Menu
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
705 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

In the last few months or so my internet connection keeps dropping out. I find that switching off the router and then back on fixes it for short periods of time. I've tried factory resetting the hub bit that didn't seem to have made any difference.

Is there anything else that I can do? The unreliable connection is making working from home very difficult.

jbrennand
  • 22.5K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
697 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

You haven't said.... is it dropping on both wifi and ethernet cable connections at the same time? If you dont know - can you test it?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
686 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

Hi John!

Appreciate the quick response. I don't have any wired devices but a guest did have the same problem last week. He had the laptop plugged in directly.

Also, I just noticed the hub is logging alot of these critical messages, which according to another post is an issue?

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Many thanks,

GT

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.5K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
605 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

OK - follow this protocol.....

-----
First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - disconnect any ethernet cables and with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave it 10’ to stabilise. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right (SH2’s) or text at bottom-middle of first page up (Hub3) and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
537 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

Hi,

Have checked the cabling which seems ok. The wiring to the RJ11 (pic attached) is in fairly sorry state but don't think that would have an impact on the connection? I have signed up to the Broadband monitor as suggested and will post the log from the hub shortly.

20200906_214740.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
535 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

And here are the logs..

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1283000000240256 qam19
2139000000438256 qam1
31470000003.538256 qam2
41550000003.538256 qam3
51630000003.440256 qam4
61710000003.438256 qam5
71790000003.540256 qam6
81870000003.738256 qam7
91950000003.440256 qam8
10203000000340256 qam9
112110000002.938256 qam10
12219000000340256 qam11
132270000002.738256 qam12
142350000002.738256 qam13
152430000002.238256 qam14
16251000000138256 qam15
172590000000.438256 qam16
182670000001.238256 qam17
19275000000238256 qam18
202910000002.540256 qam20
21299000000338256 qam21
223070000002.540256 qam22
233150000002.540256 qam23
243230000002.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.390
2Locked38.6490
3Locked38.6310
4Locked38.9250
5Locked40.3240
6Locked38.9230
7Locked40.3280
8Locked38.9310
9Locked40.9200
10Locked40.3570
11Locked38.9100
12Locked40.390
13Locked38.9140
14Locked38.9110
15Locked38.6120
16Locked38.6270
17Locked38.9190
18Locked38.9230
19Locked38.9100
20Locked40.380
21Locked38.9280
22Locked40.3380
23Locked40.9260
24Locked40.3300

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1258000144.1512064 qam6
2326000214.15512064 qam5
3393999794.2512064 qam4
4462000394.3512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
534 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

Network Log
Time Priority Description
06/09/2020 17:19:56 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 19:01:24 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 19:00:34 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 19:00:4 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:59:14 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:58:44 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:57:54 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:57:24 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:56:34 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:56:4 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:55:15 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:54:45 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:53:55 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:53:25 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:52:35 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:52:5 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:51:15 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:50:45 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:49:55 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/09/2020 18:49:25 critical Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CMTS-MAC=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 5.3K
  • 224
  • 302
Forum Team
Forum Team
438 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

Hi GT2020GT,

 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community. 

 

I'm very sorry to hear about the issue you're having. The picture you have provided for the cables isn't what we like to see for our customers.

 

So what I will do is private message you we can get a technician out to sort those cables and look into the hub issue you're having. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply
GT2020GT
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
349 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

Just wanted provide an update on this in case anyone is looking for a solution. The issue was basically down to the cable not terminating properly at the box. Martin arranged for an engineer (Terry) to pop by and he identified and fixed the issue really quickly. Even moved the line to a different location out of the way so it doesn't get knocked about.

It's been two weeks now and everything has been largely stable.

Thank you everyone for the help!

Gareth_L
  • 6.18K
  • 379
  • 672
Forum Team
Forum Team
274 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 needs constant rebooting

And a big thankyou GT2020GT for the update and confirmation everything is now working fine 

If and a big if, you need anything else please pop back on here and we will do our best to help

Gareth_L