Menu
AndyKwok620
Joining in
Message 1 of 2
Flag for a moderator

contract ends, fails to close account, the poorest customer service!

I am a foreign student leaving UK and going back to home country. I signed a 9-month student broadband contract on 16 September 2017. According to my basic math ability, this contract shall end on 16th June 2018, but I still receive a bill recently that is covering the period between June to July 2018. 

On the day of moving out, June 26th, I got up early and intended to return the broadband equipment to one of the store and close my account. It is ridiculous that I cannot close my account at the store where I opened it last year. Instead, I was suggested to call the number to close the account. 

It took me almost over 2 hours, with 6 attempts in total, but still ended up failing to close the account. 

I suppose it was the most ridiculous moment ever in my life. Every time the guy on the line would not respond me with a prompt manner but was requiring me to provide with my account number, area reference, payment reference, and account password within even 5 seconds.

In the first call, I said, how could I replied you with such quickly given that I need time to check my past bills, and the guy just cut me off. 

In the second call, I asked why I was still billed given that my contract has ended. The guy on the line said sorry and he also had no idea. Seriously? Virgin Media, you gave us no alternative but to call you to solve my problem but your stuff was saying that he did not know? 

In the third call, I suspected the guy is speaking English or not, seriously. According to my listening skills, I was asked to provide the 4th digit of my account password for verification purpose. When I did so, he said he was asking the 2nd digit. This call ended up being told that he could not help me, and it was cut off again. 

In the later calls, the same situations continued, and I have to leave the equipment to one of my friend.