Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
270 Views
Message 1 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

After goin thr all the site instructions, checking connections, rebooting router, factory reset router and even had a replacement sent out(via phone call involving tests run from ur end). the issue never went away, ur tests (web site and call center diagnostics) were still seeing a problem, an engineer was sent out.

He looked at the wires and from a cursory look (never touched them) said they were fine and ran a "test" on his phone (for all I know he was ordering a takeaway), he then proceeded to make a phone call to what i presume was a family member or friend as he spoke in a foreign language while he factory reset the router, something ur site all ready had me do, he told me if the issue continued to call back, quite frankly i don't want him anywhere near my property again the most unprofessional engineer i have met and i work in IT around servers so i can safely say his performance was abismal, he's not an engineer he's a glorified fitter.

i tried to call the call center as the ppl there seemed like they wanted to help, but for some reason due to corona virus call centers are closed (don't tell me call center staff can't work from home through a vpn, unless like me they are Virgin Media customers and due to your bad latency can not maintain a vpn connection), so i thought i'd try look for a customer support tag on Twitter but all you have is a basic Virgin Media account that takes days to reply and is 0% helpful and told me to come here to get the problem diagnosed even tho i went through that over the phone b4 your engineer came out and did nothing.

This issue has been going on for months, it is causing me issues when working from home causing my job to be at threat, i am now having to use my mobile internet data from your competitor BT as they can maintain a VPN connection perfect over 4G better than your hardline. i require a proper engineer sent out to check from the router to the outside, not the glorified fitter you sent out last time.

If you can not or will not fix the issue i will be reporting Virgin Media to the ombudsman, watchdog, all British news and tech media aswell as seek all legal remedies to recoup the money i have paid for a service i HAVE NOT RECEIVED. i should also point out as things stand that professionally i will never be suggesting/recommending Virgin Media for any server connection.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.3K
  • 1.82K
  • 3K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
256 Views
Message 2 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

As you are posting this on the "Quick Start Community Help" forum - does that mean you are a "new customer" having "Quick Start" issues and want help from this community?  Or are you just trying to contact VM to sort the issue?


If so, VM staff can take up to a week to respond to the threads on the fora and so it will be quicker to call in - the UK centers are still open and calling at 08.00h usually gets you straight through.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
253 Views
Message 3 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

not a new customer, i dont know if this in the right part was told to post to the forum
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.3K
  • 1.82K
  • 3K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
248 Views
Message 4 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

Were you told that on Twitter ? Was that from a VM employee or someone else? If it was a VM person, then it sounds as if they were a CS agent just trying to get you off their hands !

Its hard to tell from what you posted what the actual connection issues that you are having, are. What issues caused you to have the Tech visit - that obviously didn't solve them?

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
244 Views
Message 5 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

it was the Twitter @VirginMedia blue check mark account told me to come here, it's a on-going issue where the connection stutters or just drops, which is affecting my job as i am working from home via VPN. i've had tests run, rebooted and monitored, factory reset and monitored, replaced router and monitor, still not fixed. Engineer sent out, above explains what happened with the engineer. it wouldn't surprise me if he/she was just trying to get me of their hands, that is the feeling i've been getting since i started to get the issue.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.3K
  • 1.82K
  • 3K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
221 Views
Message 6 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

I am not a VPN expert but a lot of those are in the "networking and WiFi" forum. You might get a quicker and more sensible response in there.

Everyone will ask though, whether the issue is evident on an ethernet connected device or just on wifi connections? Are you using your own router or just the VM Hub? Which Hub is it? What VPN are you using?

Also probably ask you to post up the data from the Hub on your connection so that any obvious issues can be spotted as being at the root of the problem. If you dont know how to do it - this is the procedure.
____________________________________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon at top right (SH2’s) or icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up (Hub3) and then... copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you do copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again or maybe split the data into separate posts.

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
202 Views
Message 7 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

Network LogTime Priority Description
09/11/2020 19:44:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 19:44:21Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 18:27:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 16:26:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 16:04:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 16:04:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:58:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:49:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:49:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:15:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:02:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 15:02:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:56:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:56:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:55:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:55:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:55:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:55:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:54:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 12:54:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
201 Views
Message 8 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14619998645512064 qam1
22580001748.5512064 qam4
33259998645512064 qam3
43940002645512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1659000000-1.740256 qam32
2475000000140256 qam9
3483000000-1.737256 qam10
4491000000-1.737256 qam11
5499000000-0.938256 qam12
6507000000-1.938256 qam13
7515000000-3.437256 qam14
85230000001.540256 qam15
9531000000-0.538256 qam16
10539000000-2.737256 qam17
115470000001.740256 qam18
12555000000-0.438256 qam19
13563000000-237256 qam20
145710000000.738256 qam21
15579000000-1.438256 qam22
16587000000-3.438256 qam23
175950000001.538256 qam24
186030000000.538256 qam25
19611000000-2.238256 qam26
206190000001.540256 qam27
216270000000.538256 qam28
22635000000-1.538256 qam29
236430000001.740256 qam30
24651000000-0.240256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.370
2Locked40.380
3Locked37.6150
4Locked37.6160
5Locked38.9130
6Locked38.6230
7Locked37.6140
8Locked40.960
9Locked38.61512
10Locked37.640
11Locked40.930
12Locked38.690
13Locked37.6230
14Locked38.940
15Locked38.970
16Locked38.610
17Locked38.900
18Locked38.600
19Locked38.600
20Locked40.300
21Locked38.950
22Locked38.600
23Locked40.300
24Locked40.300
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.8K
  • 353
  • 602
Forum Team
Forum Team
199 Views
Message 9 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

Hi there,

 

Thanks for doing the reboot as advised via Twitter, the upstream channels are now complete (you now show four, rather than 1)

 

Do monitor the connection and keep me posted if you need further assistance

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
199 Views
Message 10 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Been told to get unresolved issue re identified here

so it's a Hub 3, i don't use any other hub/modem jus the Hub 3 supplied by Virgin. the issue is occurring for WIFI and Ethernet connected devices, VPN is FortiClient, no one else at my company is experiencing issues like me, our tech team have monitored and confirmed it's only me
0 Kudos
Reply