Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
203 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Getting router changed/engineer visit

Hi, our broadband has been fine for years, then in the last few weeks, we've started having big issues. The router suddenly loses its connection to the outside world - everything inside the network (wired/wireless) can communicate with each other fine, but there's no link to the outside world for anything. Rebooting the router fixes it all, but then it happens again, sometimes an hour later, sometimes a day later, but 5-6 times per week. A major problem when we're having to work from home & get cut off for 10 minutes while we reboot the router during an important meeting! The problem is pretty clearly with the router, or the cable from the street to the router. I called Virgin support, who ran some tests & said they couldn't detect any problems within their network that would cause this. However I couldn't get beyond that with the tech support person - they essentially said they couldn't work out what the problem was, so tough. Eventually they gave me another number to call (starting 02037.....), but when I call it I just get put on hold for an hour until it disconnects. How do I get through to someone that can sort this? The simplest explanation is that there's a hardware fault in the router, in which case all they have to do is replace it! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.97K
  • 933
  • 1.53K
Alessandro Volta
197 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.97K
  • 933
  • 1.53K
Alessandro Volta
195 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
188 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
184 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

Downstream channels:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1203000000-2.940256 qam9
2211000000-340256 qam10
3219000000-3.240256 qam11
4227000000-3.938256 qam12
5235000000-4.238256 qam13
6243000000-440256 qam14
7251000000-440256 qam15
8259000000-4.238256 qam16
9267000000-4.440256 qam17
10275000000-4.740256 qam18
11283000000-4.938256 qam19
12291000000-538256 qam20
13299000000-538256 qam21
14307000000-538256 qam22
15315000000-538256 qam23
16323000000-5.238256 qam24
17331000000-5.238256 qam25
18371000000-6.738256 qam26
19379000000-6.938256 qam27
20387000000-6.738256 qam28
21395000000-6.538256 qam29
22403000000-6.738256 qam30
23411000000-6.238256 qam31
24419000000-6.238256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.340
2Locked40.9160
3Locked40.3200
4Locked38.9160
5Locked38.9200
6Locked40.3120
7Locked40.9160
8Locked38.9120
9Locked40.3190
10Locked40.370
11Locked38.6140
12Locked38.9120
13Locked38.9160
14Locked38.990
15Locked38.9110
16Locked38.960
17Locked38.980
18Locked38.990
19Locked38.9210
20Locked38.6120
21Locked38.9110
22Locked38.6140
23Locked38.980
24Locked38.9110
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
183 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

Upstream channels:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000049.5512064 qam5
23940000050.3512064 qam4
35370000051512064 qam2
44620000050.5512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
179 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID273668
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID273667
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
178 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

14/11/2020 19:40:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 00:47:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 04:10:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 00:19:55ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/11/2020 20:51:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/11/2020 17:06:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 05:16:14ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:59:38noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:54:28Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:54:16noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:52:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:46:16noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 11:45:7noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/11/2020 02:12:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/11/2020 13:03:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 06:37:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 01:08:5noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 09:20:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2020 09:16:27criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 68
  • 11
  • 9
Forum Team
Forum Team
164 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

Looking at your levels that could be your issue

your upstream levels really have no movement of the network fluctuates upstream should run between 32 and 51 so as you can see your at the top end of that spectrum

downstream levels should run between +10 and -6 again this are at the low end

please check internal equipment to see if there is a wide and attenuators on the connections this in effect lowers your downstream levels and increases your upstream if you have one of these on then remove it from the line if you don’t you will defiantly need an engineer visit 


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
146 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Getting router changed/engineer visit

The cable coming into the router has a small square metal adapter that says 'Forward Path Attenuator 3dB' - I've removed that, and here are the up/downstream readings - they look slightly better to me? What do you think?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000001.740256 qam9
22110000001.540256 qam10
32190000001.540256 qam11
42270000000.740256 qam12
52350000000.440256 qam13
62430000000.740256 qam14
72510000000.740256 qam15
82590000000.540256 qam16
92670000000.540256 qam17
10275000000040256 qam18
11283000000040256 qam19
12291000000040256 qam20
13299000000040256 qam21
14307000000040256 qam22
15315000000-0.240256 qam23
16323000000-0.238256 qam24
17331000000-0.240256 qam25
18371000000-2.238256 qam26
19379000000-2.538256 qam27
20387000000-2.240256 qam28
21395000000-2.240256 qam29
22403000000-2.540256 qam30
23411000000-238256 qam31
24419000000-238256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.350
2Locked40.350
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.300
5Locked40.300
6Locked40.950
7Locked40.900
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.900
11Locked40.3130
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.300
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.350
16Locked38.950
17Locked40.300
18Locked38.960
19Locked38.900
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.300
23Locked38.940
24Locked38.980

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000047512064 qam5
23940000047.3512064 qam4
35370000048.3512064 qam2
44620000047.8512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply