Menu
Reply
htailor23
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
294 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Hi All,

We've had Virgin Media Engineer out 2 months ago, who looked at the issue, replaced a connector internally at the hub, but this didn't resolve the issue. Everyday we get the connection drops, as you can see on the BQM, to prove it's not anything internally, I temporally placed a 5G modem in replacement of the Virgin Media Broadband and we had no issues. My Hub 3.0 is in Modem Mode. The drop outs are for Wifi and Ethernet connected devices. The BQM is showing exactly the same times as the drop outs. How can I get an engineer to attend and Change the Tap point at the end of the road for my connection, as they just come look and go saying nothing wrong, but clearly some issue.

BQM :

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/87b5ddfe3ab7c2e2ce8dd34557505fafb307935c-16-06-2021

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1202750000-2.235256 qam9
2210750000-2.536256 qam10
3218750000-336256 qam11
4226750000-3.536256 qam12
5234750000-436256 qam13
6242750000-4.536256 qam14
7250750000-4.935256 qam15
8258750000-536256 qam16
9266750000-5.235256 qam17
10274750000-6.535256 qam18
11282750000-834256 qam19
12290750000-6.934256 qam20
13298750000-5.235256 qam21
14306750000-536256 qam22
15314750000-4.736256 qam23
16322750000-4.736256 qam24
17330750000-4.736256 qam25
18370750000-5.236256 qam26
19378750000-536256 qam27
20386750000-536256 qam28
21394750000-4.936256 qam29
22402750000-5.235256 qam30
23410750000-635256 qam31
24418750000-735256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked35693664561532213
2Locked36.380256061295964
3Locked36.373853891204837
4Locked36.678064821371280
5Locked36.378284601372041
6Locked36.371598791189786
7Locked35.767455981136183
8Locked36.367515801157310
9Locked35.777934691395714
10Locked35.581296551511095
11Locked34.781400031458109
12Locked34.963192371031587
13Locked35.55748547902223
14Locked36.65002205766686
15Locked36.34159501597489
16Locked36.34204142597901
17Locked36.33657156498653
18Locked36.62841105394997
19Locked36.32881976402276
20Locked36.62497187325078
21Locked36.62132060244241
22Locked35.72182519240913
23Locked35.72563622318775
24Locked35.72856987

39151

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030043444512064 qam1
23940022541.3512064 qam4
34620000042.3512064 qam3
45370007243.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA00270
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0090

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

15/06/2021 05:28:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 05:22:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2021 09:09:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2021 18:59:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2021 17:57:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
275 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Downstream power's too low on several channels, and there's some upstream issue judging by the high timeout count.  I've marked for the forum staff to advise, they'll probably need the hub in router mode to confirm the data, but because that re-boots the hub initially the connection may look quite good, when in fact the underlying problem is still there.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
269 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Thanks Andrew

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 2.05K
  • 121
  • 218
Forum Team
Forum Team
266 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Hi htailor23,

 

Thanks for posting our community forums. Really disappointed to hear that you're still experiencing drops out on both a wired and wireless connection even after a technicians visit.

 

I have located your account with the details provided from your community profile, and can see that indeed there are still downstream power level issues.

 

Due to this we would need to book another engineers appointment. I will pop you over a private message to take some details from you and get this booked in. Please click on the purple envelope to accept the chat.

 

Kind regards Jodi. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 2.05K
  • 121
  • 218
Forum Team
Forum Team
251 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Hi htailor23,

 

Just a quick not to say that an engineer has been booked for you now, I have sent you a private message with the date and time.

 

If you wish to reschedule you or cancel this appointment you can do so here.

 

Kind regards Jodi. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 2.05K
  • 121
  • 218
Forum Team
Forum Team
249 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

You're very welcome htailor23,

 

We will see you very shortly.

 

Kind regards Jodi. 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
190 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Hi Jodi,

Engineer came out, removed the Attenuator, seemed ok for a while, but since yesterday, my connection is dropping again, When he removed the Attenuator, the levels on Channel 1 was around 7.5, but now since it's dropped I'm getting drop outs. Any idea's?

BQM :

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/40a5b5a59dd458eb78c2b611b985d3a027...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500004.437256 qam9
22107500004.137256 qam10
3218750000437256 qam11
42267500003.537256 qam12
52347500003.437256 qam13
6242750000337256 qam14
72507500002.737256 qam15
82587500002.937256 qam16
92667500003.237256 qam17
102747500002.737256 qam18
112827500000.936256 qam19
122907500000.736256 qam20
132987500002.737256 qam21
143067500003.237256 qam22
15314750000337256 qam23
163227500002.737256 qam24
17330750000337256 qam25
18370750000337256 qam26
193787500002.737256 qam27
203867500002.437256 qam28
213947500002.537256 qam29
224027500002.737256 qam30
234107500002.537256 qam31
244187500001.236256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.63745512715131
2Locked37.33582888514147
3Locked37.63483215475702
4Locked37.33604981799866
5Locked37.33534393804159
6Locked37.33353413477157
7Locked37.33007651449511
8Locked37.63289240505966
9Locked37.63724280736376
10Locked37.33778994783830
11Locked36.63702528634331
12Locked36.63100051478234
13Locked37.32778052450743
14Locked37.62422626358981
15Locked37.62091323259808
16Locked37.32176452275814
17Locked37.31883616202217
18Locked37.61557885127902
19Locked37.61580654133172
20Locked37.31302105123655
21Locked37.3113857898068
22Locked37.6112951587093
23Locked37.31350666112244
24Locked36.61580430168792

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16029998342.8512064 qam1
23940011140.3512064 qam4
34619992741.3512064 qam3
45370029242.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0080
3ATDMA00210
4ATDMA0010

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

24/06/2021 00:12:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2021 00:09:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2021 22:03:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2021 21:58:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.45K
  • 202
  • 390
Problem sorter
172 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

You still have lots of noise on the line which would suggest lose connections or a faulty cable somewhere. I'd check the cables and connections inside and outside the house first, and if that doesn't fix it a fault will need to be raised for the outside line to be checked.

0 Kudos
Reply
htailor23
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
161 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Hi,

all the cables inside and just outside the house was checked by the engineer last week when he removed the antenuater. So cabling and connections are fine. Must be the cable from the house to the cabinet.

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.45K
  • 202
  • 390
Problem sorter
147 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Keeps dropping out several time a day

Or it could be a neighbor as your cable is effectively shared between multiple properties. Yes, you typically have your own cable to the cabinet, but the cabinet will typically just take one connection in and split it into multiple outputs, so if noise comes up one of the cables, it can then go down the others. Fixing this can be a nightmare for the engineers.

0 Kudos
Reply