Menu
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
120 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse

I use MS Teams for work - I had good wifi connection even using a VPN when I was on Virgin 100m - I upgraded to 350m the other week and since then I have to come off vpn and get messages on poor network quality on teams - why when I've upgraded and changed nothing else has this degraded my laptop wifi experience? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.23K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
117 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse

How is the connection when cabled direct to the hub?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
95 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse

hi Gary

Yet to plug it directly While using teams - but not using teams seems fine - on wifi seems fine for basic stuff but obviously my real measure is teams as that's what I spent all my time on via wifi before the upgrade with no issues - since upgrade (meant to be be better = connection performance issues) - doe snot make sense when nothing else had changed

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
92 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse


@eilmdar wrote:

hi Gary

Yet to plug it directly While using teams - but not using teams seems fine - on wifi seems fine for basic stuff but obviously my real measure is teams as that's what I spent all my time on via wifi before the upgrade with no issues - since upgrade (meant to be be better = connection performance issues) - doe snot make sense when nothing else had changed.


Best typo ever ?

You really do need to check how Teams performs with an ethernet cable connection. There are far too many hidden things that can affect your Wi-Fi.

 

 

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.23K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
91 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse

The upgrade will increase your speed/bandwidth - that doesn't mean it improves your wifi connectivity and quality.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
79 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m broadband my Teams connections on my laptop (wifi) has gotten worse

thanks folks - i run an ethernet for next week - just weird that nothing has changed other than broadband upgrade and now pants 🙂

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
37 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m from 100m my broadband connection has gotten worse

update:

I've run a cat 8 Ethernet cable and started running some tests by and approved speed test provider and turned wifi off on laptop - running test while home alone and applications closed.

My laptop is windows 10 fully patched / up to date - capable of dual 2.5 and 5ghz with a 1G network card

Since Upgrading to M350 I am still having "bad internet quality" during teams meetings (I never got this before on M100 even using Wifi)

Using the approved speed test provider and following a reboot of the HUB4 router - and with no one else in the house and no other applications running - I am getting these readings:

Just now - 148 mbps d/load - 36 u/load - it's ranged between 92 /36 and the latest reading which was the highest

Any other ideas? - Virgin broadband support staff are nowhere to be found - even on chat waiting for over and hour and given up - beginning to wish I hadn't upgraded as cost more money and more grief! 

 

  • 25.23K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
28 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m from 100m my broadband connection has gotten worse

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin pages

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
23 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m from 100m my broadband connection has gotten worse

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

253310000004.40000240.366287QAM25625
11390000006.30000340.366287QAM2561
21470000006.40000240.366287QAM2562
31550000006.50000040.366287QAM2563
41630000005.59999840.366287QAM2564
51710000005.30000340.946209QAM2565
61790000004.90000240.366287QAM2566
71870000005.00000040.366287QAM2567
81950000004.59999840.946209QAM2568
92030000004.40000240.366287QAM2569
102110000004.40000240.366287QAM25610
112190000004.50000040.366287QAM25611
122270000004.59999840.366287QAM25612
132350000004.59999840.946209QAM25613
142430000004.90000240.946209QAM25614
152510000004.80000340.366287QAM25615
162590000005.30000340.366287QAM25616
172670000005.59999840.366287QAM25617
182750000005.69999740.946209QAM25618
192830000005.30000340.366287QAM25619
202910000004.90000240.366287QAM25620
212990000004.90000240.946209QAM25621
223070000005.19999740.366287QAM25622
233150000005.09999840.946209QAM25623
243230000004.69999740.366287QAM25624
263710000002.79999940.366287QAM25626
273790000002.40000240.366287QAM25627
283870000002.29999940.366287QAM25628
293950000002.50000038.983261QAM25629
304030000002.59999840.946209QAM25630
314110000002.59999840.366287QAM25631

 

 

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000044.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM2
23940000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
43260000044.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM10

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.23K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
20 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: since upgrading to 350m from 100m my broadband connection has gotten worse

And the rest of the downstream logs please

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply