Menu
Highlighted
Superfast
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Ethernet behing my VM blanking plate?

Hi all, 

I'm in an new build, but HFC area.

Behind my Virgin blanking plate I have green ethernet, rather than the expected coax... can anyone shed any light on why / what this is for? 

The other option is of course that Barratts have wired ethernet in there for no reason whatsoever, the VM point upstairs is coax.. 

Pictures! - https://imgur.com/a/uUTEUos

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ethernet behing my VM blanking plate?

Hi Synthetic,

From the pictures you've provided it does look like it is an ethernet cable. Now you just need to find the other end of the cable as you can use this cable to provide a wired connection to another part of your house. You will need a few tools to terminate the cables but theres many videos on youtube showing you how you can do this.

Best of Luck 😊

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Hero
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

I think (am probably wrong) that is an FTP cable end.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Superfast
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Nothing to do with FTP at all, it's a cable 🙂 

Decided to look in the box outside, it literally goes nowhere so i think i'll use it to PoE my security camera! 

Pic 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Hero
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

I was wrong them 😁

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson