Menu
Reply
rowlangs
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
574 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

Hello, 

Installed new router / account this month and have recently noticed that WiFi will drop and looks like just resets and comes back. Meanwhile the router stays active 'online'.

Looking at the network log I am seeing many errors. 

Time Priority Description
28/08/2020 15:21:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 14:17:10ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 12:16:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 10:15:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 00:39:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 15:12:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 02:17:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:41:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:41:11criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:38:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:36:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:36:9criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:36:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:36:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/08/2020 14:10:14Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 13:24:10ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/08/2020 17:08:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/08/2020 06:44:56ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/08/2020 16:00:21ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/08/2020 05:12:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

The signal quality is brilliant and I am in a small room next to my router. 

Can someone please advice if needs looking at by engineer? 

 

Thanks in advance

Tom 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
558 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

The errors that you can see are to do with the Hub talking to the street cabinet.

What is your connection like with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

It can be difficult diagnosing problems without some basic information.

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream and Upstream tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
rowlangs
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
551 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

 

Part 1/2

Hi there, 

Thanks for getting back to me. 

I haven't tried a wired connection through ethernet, as my computer doesn't have this would need to be through xbox. 

In general the WiFi is strong at 106mb 

Here's my npref - 

  • Screenshot_20200829-174253.jpg

Have set up a graph here:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b9299ac298721f29f451b4f81667512850551058

 Here is the downstream and upstream info:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1227000000336256 qam12
22190000002.937256 qam11
3235000000336256 qam13
42430000003.236256 qam14
52510000002.936256 qam15
62590000002.936256 qam16
7267000000336256 qam17
82750000003.536256 qam18
9283000000437256 qam19
102910000004.137256 qam20
112990000004.337256 qam21
123070000004.537256 qam22
133150000004.837256 qam23
143230000005.437256 qam24
153310000005.637256 qam25
163390000005.937256 qam26
173470000006.138256 qam27
183550000006.438256 qam28
193630000006.638256 qam29
20371000000738256 qam30
213790000007.138256 qam31
223870000007.438256 qam32
233950000007.838256 qam33
24403000000838256 qam34


0 Kudos
Reply
rowlangs
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
547 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

Part 2/2

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1603000005.1512064 qam1
2394000785.1512064 qam4
3461999615.1512064 qam3
4537000005.1512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
544 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

Upstream power levels are near the upper limits of in spec:

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000005.1512064 qam1
2394000785.1512064 qam4
3461999615.1512064 qam3
4537000005.1512064 qam2

 

The HUB reports a decimal out so the above values are actually 51.

Downstream power levels also appear to be inconsistent (2.9 - 8dBmV).

rowlangs
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
526 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

Thanks should I seek help from VM engineers?

Could it be an issue with cabling?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
523 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal


@rowlangs wrote:

Thanks should I seek help from VM engineers?

Could it be an issue with cabling?

 


Yes, you need to wait for a VM staff member to reply to this thread, or contact VM directly.

It could be a number of things.

rowlangs
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
521 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

OK thank you! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.46K
  • 187
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
438 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

Hi rowlangs,

 

Thanks for your post and for reaching out to the community forums. Sorry to hear that you have been having connection issues. I've been doing remote diagnostics and have not been able to pick up any errors with the network connection. I do see some potential WIFI connection issues. I'll send you a PM to get your account details.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.21K
  • 1.1K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
430 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Critical errors and T3 time out, signal is dropping frequently but WiFi is strong signal

@Corey_C  I've been doing remote diagnostics and have not been able to pick up any errors with the network connection.

What about the maxed out upstream power that @MikeRobbo has already picked out, and the hub's network log that shows frequent and serious errors in communication with the CMTS from 23/8 onwards?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply