Menu
Reply
scottmaguire
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
304 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

internet cutting out

my internet keeps  cutting out it has disconnected multiple times a day, i have rebooted and factory reset the router but it still keeps disconnecting randomly any ideas would be helpfull.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.49K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
297 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Firstly... Are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What Hub model is it and what are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
scottmaguire
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
293 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

hi its both wired and wireless devices and it is a super hub 3 and it only shows a green light on the router sometimes when the internet cuts out 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
290 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)
Give it a while to gather data and then click 'Share Live graph' and paste the 'Direct Link' into the forum!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.49K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
289 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Ok as wired connections are dropping - can you do this...
____________________________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up - do not log/sign in - just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of the first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
scottmaguire
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
282 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
203000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1203000000-1.240256 qam9
2139000000-0.238256 qam1
3147000000-0.540256 qam2
4155000000-0.540256 qam3
5163000000-0.540256 qam4
6171000000-0.540256 qam5
7179000000-0.740256 qam6
8187000000-0.740256 qam7
9195000000-0.940256 qam8
10211000000-1.440256 qam10
11219000000-1.540256 qam11
12227000000-1.940256 qam12
13235000000-240256 qam13
14243000000-240256 qam14
15251000000-1.940256 qam15
16259000000-1.740256 qam16
17267000000-1.540256 qam17
18275000000-1.740256 qam18
19283000000-1.740256 qam19
20291000000-1.540256 qam20
21299000000-1.440256 qam21
22307000000-1.540256 qam22
23315000000-1.440256 qam23
24323000000-1.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.960
2Locked38.960
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.9180
5Locked40.3170
6Locked40.950
7Locked40.960
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.3160
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.960
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.950
14Locked40.340
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.960
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.970
22Locked40.360
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.360
0 Kudos
Reply
scottmaguire
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
280 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000050.3512064 qam7
24620000049.8512064 qam8
33940000049.5512064 qam9
46030000050.5512064 qam6



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
scottmaguire
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
274 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID435150
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID435149
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
Network LogTime Priority Description
03/09/2021 13:48:36criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 13:48:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 13:40:14criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 12:58:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 12:48:49noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 12:44:41Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 12:28:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:55:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:55:34criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:55:34criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:37:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:37:11criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:37:11ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:37:11criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:37:11criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:35:47criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 11:31:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2021 22:40:43criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2021 20:37:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2021 19:51:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f1c72769278b4fde88c566338905159a796ae973
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
272 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

I would say that your upstream power is too high and would need a VM Tech to rectify! 51 is the Max but if the modem is struggling and you're getting drops - You're only 0.5 dBmV away from max!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.7K
  • 249
  • 692
Community elder
268 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: internet cutting out

Yup - the drops are really visible on the BQM!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply