Menu
cpn10189
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

How does virgin connect to my house? Is it through my existing BT line?

Hi, I'm looking at potentially moving away from BT and joining Virgin. Can someone tell me please how virgin connect to my house? Is it through the old NTL cabling or is it through the existing BT line? 

0 Kudos
Christy_D
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: How does virgin connect to my house? Is it through my existing BT line?

Hi there,

Happy to help you with this.

Our infrastructure in different to BT's line. Its completely unique and yes it will use the NTL cable through the ground. 

Let me drop you a private message to double check your address over for you.

Thanks

Christy

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
HowardML
Superuser Emeritus
Superuser Emeritus
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

@Christy_D 

Pray tell what is there to take a look at? Edit well you have now edited your original reply to something more like what we should expect.

The answer to the question is obvious and clear.  The BT wiring is not used. VM has its own infrastructure. If there is existing NTL cabling in the house it is probable that the enquirer can get VM services immediately through the quick start process. They get the kit in the post with full instructions on how to set it up. VM will know if the cabling is suitable before accepting the order. This explains what happens:

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/quickstart-set-up-help

In the alternative if the enquirer doesn't feel confident about this process they can ask for a tech installation but that will delay things and may be chargeable if quick start was appropriate.