Menu
Reply
RJMorley
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
118 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

High Post RS Errors

Hi,

I asked the forum about my internet regularly dropping out and received a helpful answer which suggested I need an engineer due to "horrendous Post RS Errors".   

I've been onto Virgin who have carried out their usual diagnostic checks and "can't find any issues".  The blame was immediately placed on the 3rd party network equipment I have.  I'm using Google mesh Wifi (Hub3 in modem mode and connected by ethernet cable to google hub router).

The only way I could take this further with Virgin is to raise a complaint, which I didn't want to do. 

My question is - could using the equipment in this way be causing the issue with millions of Post RS errors / intermittent internet drops ?  

I'd just like to be sure before doing anything else - help!?

Here's the log info -

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9343764311843472
2Locked40.9347049351901097
3Locked40.3345387751875070
4Locked40.3345273301858637
5Locked40.3346364681809335
6Locked40.9342540281785309
7Locked40.3338468731751661
8Locked40.3332478581700385
9Locked40.9331011021697132
10Locked40.3335001801653383
11Locked40.3329977331609308
12Locked40.9330503631581058
13Locked40.3326553761535946
14Locked40.3327637291492941
15Locked40.9321864161467237
16Locked40.9327118371441258
17Locked40.3324895681403677
18Locked40.3323405471372982
19Locked40.9321198291326573
20Locked40.3326930911289921
21Locked40.9330813401260984
22Locked40.3327286171204164
23Locked40.3328924271160213
24Locked40.3333834861107118
0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.12K
  • 649
  • 1.42K
Alessandro Volta
107 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Post RS Errors

Get back on to them, they are talking rubbish. This is a function of the modem, nothing to do with router function albeit the VM hubs router function or your own router. It might be a good move to power cycle the hub and get a new set of stats after a few hours. It will then show whether these are old stats or they are still occurring. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
RJMorley
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
103 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Post RS Errors

Thanks @Tudor I'll kick another restart and monitor.  Appreciate your insight.  It's hard to argue with what's being said when you don't know what you're talking about.

Hub was powered off and on twice yesterday and I subjected it to a hard reset about 3 days ago - so it's not looking good. 

Will persevere with VM - hopefully a forum team member picks this up so it short cuts the communication stages.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
RJMorley
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
81 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Post RS Errors

For the record, 3 hours worth of data since the hub power down and restart... 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1 Locked 40.9 1515478 112653

2 Locked 40.3 1660828 154838

3 Locked 40.3 1578476 154868

4 Locked 40.3 1572190 153670

5 Locked 40.9 1610566 151275

6 Locked 40.9 1549538 149906

7 Locked 40.3 1575003 145021

8 Locked 40.9 1528204 141979

9 Locked 40.9 1488445 138634

10 Locked 40.9 1496745 136027

11 Locked 40.3 1512252 133485

12 Locked 40.3 1487063 129762

13 Locked 40.3 1502429 126415

14 Locked 40.3 1496915 123152

15 Locked 40.3 1494648 119928

16 Locked 40.9 1482554 116133

17 Locked 40.9 1506030 115294

18 Locked 40.3 1517917 107799

19 Locked 40.3 1505813 102523

20 Locked 40.9 1537847 100515

21 Locked 40.9 1549546 99187

22 Locked 40.9 1568520 94627

23 Locked 40.3 1587387 91965

24 Locked 40.3 1617599 88915

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.51K
  • 254
  • 728
Community elder
74 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Post RS Errors

To get so many errors so soon indicates a serious problem.  I take it you will have checked all your internal coax connections.  If they are OK then it will require an engineer visit to check the Hub and the network side of your connection.  It could even be noise injection from a neighbour making unauthorised connections. 

Insist on a visit.

Sasha_W
  • 896
  • 37
  • 65
Forum Team
Forum Team
15 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Post RS Errors

Morning @RJMorley

 

Thanks for posting back on the forum page and sorry to hear you're having continuous issues. 

 

I know you said you spoke to our team, and I can see that you spoke to them recently after posting this. 

 

Just to confirm, did everything get sorted out for you, or do you still need our assistance? More than happy to help if so. 🙂

 

Thanks 

 

Sasha - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply