Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
391 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Wifi issue

Hi,

Wifi dropping out a lot,

I have tried resetting hub,disconnnecting cables etc,changing channels and still having loads of wifi drop outs.

01/01/1970 00:02:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM0;
05/06/2020 15:18:9 notice NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/06/2020 02:13:51 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM0;
03/06/2020 23:05:49 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-c
03/06/2020 23:05:49 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in

Network status
Router status
Status
Downstream
Upstream
Configuration
Network Log
Refresh data
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 483000000 2.5 40 256 qam 30
2 187000000 6.8 40 256 qam 7
3 195000000 6.5 40 256 qam 8
4 203000000 6 40 256 qam 9
5 211000000 5.8 40 256 qam 10
6 219000000 5.6 40 256 qam 11
7 227000000 5.4 40 256 qam 12
8 235000000 5.4 40 256 qam 13
9 243000000 5 40 256 qam 14
10 251000000 5 40 256 qam 15
11 259000000 5.1 40 256 qam 16
12 267000000 5.3 40 256 qam 17
13 275000000 5.5 40 256 qam 18
14 283000000 5.6 40 256 qam 19
15 291000000 5.6 40 256 qam 20
16 299000000 6 40 256 qam 21
17 307000000 5.1 40 256 qam 22
18 315000000 5.4 40 256 qam 23
19 323000000 5.5 40 256 qam 24
20 443000000 2.7 40 256 qam 25
21 451000000 2.4 40 256 qam 26
22 459000000 2.2 40 256 qam 27
23 467000000 2.7 40 256 qam 28
24 475000000 2.7 40 256 qam 29


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 751 529
2 Locked 40.3 860 930
3 Locked 40.3 824 884
4 Locked 40.3 814 745
5 Locked 40.3 843 741
6 Locked 40.3 1154 758
7 Locked 40.3 850 758
8 Locked 40.3 879 666
9 Locked 40.3 830 789
10 Locked 40.3 840 655
11 Locked 40.3 782 621
12 Locked 40.3 1153 715
13 Locked 40.3 1853 915
14 Locked 40.3 1114 834
15 Locked 40.3 842 773
16 Locked 40.3 776 716
17 Locked 40.9 777 965
18 Locked 40.9 823 700
19 Locked 40.9 776 686
20 Locked 40.3 788 606
21 Locked 40.3 743 587
22 Locked 40.9 777 556
23 Locked 40.3 750 595
24 Locked 40.3 2371 1257

 

 

any help I would be great.

 

cheers

 

Gary

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
381 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Do wired connections drop as well?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
346 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Hi, we don't use wired but I will try next time a laptop drops out.

Cheers
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.5K
  • 566
  • 1.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
301 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wifi issue

Looking at your downstream error counts, they're far too high, particularly given you've done all the usual restarts and resets, so there's a lot of noise somewhere.  The post-RS error count should really be zero.  With this level of errors I'm not surprised connections are dropping, but be assured that's not a problem with the wireless.  Your stats show a clear quality problem with your cable connection.  A possible cause is that the range of power levels is too wide, as it is from 2.2 to 6.8 dBmV, and with that range on a logarithmically measured scale the hub is being asked to listen to incoming messages some of which are being whispered at the same time as others are being bellowed through a megaphone.

If you try phoning this in you'll get the offshore crowd running through a crap script that will end up claiming that a restart has fixed the problem (it won't), or blaming your wireless and claiming all looks good from VM's side (it doesn't, they can see the hub status).  I'd suggest waiting for the forum staff to pick this up and advise on next steps - it could be a network equipment fault with a planned fix date, if not then it's your connection and you'll need a technician to come and take a look, which the forum staff should be able to do.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
289 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Hi,
I gave virgin a call, I told them that I have tried all the fault remedies so Now they are sending me a new hub. No explanation why but if it sorts it.

I will keep you posted.

many thanks.

Gary

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.65K
  • 852
  • 1.23K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
287 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wifi issue

Hello

Replacing the hub will not resolve the problem your having this is related to a signal level issue they are out of balance.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
262 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Thanks Mike. Is there any Virgin Media people on here that can sort this issue or should I just ring and tell them about these signal levels?

cheers

 

Gary

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
257 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

There is, but they'll respond when they can.

You may get a quicker response calling, then again you might not

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.87K
  • 234
  • 427
Forum Team
Forum Team
207 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Hi Gary,

 

Thanks for reaching out to in in our community and welcome back, I am sorry you are finding your Wi-Fi slow at the moment, I have done a full check our end and cannot see any issues at all, all levels are where they should be, 

 

If you are still having issue I advise you to Set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with us. Make sure you un-check the “ignore ping from WAN side” box in the settings if you see a wall of "red" - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

 

you will find this here .

 

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
179 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi issue

Hi thanks. I’ve setup the monitor.

I now you have done background checks but what do you make of the data I have posted? Any lows there?

 

regards

 

Gary

0 Kudos
Reply