Menu
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
356 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Yellow light on virgin box

Hi there,

 

I seem to have, what I've now discovered is called, the yellow light of doom on my Hub 3 box. Are there any fixes for this or do I need to get a new box from Virgin? 

I moved house and had it installed last week, have had an issue almost ever since.

I have very poor signal and very intermittent wifi (it cuts out so much since it's severely affecting my work). My download and upload speeds really should be better than they are! 

Any advice on here would be greatly appreciated before I spend hours and hours on the phone to Virgin.

 

What I've done;

Turned Hub on and off.

Unplugged for considerable amount of time and plugged it back in.

Check inside wires are all plugged in correctly.

Logged into hub and reset it.

 

Thanks again!

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 6.46K
  • 1.01K
  • 1.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
345 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Hi Elix2

At the bottom of the page what-do-the-lights-on-your-hub-mean  is a picture of a hub3 with a yellow power light

This links to the help pages  diagnostics/i-cant-connect/hub-online 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks


0 Kudos
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
340 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Hello,

 

Yes, I've already been to those pages to seek advise. I've done the trouble shooting they state, it has not helped. 

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
SonarUK
  • 529
  • 25
  • 63
Rising star
304 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

https://twitter.com/SeriousFamily

Vivid 350 | Hub 3 modem mode | Asus RT-AC86U (Stock-Firmware)
0 Kudos
Reply
MattjVideos
  • 75
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
296 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

try turning your hub of for 2 minutes then turn it back on again
0 Kudos
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
243 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Hi there,

 

Info requested below;

DOWNSTREAM

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 282750000 -5 36 256 qam 19
2 138750000 -2.5 34 256 qam 1
3 146750000 -2 35 256 qam 2
4 154750000 -2.4 35 256 qam 3
5 162750000 -2.7 35 256 qam 4
6 170750000 -2.9 34 256 qam 5
7 178750000 -3.2 34 256 qam 6
8 186750000 -3.4 35 256 qam 7
9 194750000 -3.7 35 256 qam 8
10 202750000 -4.2 35 256 qam 9
11 210750000 -4.9 35 256 qam 10
12 218750000 -5.2 35 256 qam 11
13 226750000 -5.7 34 256 qam 12
14 234750000 -6 35 256 qam 13
15 242750000 -6.2 35 256 qam 14
16 250750000 -6.5 35 256 qam 15
17 258750000 -6 35 256 qam 16
18 266750000 -5.2 35 256 qam 17
19 274750000 -5.4 36 256 qam 18
20 290750000 -5.2 36 256 qam 20
21 298750000 -4.7 36 256 qam 21
22 306750000 -4.7 36 256 qam 22
23 314750000 -4.7 36 256 qam 23
24 322750000 -4.7 36 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 36.3 81 0
2 Locked 34.9 10870 0
3 Locked 35 6174 0
4 Locked 35 4308 0
5 Locked 35 2386 0
6 Locked 34.9 2741 0
7 Locked 34.9 2668 0
8 Locked 35 1624 0
9 Locked 35.5 626 0
10 Locked 35.5 936 0
11 Locked 35 1641 0
12 Locked 35.5 873 0
13 Locked 34.9 2002 0
14 Locked 35 1410 0
15 Locked 35 1335 0
16 Locked 35.5 917 0
17 Locked 35.5 906 0
18 Locked 35.7 320 0
19 Locked 36.3 177 0
20 Locked 36.3 72 0
21 Locked 36.3 79 0
22 Locked 36.3 26 0
23 Locked 36.3 28 0
24 Locked 36.6 26 0

UPSTREAM

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 48.3 5120 64 qam 3
2 25800000 45.8 5120 64 qam 5
3 32600000 46.8 5120 64 qam 4
4 46200034 49.8 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

NETWORK LOG

Time Priority Description
24/03/2021 14:30:22 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2021 16:38:4 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2021 16:37:31 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2021 09:45:44 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/03/2021 09:45:33 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2021 20:59:22 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:56 Warning! ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2021 10:44:54 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/03/2021 10:44:30 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/03/2021 19:22:33 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/03/2021 17:47:52 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/03/2021 17:47:52 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/03/2021 03:10:3 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/03/2021 11:12:43 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/03/2021 11:12:35 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/03/2021 11:10:56 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/03/2021 22:01:10 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/03/2021 14:01:29 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/03/2021 14:01:29 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
241 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

This has already been done multiple times as I mentioned in my initial query.

0 Kudos
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
207 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Is there a way to get a quicker response from someone on here at all? I keep losing my work as it's remote and as the wifi goes so does my connection with online documents etc. It's starting to become a massive problem!

 

Thanks so much

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 4.36K
  • 257
  • 414
Forum Team
Forum Team
176 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Good afternoon @Ellix2 

 

Welcome back to the forums and thank you so much for taking the time to post. 

 

I am really sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your broadband services. 

 

I have managed to locate your account and have found that there is some down stream power levels issue, we are going to need to get an engineer to come and get this looked into further. 

 

I have taken the opportunity to book this for you, you are able to check the time and date of the appointment via online account. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ellix2
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
170 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Yellow light on virgin box

Thank you! Thank you so much. I hope they can fix it.

0 Kudos
Reply