Menu
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
526 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

Hi,

Moved house in August, brought equipment with me.  Engineer install at new address.

Moved from 350 to 500Mbps product too, and added phone line.

Everything fine for a week then connection dropped.  Rebooted hub. Happened every week or so, now happening more frequently. I have tried factory reset of Hub.

When it happens, Hub is completely non responsive, no pings on 192.168.0.1, cannot access web interface.

We only moved round the corner but at previous address I probably only rebooted the thing twice in 5 years.  Now it's getting nearly daily, and at least weekly.  Pretty annoying. 

Open to suggestions, would happily go back to 350 Mbps if it is more reliable.  and i'm not even using the phoneline.  The TV service/box seems fine (apart from complaining about lack of internet)

Hopefully someone can help,

C

 

0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
516 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

Things in network log:  (Timings do not seem to line up with when it fails, i.e. may not be relevant)

08/12/2020 10:01:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 09:34:2noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 02:15:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 20:25:30ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2020 00:51:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:31:49noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:31:41Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:22:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:12:59criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:10Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:6criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:5criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/12/2020 09:10:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 07:32:7noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 07:27:38ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 02:01:40noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2020 14:59:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 17.68K
  • 1.37K
  • 4.26K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
515 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

start with some info

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

is the problem both wired and wifi - when the hub locks up what are the light/s doing on the front

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
499 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

Thank you - here's the downstream

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12990000003.738256 qam21
22030000004.438256 qam9
32110000004.338256 qam10
4219000000438256 qam11
52270000003.938256 qam12
62350000003.938256 qam13
72430000003.538256 qam14
82510000003.538256 qam15
92590000003.438256 qam16
102670000003.438256 qam17
112750000003.238256 qam18
122830000003.238256 qam19
13291000000338256 qam20
143070000004.538256 qam22
153150000004.538256 qam23
163230000004.438256 qam24
173310000004.838256 qam25
183710000003.738256 qam26
193790000003.738256 qam27
20387000000438256 qam28
213950000003.738256 qam29
224030000003.237256 qam30
234110000003.437256 qam31
244190000003.237256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.660
2Locked38.950
3Locked38.660
4Locked38.960
5Locked38.650
6Locked38.950
7Locked38.950
8Locked38.940
9Locked38.900
10Locked38.660
11Locked38.650
12Locked38.950
13Locked38.6110
14Locked38.660
15Locked38.650
16Locked38.600
17Locked38.610
18Locked38.600
19Locked38.650
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.650
22Locked37.600
23Locked37.680
24Locked37.60

0

And the upstream
 
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000042.5512064 qam8
23940000042.3512064 qam9
32580000041.3512064 qam12
43260000041.8512064 qam10


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
 
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
492 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

When the hub locks up, there is no obvious change to the lights.  Normally there is a whiteishyellow light on the bottom-front , and it stays on when it fails.  The green phone and data lights are only on during boot.  They two green phone/data lights are off right now, and they stay off then it fails.  

I do not use the WiFi on the hub, it is disabled.  Connected equipment cannot ping the router when it fails, and a dhcp renew on a PC results in a 169.x address, so it isn't responding to DHCP requests from the LAN.

After a power off/power on it comes back up and all is well again for a while.  I have even tried disconnecting various things (i.e. we got a new TV when we moved).  THis has made no difference. 

C

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 3.95K
  • 304
  • 950
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
484 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

Nothing in the power levels to show problems, however lost sync and mdd timeouts in the logs are cause for concern.

You say you have done a reset, but have you done the 60 second pin hole reset and DON'T reboot the router afterwards.  Just let it do it's thing.

Also as you don't use wifi, it could be one of the Hub's that are being reported with failing ethernet ports, and you may need a replacement.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
479 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

I have done a pin hole reset, but only once a few weeks ago.

I will do another.  Are you saying press and hold for 60s? and then *don't* power cycle? Just give it time?

Failed ethernet ports would make sense - I will check my switch to see if the link from my switch to the VM Hub goes down, although I guess that isn't conclusive as the brains could still fail while the link stays up..

Thank you,

C

0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
425 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

OK, Hub 3.0 has locked up three times since my last post.

When it does, the ethernet port LEDs are still lit, as is the LED on the port on my switch (connected to the HUB 3).  However there is no ethernet communication happening, i.e. no response to pings to 192.168.0.1 -- does this sound like the "broken ethernet ports" issue described above?  If so, how do I get a replacement HUB?

Virgin online tests step me through the "check connections, power cycle router" every time.  A bit frustrating.

This is getting a little frustrating, working from home, etc, zoom, remote desktop, video production and software developer I really notice when it stops working!

0 Kudos
Reply
cbishop
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
423 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 non responsive every few days, connection drops.

The lost sync and MDD timeouts - would that point to a physical connection issue? This was an engineer install when we moved in recently, so fresh cabling from street. The cable comes in, goes into a splitter behind the TV and then to HUB and Tivo box. When the broadband freezes up, the TV seems absolutely fine... should I try swapping the cables between the TV and HUB and see if that makes a difference?
0 Kudos
Reply