Menu
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
142 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

router stats check please...

So, I think i kinda know what the outcome is going to be, but I wanna post this up anyways to get some feedback on my connection as you lot know a lot more than i do about this stuff 🙂

My VM connection is broadly stable - don't have many noticeable issues with either speed or latency. I am on the 200mb service with a hub2ac, running in modem mode, terminating the coax connection.

From the reading i've done, particularly from a recent post by @andruser (very informative) as far as i can tell, all of my power levels and general stats are within spec and nothing to complain about, but one of my four upstream channels struggles to negotiate/maintain a QAM of 64 and I do get issues from time to time..

I've had a BQM up and running for several weeks and it doesn't look terrible, but i do get some packet loss from time to time and i'd (obviously) like to eliminate it if possible..

This is an example of a typical day.. (workday whilst WFH + three kids in various school-related google classroom/zoom sessions + me in teams calls etc..)

f9380025e5d306ca30a7de71fdfc4b21832904d0-05-01-2021

This is an example of a bad day. (workday)

bd3f472a20ea1d65aea2c77ba508e16a257c03bb-06-01-2021

This is an example of the intermittent packet loss that i see on my connection from time to time (i'd say one day in three - this particular graph was a Sunday, so no obvious workday traffic between 9 and 6)

8f9bdb2ca3603a99cae68f4f82d5140e2f40024a-10-01-2021

Now, as i said at the top of my post - as far as i can see, everything is within spec from a power perspective, so I'm guessing VM would take one look at this and say that everything is ok from their end.. but presumably there's *something* that's not quite right, given the 32QAM and the post-RS errors?

Speaking of post-RS errors, I don't have huge numbers, but there's enough - the stats i'll post from the hub in the next post are after I did a reboot at about 7pm last night..

0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
139 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)139000000Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)32600000Success
Provisioning StateOKOperational

 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)5.185.235.214.964.744.324.094.16
RxMER (dB)37.3637.9437.9437.9438.2637.9437.9437.94
Pre RS Errors63795026623344298297932316
Post RS Errors299271317278297294931316
0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
138 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID5436
Frequency (Hz)32600000394000004620000025800000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM32QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)46.2547.0047.7545.75
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts2000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
137 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
18/01/2021 19:54:08 GMT18/01/2021 19:54:08 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
18/01/2021 16:27:29 GMT18/01/2021 16:27:29 GMTError (4)68010300DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option
15/01/2021 06:52:47 GMT15/01/2021 06:52:47 GMTError (4)68010300DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option
12/01/2021 00:44:33 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:33 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:32 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:32 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:31 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:31 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:30 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:30 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:28 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:28 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:27 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:27 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:26 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:26 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:25 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:25 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:23 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:23 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:22 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:22 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:21 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:21 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:20 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:20 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
12/01/2021 00:44:19 GMT12/01/2021 00:44:19 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
67 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

So, upstream speeds cut in half this evening, 

Live BQM here:

b1bbb7540fdcf2f712f278e547893782a2d7bd21

QAM on one of my upstream channels dropped to 16, too. 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID5436
Frequency (Hz)32600000394000004620000025800000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)46.2547.0047.7545.71
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts2000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Downstream table below - 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)4.874.954.954.684.364.053.783.86
RxMER (dB)37.3637.6437.9437.6437.9437.9437.9437.94
Pre RS Errors17253140061134542298297933316
Post RS Errors299271317278297294931316
0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
61 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Interestingly, no further increase in post-RS errors since my previous post (counters haven't been reset and the hub hasn't been rebooted).

Network log also remains unchanged from my previous post, so won't post that again.. 

No area issues reported + connections checked and confirmed "finger tight" 

;/

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 5.28K
  • 310
  • 554
Forum Team
Forum Team
47 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Hi tehwolf,

 

Thank you for reaching back out to us with your update, how have things been since your last post on Wednesday?

 

I have had a look our end and cannot see any issues at all, your levels are all where expected.

 

 

Regards

 

Paul.

 

 

tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
40 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Thanks for the reply.

no change, still one channel that is unable to negotiate a QAM of 64 and flips between 16 and 32, when at 16 upload speed halves and latency increases - most noticeable when I join a teams meeting, I can tell the QAM has dropped when it takes several seconds to join a meeting...

it’s otherwise stable though. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 5.28K
  • 310
  • 554
Forum Team
Forum Team
33 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Hi tehwolf, 

 

Thanks for coming back to me I can see you do have one of our older routers the 2ac and it looks like you have a 3rd party router, I have looked and I can see one of your Quan is incorrect, I advise putting our router back into router mode and perform a pin reset, also check all youe external and internal cables are hand tight.

 

Regards

 

Paul.

tehwolf
  • 1.61K
  • 261
  • 391
Superfast
24 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: router stats check please...

Thanks Paul,

I am indeed using an older router with a 3rd party device behind it. 

accept that you guys only support router mode etc, though I don’t see how connection negotiation on the WAN  side could be affected by being in one or other mode.. the modem is the modem and the cables are the cables, makes no difference (in my head at least - though happy to be schooled) whether the hub operates as a modem or a modem+router.

Ill pass on this for now - I don’t see how a reset / check in router mode does anything for me - unless it’s a mandatory step of the troubleshooting process before any other steps can be taken... 

0 Kudos
Reply