Menu
Reply
smhx
  • 46
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,028 Views
Message 1 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

So,

Bit of a story, and stuck for what to do.

A virginmedia tech knocked on my door in October. Said there was a number of degraded cables in my street. He came in, tested all the cables, and worked out it was the external cable coming into the house.

At this point, I had no major problems, sometimes the internet may lag for a few seconds (e.g think for a few extra seconds before serving a page, or if downloading, would see the speed go 0kbps for a couple of seconds, but it maintained a connection).

Couple of weeks later, 2 cable contractors came out. Saw the cable went underground into my house, so can't do anything. They said they would pass info on. I still had no major problems at this point.

Couple of weeks later, 2 more came round. This time Virginmedia techs. They did some work to connect up the external cable into a box outside. Finished the job, tested ok, and connection seemed fine. Didn't seem to have any lag on the internet anymore.

Couple of weeks ago. Another virgin tech knocked on the door. Said had found issues with our line, which could be causing issues back to Virgin.

He tested the cables from outside and said it was the external cable (that is newly dragged through by the cables, and fitted and tested by the second techs). He would fit some form of box in the junction box on the street to correct the connection and monitor. I pointed out it was actually working fine.

He said would post me his phone number, in case it causes any issues, so I could get back to him direct. He didn't.

After this whatever it is was fitted, my internet has been going down multiple times every day, for an hour or more at a time. It constantly reports 'connected without Internet'.

I am currently posting this on 4G after more than an hour of virgin being down.

I rung up 150 last week. To be told there is a note on my account, saying a signal to noise issue, which should be resolved today (14th). But nothing they can do as it's not a fault they can send a tech out to (service techs can only swap equipment).

Where would I stand with this? I am working from home (like a chunk of other people), so it is a frustrating brick wall for me.

Anyone know any route I could take?? I need it sorted.

Also in terms of the ISP auto compensation scheme, how does this work? I have been without a properly working/useful service for over 2 weeks now. In anyone's experience, is this automatic from Virgin?

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.2K
  • 1.37K
  • 2.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,005 Views
Message 2 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Hello

With regards to compensation best place to look is https://www.virginmedia.com/help/automatic-compensation it is paid after the 2nd full day of no service partial lose isn't paid for, so if Internet is lost on a Monday the compensation is paid from Thursday until the fault is fixed.

What are the status lights on the hub showing ?

Regards Mike

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
smhx
  • 46
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
987 Views
Message 3 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Not looking like compensation would apply, as it's not fully down.

At the moment it's working, just the yellow light on (hub 3). Went down again this morning, but came back up by the I got up to the loft to check light status.

I am gonna ring 150 again this morning, as it's not acceptable, but they seem limited in what they can do in this scenario.

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.2K
  • 1.37K
  • 2.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
969 Views
Message 4 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Hello

I have escalated to the VM forum team, one of the VM staff will be along in this thread to have a look at it for you.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

smhx
  • 46
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
928 Views
Message 5 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Thank you Mike,

I ring in today, for 2.5 hours. To 3 different people. And got nowhere.

They only seem to be able to say to wait for 48 hours, and if still an issue they can send an in-home service tech.

Pointed out this will serve no purpose, as the internal cabling was checked and the kit is working.

They don't seem to have a route in to the field guys who came round. And they don't seem to recognise that I didn't have an issue prior to all this, and now it's broke.

Hope someone can help.

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 7.14K
  • 500
  • 1.31K
Legend
876 Views
Message 6 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Can you post some stats. Example (for a hub 3): go to 192.168.0.1 (router mode) or 192.168.100.1 (modem mode), do not log in, click on the link "Check Router Status".
Copy and paste the Downstream, Upstream and Network Logs. Mask any public IP address.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
smhx
  • 46
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
865 Views
Message 7 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Here is the logs.

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1 243000000 -15.3 33 256 qam 14

2 139000000 -6.7 36 256 qam 1

3 147000000 -10.5 35 256 qam 2

4 155000000 -6.7 36 256 qam 3

5 163000000 -5.2 37 256 qam 4

6 171000000 -7.2 36 256 qam 5

7 179000000 -3.5 38 256 qam 6

8 187000000 -6.4 37 256 qam 7

9 195000000 -7.7 37 256 qam 8

10 203000000 -5.7 37 256 qam 9

11 211000000 -7.9 34 256 qam 10

12 219000000 -9.2 35 256 qam 11

13 227000000 -7.9 36 256 qam 12

14 235000000 -10.2 36 256 qam 13

15 251000000 -7.9 37 256 qam 15

16 267000000 -11.7 34 256 qam 17

17 275000000 -10.5 36 256 qam 18

18 283000000 -11.9 33 256 qam 19

19 299000000 -7 37 256 qam 21

20 307000000 -11.9 35 256 qam 22

21 315000000 -11.5 35 256 qam 23

22 323000000 -7.2 37 256 qam 24

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1 Locked 33 190650 0

2 Locked 36.3 262 0

3 Locked 35.5 388 0

4 Locked 36.6 261 0

5 Locked 37.6 190 0

6 Locked 36.3 214 0

7 Locked 38.6 136 0

8 Locked 37.6 186 0

9 Locked 37.3 216 0

10 Locked 37.3 203 0

11 Locked 34.9 2994 343

12 Locked 35 2343 137

13 Locked 36.6 184 0

14 Locked 36.6 201 0

15 Locked 37.3 162 0

16 Locked 34.3 5168 11

17 Locked 36.3 223 0

18 Locked 33.8 72100 5324

19 Locked 37.6 163 0

20 Locked 35.7 363 0

21 Locked 35.5 219 0

22 Locked 37.3 193 0

 

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1 32600002 44.3 5120 64 qam 3

2 25800000 44.3 5120 64 qam 4

3 39399988 44.3 5120 64 qam 2

4 46200007 44.3 5120 64 qam 1

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

Logs (hasn't gone full down for about 4 hours):

Time Priority Description

16/12/2020 00:11:10 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:11:9 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:52 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:51 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:51 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:51 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:23 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:10:22 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:09:53 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:09:53 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:56 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:56 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:32 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:32 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:18 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:08:18 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:07:59 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:07:59 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:06:38 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/12/2020 00:06:38 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.59K
  • 208
  • 415
Trouble shooter
837 Views
Message 8 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Yes, you definitely need an engineer. The modem is struggling to keep a conversation going with the cabinet. 

Do you have an attenuator or a splitter on the cable anywhere? 

smhx
  • 46
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
830 Views
Message 9 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

Well, it started with the 4th engineer.

He said there was a fault with the external cable, which could cause issues back to Virgin's network. But as per my first post this is a new run of cable that was pro-actively put in about 4 weeks ago due to degraded cable (I was previously having no issues on the degraded line, or on the new line).

He fitted something in the cabinet on my line, that he said would monitor and correct the line from cabinet to house (despite me not having an issue). He said it may cause issues, but he would post me his phone number when done so I could ring him direct, and he didn't.

Within an hour it started having the issue. When it happens, I can still get on Wifi, but get 'Connected no Internet', for what can be hours at a time.

There are splitters (one in the box on the front of my house, and one in the house), but the first tech who came round (pro-actively, I didnt report it as a fault!), tested all the internal cabling/splitters. the most recent tech (who fitted the cabinet device) also put the external and internal cables on a tester, and said the issue is with the external cable.

Massive problem is that the usual fault reporting and customer service people on 150 (i.e the only ones customers can talk to), seem to have no knowledge of any of this being done, and no route to send the right type of engineer to remove it or even investigate. Both technical and customer service have said they can only send an in home service technician to check the cabling and devices (after going tech > customer service > tech for 2.5 hours).

From my customer perspective, I had a totally working connection, had the external cable replaced and was still working, then was told this cable was faulty (but was still working), had a device fitted which made it not work, and I can't get in touch with anyone who can sort.

It is a proper 'wits end' situation.

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 17.66K
  • 1.37K
  • 4.26K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
819 Views
Message 10 of 74
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help!...proactive degraded cable fix has made it worse..for over a month

the problem with the figures is that your downstream levels are too low -6 is the minimum - they need to be adjusted - splitters lower the levels so if they are not needed that would be the 1st thing to try - attenuators - usually on the back of the hub between the coax input and the hub also reduce the input leves so if one is fitted remove it

you say you have a spitter in the external box and one internally - so there are 2 inputs into the house if both outputs are used and the line split inside again - detail what is actually connected both from the external box and from the internal splitter - maybe one or both could be removed

you might need a connector if you could remove the external splitter

one of these would do

https://www.diy.com/departments/tristar-data-cable-coupler/571706_BQ.prd

so a few more details and maybe something can be sorted

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply