Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
156 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Yet another Hub4 post

So I got a Hub4 to replace my Hub3 and have experienced strange issues. It's not quite a full disconnect just time outs and packet loss. I can ping 8.8.8.8 but the hub's management IP 192.168.0.1 stops responding and I have to reboot it, this happens every day. I also get weird DNS issues where I can't resolve simple stuff, DNS is using VM's own dns servers 194.168.4.100 and 194.168.8.100 and falls back to 8.8.8.8.

 

The Hub3 still works fine, I'm not returning that until the Hub4 is stable. I had issues with the Hub3 as well going from Hub2 so I know that given enough time "they" will eventually iron out (some of) the biggest issues however I haven't got time to wait for that since now I'm locked down and working from home......

My setup:

Hub4 (modem mode) > Unifi USG Router WAN port> Unifi Switch >AP's and wired clients

My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
155 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

304027500003.70000140.366287QAM25630
11387500002.90000240.946209QAM2561
21467500002.40000240.946209QAM2562
31547500002.20000140.366287QAM2563
41627500002.59999840.366287QAM2564
51707500002.70000140.366287QAM2565
61787500002.50000040.946209QAM2566
71867500002.50000040.946209QAM2567
81947500003.20000140.366287QAM2568
92027500003.50000040.366287QAM2569
102107500003.50000040.946209QAM25610
112187500003.50000040.946209QAM25611
122267500003.09999840.946209QAM25612
132347500003.09999840.366287QAM25613
142427500003.40000240.946209QAM25614
152507500003.50000040.366287QAM25615
162587500003.20000140.946209QAM25616
172667500003.00000040.946209QAM25617
182747500003.00000040.946209QAM25618
192827500002.40000240.366287QAM25619
202907500002.50000040.366287QAM25620
212987500003.09999840.946209QAM25621
223067500003.40000240.366287QAM25622
233147500003.29999940.946209QAM25623
243227500003.09999840.946209QAM25624
253307500002.59999840.366287QAM25625
263707500003.00000040.366287QAM25626
273787500002.79999940.946209QAM25627
283867500002.79999940.366287QAM25628
293947500003.09999840.366287QAM25629
314107500004.19999740.366287QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

30Locked000
1Locked591675104
2Locked56042900
3Locked64084000
4Locked90203600
5Locked82956100
6Locked93156900
7Locked51457000
8Locked34842900
9Locked35594800
10Locked24099270
11Locked29982300
12Locked18174300
13Locked31253500
14Locked35947100
15Locked40957900
16Locked26992600
17Locked40602500
18Locked23812500
19Locked23421800
20Locked48898600
21Locked27841800
22Locked30147000
23Locked36511200
24Locked3657385800
25Locked112842900
26Locked3671239000
27Locked98040500
28Locked93145200
29Locked3661825400
31Locked4195817800



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33864K1680QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked 3.633369100
My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
153 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post

 
3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000041.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
22580000039.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM8
33940000041.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6
43260000041.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM7


3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0010
3US_TYPE_STDMA0010
4US_TYPE_STDMA0010
My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.62K
  • 280
  • 500
Superfast
140 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post


@harpss1ngh wrote:
 
3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000041.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
22580000039.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM8
33940000041.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6
43260000041.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM7


3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0010
3US_TYPE_STDMA0010
4US_TYPE_STDMA0010

One of your upstream channels is out of spec. Whether this is related to the HUB 4 or an ongoing issue on your line is another matter!

Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
127 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post

Thanks, presumably if I plug in the hub3 and check I can eliminate the hub4 as the cause

My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.35K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
120 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post

Nope -  once the Hub4 has been activated the Hub3 is simultaneously deactivated. If you want the Hub3 back on - you will have to call in and tell them that the Hub4 is not fit for your purpose.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.62K
  • 280
  • 500
Superfast
117 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post


@harpss1ngh wrote:

Thanks, presumably if I plug in the hub3 and check I can eliminate the hub4 as the cause


Yes, however as these issues can be intermittent it may not show up straight away.

Worth a go though (I'm surprised you have two HUBs working on the same account! As per @jbrennand).

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
98 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post


@carl_pearce wrote:

@harpss1ngh wrote:

Thanks, presumably if I plug in the hub3 and check I can eliminate the hub4 as the cause


Yes, however as these issues can be intermittent it may not show up straight away.

Worth a go though (I'm surprised you have two HUBs working on the same account! As per @jbrennand).


I haven't plugged in the hub3 since I got the hub4. Would it be best to wait for someone from VM to take a look. Getting them on the phone seems impossible these days unless they call you first!

My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.62K
  • 280
  • 500
Superfast
95 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post


@harpss1ngh wrote:

@carl_pearce wrote:

@harpss1ngh wrote:

Thanks, presumably if I plug in the hub3 and check I can eliminate the hub4 as the cause


Yes, however as these issues can be intermittent it may not show up straight away.

Worth a go though (I'm surprised you have two HUBs working on the same account! As per @jbrennand).


I haven't plugged in the hub3 since I got the hub4. Would it be best to wait for someone from VM to take a look. Getting them on the phone seems impossible these days unless they call you first!


You can do, however it's not an instant response on here (Currently 5 - 7 days).

Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
57 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yet another Hub4 post

Just happened again, getting No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

My Broadband Ping - My home
0 Kudos
Reply