Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
223 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

I have had nothing but bother from Virgin media for over 2 weeks now.

my internet keeps dropping out across all my devices and have terrible speeds. 

The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
8The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
9The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
10The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
11The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
12The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
13The device **:**:**:**:**:** has low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0.
14Please place your WiFi device near the Hub 3.0.

 

i phoned virgin up yesterday and the guy who answered was very rude, unhelpful and unwilling to listen to what i had to say.

i told him my problems and he told me to restart my router and check all the cables, which i have done and he basically called me a liar saying the router hadn't been restarted in over 2 weeks despite the fact i have restarted it about 20 times in the last week alone and leaving it off through the night over the weekend. 

getting really fed up now, looking at this problem from previous people's threads it looks like a router problem that requires a replacement, i really dont want to have to sit on hold for another hour to be told "turn your router off at the wall, factory reset it" over and over.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.83K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
214 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

The error messages are self explanatory but the physical position of the devices won't allow them to get closer.

Probably 50% of the problems on this board are Wi-Fi related and probably 75% of those problems are signal strength problems.

If you remove all the internal walls, electronic and electrical devices, metallic pipes and conduits and wrap the whole building in a thick lead shield you will have a good chance of getting decent Wi-Fi from a VM Hub.

Many people have accepted that the VM Wi-Fi is poor and have purchased third party equipment that is much, much more powerful than the VM supplied kit and once set up have wondered why they waited for so long.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
206 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

Do wired connections drop?

If not, then get a mesh system or your own router 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
205 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

Firstly, thank you for the reply

secondly, what router would you recommend buying?, not that I want to have to buy a router..

thirdly, wifi has been fine for last 3 or 4 years with this router, computer is about 5 meters away from hub in same room.

the router has rarely been turned off and obviously got worse over the years. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
204 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

Only thing I have Ethernet connected is the skybox and never appeared to have problems with that.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.72K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
193 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

It can take anything and nothing to affect WiFi connectivity.

A decent mid-range ASUS or TP-Link router will do you fine. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.83K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
192 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0


@Philz0r wrote:

Firstly, thank you for the reply

secondly, what router would you recommend buying?, not that I want to have to buy a router..

thirdly, wifi has been fine for last 3 or 4 years with this router, computer is about 5 meters away from hub in same room.

the router has rarely been turned off and obviously got worse over the years. 


For the PC you would be far better off connecting using a Cat 6 ethernet cable.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.41K
  • 1.83K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
191 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

Lets see the Hub details. Follow this procedure
--------------
. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
178 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 347000000 6.1 38 256 qam 25
2 251000000 4.6 38 256 qam 15
3 259000000 4.5 38 256 qam 16
4 267000000 4.9 38 256 qam 17
5 275000000 5.1 38 256 qam 18
6 283000000 5.5 38 256 qam 19
7 291000000 5.6 38 256 qam 20
8 299000000 6.1 38 256 qam 21
9 307000000 6 38 256 qam 22
10 315000000 6.4 38 256 qam 23
11 323000000 6.4 38 256 qam 24
12 355000000 6.1 38 256 qam 26
13 363000000 6 38 256 qam 27
14 371000000 5.6 38 256 qam 28
15 379000000 5.5 38 256 qam 29
16 387000000 5.3 38 256 qam 30
17 395000000 5.4 38 256 qam 31
18 403000000 5.5 38 256 qam 32
19 411000000 5.5 38 256 qam 33
20 419000000 5.5 38 256 qam 34
21 427000000 5.5 40 256 qam 35
22 435000000 5.5 40 256 qam 36
23 443000000 5.1 40 256 qam 37
24 451000000 5.1 38 256 qam 38


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 0 0
2 Locked 38.6 6 0
3 Locked 38.9 0 0
4 Locked 38.6 5 0
5 Locked 38.6 6 0
6 Locked 38.6 4 0
7 Locked 38.6 6 0
8 Locked 38.6 6 0
9 Locked 38.6 5 0
10 Locked 38.6 4 0
11 Locked 38.6 0 0
12 Locked 38.9 5 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 38.9 4 0
15 Locked 38.6 5 0
16 Locked 38.9 5 0
17 Locked 38.9 4 0
18 Locked 38.9 5 0
19 Locked 38.9 6 0
20 Locked 38.6 5 0
21 Locked 40.3 6 0
22 Locked 40.3 4 0
23 Locked 40.3 5 0
24 Locked 38.9 0 0

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39399986 38 5120 64 qam 4
2 46200034 38 5120 64 qam 3
3 53700000 38 5120 64 qam 2
4 60300014 39.5 5120 64 qam 1


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Time Priority Description
20/10/2020 19:27:47 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 05:51:8 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 17:39:38 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 17:25:52 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 12:46:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 04:58:15 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 04:58:15 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 09:36:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 23:15:15 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 23:15:15 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/10/2020 00:49:36 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/10/2020 00:46:54 notice SW download Successful - Via NMS
09/10/2020 00:44:12 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS
07/10/2020 22:31:23 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 21:41:14 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 21:41:14 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 18:36:8 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 10:51:1 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 10:51:1 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 14:38:46 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.41K
  • 1.83K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
174 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: low signal strength, please move it closer to Hub 3.0

All those look spot on to me. Post up a link to the "live" BQM when you have it that should show if there actually are any networks issues (doesn't look like it) or whether your issues are simply wifi ones (likely).

In that case... you are better advised to sort out yourself either by.....

1) A Mesh System
2) A Wireless router
3) A Wireless access points
OR
4) A combination of the above

Each option has its pro's and con's


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply