Menu
Reply
Jack_C
  • 61
  • 0
  • 7
Dialled in
197 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

In the past few weeks I have exhausted my mobile data from switching when wireless drops or when I can no longer get internet from my back door. My upstairs TV wireless signal drops daily anywhere from 5-20 minutes. Is there some kind of test that can be run to determine if there is something at fault? Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Jack_C
  • 61
  • 0
  • 7
Dialled in
189 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12590000006.940256 qam16
22510000006.840256 qam15
3267000000740256 qam17
4275000000740256 qam18
52830000007.140256 qam19
6291000000738256 qam20
7299000000738256 qam21
83070000007.440256 qam22
9315000000738256 qam23
103230000006.940256 qam24
113310000007.140256 qam25
123390000007.138256 qam26
13347000000740256 qam27
143550000007.140256 qam28
153630000007.140256 qam29
16371000000740256 qam30
173790000007.138256 qam31
18387000000740256 qam32
19395000000740256 qam33
20403000000740256 qam34
21411000000738256 qam35
224190000007.140256 qam36
23427000000740256 qam37
244350000006.640256 qam38


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3330
2Locked40.3340
3Locked40.3230
4Locked40.3190
5Locked40.3130
6Locked38.9270
7Locked38.9170
8Locked40.3170
9Locked38.9360
10Locked40.3260
11Locked40.3170
12Locked38.9140
13Locked40.3190
14Locked40.3330
15Locked40.9170
16Locked40.9210
17Locked38.9170
18Locked40.3190
19Locked40.3140
20Locked40.3310
21Locked38.9220
22Locked40.3300
23Locked40.3170
24Locked40.3300
 
 
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
12580000041.5512064 qam4
23940000041.8512064 qam2
34620000042.5512064 qam1
43260000041.5512064 qam3


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010
 
 
 
0 Kudos
Reply
EmilyHannah
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
187 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

Get a wifi extender that solved the signal strength for me because the router signal is only good in the room that it's in, if you want a stable connection for gaming you want to connect with an ethernet cable instead and can use a powerline adapter if it's far away from the router.
Jack_C
  • 61
  • 0
  • 7
Dialled in
183 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

VM's?

 

I should also mention for others I am getting 212.59Mbps upstairs wirelessly despite the connection dropping.

0 Kudos
Reply
EmilyHannah
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
177 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

What do you mean VM? That's just the name of your out of the box router wifi network along with a randomly assigned number, you can change the name in the router settings, but a wifi extender would amplify the strength of this network and make it reach further and stronger.

You might get good speeds doing a speedtest but what it doesn't account for is SPIKES which is very noticeable when gaming, wifi is unstable and will randomly jump for a few seconds, not noticeable for everyday browser use, that's why I got a powerline adapter for my upstairs gaming computer to get rid of the spikes.

0 Kudos
Reply
Jack_C
  • 61
  • 0
  • 7
Dialled in
172 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

I meant was it a Virgin extender or not

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.54K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
170 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

Your stats look ok. You could try a wifi extender - but I would source a better solution....

Get either a…

(1) Mesh System, (2) Wireless router, (3) Wireless access point (4) A combination of (2) & (3).

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 514
  • 16
  • 33
Forum Team
Forum Team
58 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wireless keeps dropping and range isn't as good as it used to be

Hi @Jack_C,

 

Welcome back to the Community! Thank you for your post.

 

We're sorry to hear that you've been experiencing some drop outs with your connection recently!

 

I would advise downloading the Connect App - this allows you to scan your home room-to-room to measure your signal strength. 

 

You can also take a look at our Virgin Media WiFi Pods which act as boosters for your home. We have recently upgraded them to provide the best connection possible throughout your home.

 

I have managed to locate your account and I can see that your power levels look normal as far as I can see. I would advise a reboot of your Hub and run the Connect App tests.

 

You can also run some tests on our Service Status page of on our WiFi Diagnostics page to see if there's an issue with your equipment. 

 

Please try these different options out and keep us updated.

 

Thanks,

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply