Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
283 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

Currently having an issue with our broadband connection.

I'm able to connect to the internet through a pc using a wired connection, however all devices using wifi are unable to connect.

Have a superhub 1 (very old), the green light is on to signify that the wifi should be working. I've tried rebooting several times, done a factory reset, still not working. Each time the pc is connecting to the internet fine but any wifi device can't. Even when I log in to the hub through http://192.168.0.1/ is says the wifi is on and some of the phones even show up in the connections but in reality they can't connect.

To make matters worse i cant remember my virgin media account details since its from a long time ago (blueyonder?)

Any help thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.46K
  • 371
  • 503
Problem sorter
273 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

Hi aburkey56,

I didn't know the hub1 was still being used. Have you tried the hub swap link? hubswap 

Can you still log into MyVirginMedia? If not you may be able to click on a password reset.

 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
266 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

Hi,

I can't log in to MyVirginMedia, I've lost my account details. When i try to reset my password I have to enter the details from my last bill, but the form does not accept what I've entered. The message "please enter valid bill details" keeps popping up. I've tried several times to no avail.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.46K
  • 371
  • 503
Problem sorter
255 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

The best you can do regarding the lost account details is to hang fire for a day or two. hopefully a member of the Forum Staff will pick this up for you and help you resolve it. Then perhaps you can try that link again for the hub swap.

In the meantime the tech wizards on this forum may be able to help with the wifi if you do the following:- 

Please can you post your network logs following  the instructions below - hopefully they work with the hub1

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return.

On the page that opens up click on the “router status” link below the login box.

Then copy/paste 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
153 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

Hi, thanks for the reply. Logs below, apologies if the formatting is difficult to read.

Downstream DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz) 147000000 Hz 139000000 Hz 155000000 Hz 163000000 Hz 171000000 Hz 179000000 Hz 187000000 Hz 195000000 Hz
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 2 1 3 4 5 6 7 8
Modulation QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 10.7 dBmV 11.1 dBmV 10.3 dBmV 9.5 dBmV 10.8 dBmV 10.2 dBmV 9.7 dBmV 9.3 dBmV
RxMER (dB) 40.9 dB 40.8 dB 40.8 dB 40.8 dB 40.9 dB 40.8 dB 40.8 dB 40.6 dB

Upstream US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0
Channel ID 2 1 3 4
Frequency (Hz) 53700000 Hz 60300000 Hz 46200000 Hz 39400000 Hz
Ranging Status Success Success Success Success
Modulation QAM64 QAM64 QAM64 QAM64
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 5120000 5120000 5120000
Mini-Slot Size 128 128 128 128
Power Level (dBmV) 44.0 dBmV 44.3 dBmV 43.8 dBmV 44.8 dBmV
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.45K
  • 1.62K
  • 2.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
131 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

The SH1 should be used only as a doorstop now. Did you try the link for the free swap? If not do so.

If you get the "oops message" come back here for further advice.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
116 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

I've forgotten my virgin media username and password since i never really used them so i haven't been able to use the link for the free upgrade to the hub 3.

Using the forgotten email and password forms I've managed to retrieve my username by using my account number and area code, but when i try to get my password it asks me to input details from my last bill, after filling this in it says "please enter valid bill details". So I'm stuck for the time being.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.24K
  • 590
  • 1.37K
Alessandro Volta
112 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine


@jbrennand wrote:
The SH1 should be used only as a doorstop now.


So should the SH2 its got 8 channels down 4 up but really SH1 is fine then.

Just use the hub in modem mode and get a better wireless router with 1Gb ports or mesh.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.45K
  • 1.62K
  • 2.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
111 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

OK you are going to need to speak with them to go through security checks - try to call it in on 150 (VM Phone) or 0345 454 1111 (any other phone)

Calling at 08.00 midweek -- is the best time - although people are still reporting getting through fine at other times with no long waits.

You can also text them on 07533 051809 include account name/number and what the issue is – replies may take a bit longer.

A VM person should pick this up here but it may take a few days.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
83 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi not connecting, but wired works fine

Thanks for the replies.

Just been on the phone for 50 minutes and got cut off when i was being transferred. I'm hoping someone from virgin see's this thread to help me out.

0 Kudos
Reply