Menu
Reply
TomRaver
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
305 Views
Message 1 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Wifi problems

This has probably been posted before but I'm getting no help when I call up... my WiFi keeps going off. This has been going on for well over a year. Can anyone tell me what these mean and do I need further help.

RCS Partial Service

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;

B-INIT-RNG Failure

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

Lost MDD Timeout

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync

 

Hope you guys can help

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.2K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
285 Views
Message 2 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

Firstly, can we check… are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection/Hub related?

What Hub model is it? What are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

------ Then do this -------

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) (DONT click these links) - and hit return. On the first page up dont login (unless you have the Hub4/5 - when you do login) just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle (Hub3/4) or top/right (SH’s) of the Login page and then Navigate to these “pages” and just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 tables from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again. If character limits are “exceeded” - just do two posts

If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph”. Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate. Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see. On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon) In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
TomRaver
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
270 Views
Message 3 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

 

 

Downstream
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID1227000000338256 qam762139000000338256 qam6531470000002.738256 qam6641550000002.738256 qam6751630000002.738256 qam6861710000002.938256 qam697179000000338256 qam7081870000003.238256 qam7191950000003.438256 qam72102030000003.238256 qam73112110000003.238256 qam74122190000003.240256 qam7513235000000338256 qam77142430000002.940256 qam78152510000002.740256 qam79162590000002.740256 qam80172670000002.540256 qam81182750000002.240256 qam82192830000002.240256 qam83202910000002.238256 qam84212990000002.538256 qam85      223070000002.540256 qam8623315000000340256 qam8724323000000340256 qam

88


Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 227000000 3 38 256 qam 76
2 139000000 3 38 256 qam 65
3 147000000 2.7 38 256 qam 66
4 155000000 2.7 38 256 qam 67
5 163000000 2.7 38 256 qam 68
6 171000000 2.9 38 256 qam 69
7 179000000 3 38 256 qam 70
8 187000000 3.2 38 256 qam 71
9 195000000 3.4 38 256 qam 72
10 203000000 3.2 38 256 qam 73
11 211000000 3.2 38 256 qam 74
12 219000000 3.2 40 256 qam 75
13 235000000 3 38 256 qam 77
14 243000000 2.9 40 256 qam 78
15 251000000 2.7 40 256 qam 79
16 259000000 2.7 40 256 qam 80
17 267000000 2.5 40 256 qam 81
18 275000000 2.2 40 256 qam 82
19 283000000 2.2 40 256 qam 83
20 291000000 2.2 38 256 qam 84
21 299000000 2.5 38 256 qam 85
22 307000000 2.5 40 256 qam 86
23 315000000 3 40 256 qam 87
24 323000000 3 40 256 qam 88

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 5 0
2 Locked 38.6 5 0
3 Locked 38.9 6 0
4 Locked 38.9 7 0
5 Locked 38.6 5 0
6 Locked 38.9 5 0
7 Locked 38.9 6 0
8 Locked 38.6 4 0
9 Locked 38.9 4 0
10 Locked 38.6 8 0
11 Locked 38.9 5 0
12 Locked 40.3 5 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 40.9 6 0
15 Locked 40.3 4 0
16 Locked 40.9 5 0
17 Locked 40.3 6 0
18 Locked 40.3 4 0
19 Locked 40.3 7 0
20 Locked 38.9 7 0
21 Locked 38.9 12 0
22 Locked 40.9 11 0
23 Locked 40.3 5 0
24 Locked 40.3 0 0


ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID14620006334.8512064 qam122580000034.8512064 qam433260000034.8512064 qam343939997434.8512064 qam2

 

 

  • Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
    1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
    2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
    3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
    4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

 

09/08/2022 09:07:43noticeLAN login Success;CM-CMTS-b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 09:07:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 05:36:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:45:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:44:31Warning!B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:43:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:31:31criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:30:50Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:30:45criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:30:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 04:30:45criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 02:56:43noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;09/08/2022 02:56:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/08/2022 10:20:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/08/2022 05:45:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/08/2022 04:29:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/08/2022 07:45:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/08/2022 07:45:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/08/2022 03:28:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=:5b;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/08/2022 03:10:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
TomRaver
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
268 Views
Message 4 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

It's mainly WiFi everything gets kicked off.. when it happens I'm not using anything wired..there is no lights on the hub just a white one

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.2K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
260 Views
Message 5 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

No obvious issues there (that I can spot!) nor evidence of any disconnections - your BQM will show that - post up the link.

Looking like it may just be a wifi issue - so see this...
___________________________________________

If it is a wifi only issue, then on a Hub3/4/5, you should first try separating the SSID's of the 2.4 and 5 GHz wifi bands by renaming them in the settings At the same time switch off "channel optimisation/Smart wifi” and “ apply and save the settings. All wifi devices will now need reconnecting to the best SSID at each location. Also use a wifi scanning App to find the best wifi channels to use (just select and use channels 1,6,11 on 2.4GHz) - this often helps Hub users get better wifi performance - but its still no substitute for getting better kit 🙂

To address the wifi issues, VM now supply “wifi Pods” (no longer doing cheap and cheerless “boosters”). However, their Pods are only free to customers on the 1GB, Volt (or old Ultimate Oomph) packages - is that you? If so they are worth trying - they should work for you.

You do have to call in to order the first one (cant do it online the website is borked) - or try the web-chat or Whatsapp functions (that has worked for some) - or just wait here for a VM person to respond in a day or two and they will sort the first one for you .

If not… you will be charged £5/month (note - BT charge £10/mo for their whole home wifi solution). It’s a simple solution and should work for you. However, you would soon pay off that cost by buying your own wireless solution that will be yours to own and use forever, although the VM Pods should be a simpler option.

You would need to get either a… (1) Mesh System, (2) Wireless router, (3) Wireless access point (4) A combination of (2,3).

£30-100 should sort it for most customers with an average property and usage.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
TomRaver
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
245 Views
Message 6 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

Oh never mind then..Thank you for looking into it for me.. i have already been given a pod. I like in a 2 room flat and shouldn't even need it..and it keeps happening. When I try to connect my phone it says cannot get I.P.. there's only so many times I can do a pin reset..

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.2K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
236 Views
Message 7 of 31
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wifi problems

It may be a different issue if its just your phone not getting a connection.

What make/model of phone is it? Is its i.p. address in the same "range" as your router? Do other devices that connect ok look to be in a different range?

Is it set to configure ip and DNS automatically?

My router is 10.0.1.1 and all my devices are in the range 10.0.1.2 - 10.0.1.40


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
TomRaver
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
206 Views
Message 8 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

I have a galaxy s21 so it's not an old phone..I also thought it might be the phone but all my devices get disconnected. Phone,TV and the pod.. probably best if I just buy ethernet cables and see if it disconnects 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.2K
  • 3.16K
  • 6.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
187 Views
Message 9 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

Is its ip address in the correct range?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Matthew_ML
  • 1.55K
  • 59
  • 115
Forum Team
Forum Team
173 Views
Message 10 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi problems

Hey TomRaver, thank you for reaching out and I am sorry you are struggling with WIFI.

I have some tests from outside and I cannot see any issues, did the connect app suggest you may need another pod?

I would be happy to order you one if you wish.

Is it possible you can try some devices via cable for me?

Please do let me know. Thanks 

Matt - Forum Team


New around here?

0 Kudos
Reply