forumarchive,nothingtosee,
Menu
Reply
peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,381 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

I've just received a Hub 3.0 to replace my old Superhub. 

This page states clearly that the red status light is due to the unit overheating:

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-what-do-the-lights-on-your-hub-mean 

However, other posts in this forum indicate that the red light means that the unit is in modem mode.

I have set the hub up in modem mode, which is my intention.  However, the VM link above is explicit, according to that the unit is overheating.    Notably there is plenty of air circulation around the unit, earlier today it was cool enough that I was even wearing a light jumper in the same room.  I even set a desk fan to blow air on the unit for a couple of hours, the light stayed red.  The VM link above is of no help, apart from giving a generic hub placement guide.

Can anyone assist, is the hub overheating or is it just because it is in modem mode?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
2,371 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

In modem mode the light is magenta, not red, however I'm unsure how different those colours are based on the LED used.

Modem mode

 

peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,351 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

Thank you for the rapid response and the picture.  If you had not had included the picture I would have said that my light is red, however, it looks similar to yours. Lacking any calibrated means to determine the colour, monitor colour temperate etc I'd say my light and your photo are somewhere around #FF0062 which I would say is red with a hint of magenta whereas I would expect magenta to be somewhere near #F700FF.

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
2,349 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?


@peterchant wrote:

Thank you for the rapid response and the picture.  If you had not had included the picture I would have said that my light is red, however, it looks similar to yours. Lacking any calibrated means to determine the colour, monitor colour temperate etc I'd say my light and your photo are somewhere around #FF0062 which I would say is red with a hint of magenta whereas I would expect magenta to be somewhere near #F700FF.


If your HUB is working, and not regularly rebooting, I would suggest that it is not overheating.

As you say difficult to tell on a monitor.

peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,330 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

No rebooting issues so far.  Its only been running a day, but if overheating were an issue I would have thought I would have seen it by now.   The hub is warm to the touch, but what you would expect for something consuming this amount of power.  Also no hot electronics smell.   It did take a while to sort itself out and takes a while to get an address etc via DHCP when I installed it.  The main reason questioning the light colour is that my connection has been upgraded but I've not seen a commensurate increase in connection speed.  Checking that the hub appears to be OK is the first step.  Off to check the router, cables, direct connection to the hub etc. shortly.  But anyway, that the hub is not overheating is resolved.  Thank you.

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
2,322 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

We can have a look at the HUB stats if you like?

Could you access your router using http://192.168.100.1/ . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

0 Kudos
Reply
peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,267 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

That is very kind of you.  A sensible bet is probably that I connect my newest PC straight to the hub, or try connecting my router directly to the Hub via short new cables to see what I get.  My router, connecting to the hub in modem mode is a TP-Link Archer C7 so it has a 1GB/s WAN port.  However, the router is on the opposite side of the house and I estimate that the cable has been in for, probably 15 years, so I'm not sure if it is Cat 5 or 5e.

Logs:

Downstream:

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14102500008.838256 qam1
2418250000938256 qam2
34262500009.138256 qam3
4434250000938256 qam4
54422500008.938256 qam5
64502500008.538256 qam6
74582500008.138256 qam7
84662500008.638256 qam8
94742500008.938256 qam9
104822500009.138256 qam10
114902500009.138256 qam11
12498250000938256 qam12
135062500009.138256 qam13
14514250000938256 qam14
155222500008.538256 qam15
165302500008.438256 qam16
17538250000838256 qam17
185462500008.138256 qam18
195542500007.638256 qam19
205622500007.538256 qam20
215702500007.438256 qam21
22578250000738256 qam22
235862500006.538256 qam23
245942500006.838256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.9290
2Locked38.6270
3Locked38.6240
4Locked38.6140
5Locked38.6380
6Locked38.6350
7Locked38.6300
8Locked38.9320
9Locked38.6110
10Locked38.6230
11Locked38.9230
12Locked38.9230
13Locked38.6200
14Locked38.6100
15Locked38.970
16Locked38.6710
17Locked38.6130
18Locked38.6210
19Locked38.9190
20Locked38.6210
21Locked38.6170
22Locked38.6250
23Locked38.9340
24Locked38.6550

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,266 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000003.925512064 qam1
2258002663.8512032 qam4
3325999703.8512064 qam3
4393999563.85512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
peterchant
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,263 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

Network Log

Time Priority Description

27/07/2020 20:17:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/07/2020 19:26:32noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/07/2020 19:20:7noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
27/07/2020 19:18:16noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
26/07/2020 22:02:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 22:02:34criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 22:02:34Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:03:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2020 12:02:19noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2020 11:42:51noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:05:29criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:04:47Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:04:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:04:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:04:42criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2020 19:04:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/03/2020 22:21:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/03/2020 21:32:48noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-Vdc7d7191ac270fd6.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
2,140 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 - red light, modem mode or overheat?

Your downstream channels, to be in spec, should have a power level of -6 to +10, although close to '0' is prefered.

Your channels are closer to the upper limit, which would be good to bring down. You wouldn't happen to have any 'forward path equaliser' devices from previous installs? we'd want to put a ,roughly, 6 - 8db device between your HUB and white cable from the wall socket to bring the levels down.

One of your upstream channels is out of spec, as they should all be 64 qam (Power levels look ok though).

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000003.925512064 qam1
2258002663.8512032 qam4
3325999703.8512064 qam3
4393999563.85512064 qam2

 

You'll probably need an engineer visit to correct the levels, regardless.