Menu
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
mark_84
Joining in
296 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

My Hub has been rebooting since around 10am this morning. I phoned VM and apparently this is an area  fault with an expected fix date of the 30/09

i have grabbed some logs of the hub below

ddoes this look to be an area fault? 

Time

Priority

Description

21/09/2019 18:25:16

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/09/2019 18:25:16

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/09/2019 18:25:17

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/09/2019 18:25:17

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

402750000

10.6

40

256 qam

25

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

40.3

0

 

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

 

 

Cable Modem Status

 

 

Item

Status

Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

402750000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

Update in progress

Locked

Provisioning State

Online

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
mark_84
Joining in
290 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

402750000

10.8

40

256 qam

25

2

194750000

10.8

40

256 qam

8

3

202750000

10.6

40

256 qam

9

4

210750000

10.6

40

256 qam

10

5

218750000

10.8

40

256 qam

11

6

226750000

10.8

40

256 qam

12

7

234750000

10.6

40

256 qam

13

8

242750000

10.4

40

256 qam

14

9

250750000

10.3

40

256 qam

15

10

258750000

10.1

40

256 qam

16

11

266750000

10.4

40

256 qam

17

12

274750000

10.3

40

256 qam

18

13

282750000

10.6

40

256 qam

19

14

290750000

10.9

40

256 qam

20

15

298750000

11.5

40

256 qam

21

16

306750000

11.5

40

256 qam

22

17

314750000

11.3

40

256 qam

23

18

322750000

11.4

40

256 qam

24

19

410750000

10.8

40

256 qam

26

20

418750000

10.8

40

256 qam

27

21

426750000

11

40

256 qam

28

22

434750000

11

40

256 qam

29

23

442750000

10.8

40

256 qam

30

24

450750000

11

40

256 qam

31

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
mark_84
Joining in
289 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Downstream bond

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

40.3

0

0

2

Locked

40.9

0

0

3

Locked

40.3

0

0

4

Locked

40.9

0

0

5

Locked

40.9

0

0

6

Locked

40.3

6

0

7

Locked

40.3

0

0

8

Locked

40.3

0

0

9

Locked

40.9

0

0

10

Locked

40.3

0

0

11

Locked

40.9

0

0

12

Locked

40.9

0

0

13

Locked

40.9

0

0

14

Locked

40.9

5

0

15

Locked

40.9

0

0

16

Locked

40.9

0

0

17

Locked

40.3

0

0

18

Locked

40.9

0

0

19

Locked

40.3

0

0

20

Locked

40.3

0

0

21

Locked

40.9

0

0

22

Locked

40.9

5

0

23

Locked

40.9

0

0

24

Locked

40.9

5

0

ed channels

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

46200000

4.446

5120

16 qam

1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.26K
  • 483
  • 1.03K
Tudor
Hero
268 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Downstream power levels are too high, out of spec. You have not posted your upstream power levels. It could be a fault in the local cabinet. Your hub is not rebooting, there is nothing in the logs to indicate that is happening. What probably is happening is the hub is losing connection to these CMTS and is trying to reestablish it. It is very, very rare for a hub to keep rebooting. It is indicated by a log entry/entries dated 01/01/1970. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
mark_84
Joining in
231 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Thanks Tudor, the upstream is showing as below. The reason I said reboot was due to the light sequence on the hub. The virgin service check is still showing no issues in my area 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000004.45512016 qam1
2258000004.45512016 qam4
3326000004.45512016 qam3
4394000004.45512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

[url=https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3c336d36b7701eb8d0f6a6ba81c21f90632f123c]My Broadband Ping[/url]
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6.26K
  • 483
  • 1.03K
Tudor
Hero
202 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Upstream power levels are ok, but they are 16 QAM and they should be on 64 QAM. You need to call customer services and report your problem. Be persistent as they will probably try to fob you off. I have found the status check to be next to useless, only reports issues for 1000’s of users, nothing when a few people on a local cabinet are affected. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.86K
  • 102
  • 189
Forum Team
Forum Team
197 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Hi Mark,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community, I am sorry you are having issues with your internet service.

 

There is currently a SNR ( Signal to Noise Ration) this can be a complex repair as it can take a while to find the source and once we do it can take a while longer to get permission from the council to carry out the work.

 

The estimated fix date is 30/09/19 ticket number F007423298 .

 

I apologise for any inconvenience.

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
mark_84
Joining in
189 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Thanks Paul, will I get the Ofcom automatic compensation for this as the connection is up and down and not completely down although pretty much unusable.

 

 Thanks 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.86K
  • 102
  • 189
Forum Team
Forum Team
188 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3.0 keeps rebooting (area fault)

Hi Mark

 

The auto compensation only covers complete loss not intermittent, you can find out more here .

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply