Menu
CarlForman
Tuning in
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Connect phone line to house alarm

I have a BT master socket and old Diamond cable socket in my living room downstairs. I need a socket however upstairs running to the alarm panel. Are my existing sockets connected where virgin media just take ownership of them or do I need Virgin to install a dedicated line of their own?

0 Kudos
Z92
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connect phone line to house alarm

New Virgin phoneline connections plug into the back of the router, they won't install additional phone sockets but you can easily do this yourself. 

Also, check out your alarm panel, mine supported both a phone line and ethernet, and the later is obviously easier to setup. 

0 Kudos
CarlForman
Tuning in
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Do I just need to run an extension kit off the diamond cable box then or the BT socket? My alarm system is old so definitely doesn’t have an Ethernet port.

0 Kudos
goslow
Knows their stuff
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

@CarlForman wrote:

Do I just need to run an extension kit off the diamond cable box then or the BT socket? My alarm system is old so definitely doesn’t have an Ethernet port.

Are you waiting for a VM installation to happen or just considering having one?

Is your alarm panel connected to an existing phone extension at the moment?

It seems to be a bit of a hit-and-miss process as to whether the VM technicians connect up existing extensions to the phone socket on the back of the hub or not.

Are you also aware of the limitation that, in the event of a power cut, a telephone connection via the VM hub will stop working so your alarm panel would not be able to dial out while the power is off.

0 Kudos
CarlForman
Tuning in
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator