Menu
TalkySky89
Joining in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Construction Costs Preventing Installation

A few months ago I decided to purchase the Voom Option 1 bundle from Virgin Media Business with an optional phone line.

However, when I was visited by Virgin’s engineers the day before installation to check the property, they made me aware that there was apparently some kind of issue regarding how they would connect our house to the cables underneath the pavement outside even though there is a CATV cover directly outside the front door. They said that extra work would be required and they would be unable to complete the installation as planned on that day.

I was offered no explanation as to why this work was required and from my point of view (albeit I am not an engineer) this work seemed completely unnecessary. What they were suggesting was that we needed to be connected to a cover far down the other end of the street.

The area where I live is located is in central Edinburgh and in my street Virgin claim to offer every speed from 50Mbps all the way up to the new Gig1 speeds. However, currently there is still no Openreach Fibre available which means that if you want fast speeds then there is no other option other than Virgin. Most of the buildings around ours have Virgin Broadband (both consumer and business) because of this and none of them have had any issues with getting it installed.

After nearly two months with no communication from Virgin Media, even when constantly asked for updates by myself, they finally got back to me and quoted just over £2000 for completing the installation.

After contacting Virgin Media Business many times, I have now had to sadly cancel my order because they insist that the fee must be paid, leaving me with no fibre option and stuck with 8mbps from my existing provider. Before leaving this I still have a few questions which they were unable to answer and was wondering if anyone here would be able to answer for me: