet cable into the new Hub4

Here to help! I'm an install manager helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
isgregory
Joining in
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Hi, 

This doesn't work - the speed I am getting using the booster is 1.96 Megabits per second.

I am sure that isn't what we pay for.

I am happy to go to another provider for a booster, but I need wifi downstairs and I need advice. 

Change to BT/ Sky or get an answer?

0 Kudos
MikeRobbo
Alessandro Volta
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

If your electrical circuit is poor with lots of connections, old cables etc it will affect the Power Line Connection.

The very best fix would be to run a Cat 6 cable between the two points with an 8 port switch and a simple wireless access point in the target room.

Next would be a third party more powerful router or mesh system.