Menu
Reply
Heatherl
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
260 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Wifi cutting out

Hi there,

I have been having issues with my wifi cutting out multiple times a day, sometimes only a few seconds but can be up to a couple of hours at a time. Happens on all devices at the same time. As an example, it has happened at least 14 times since 8am this morning. I have noticed it happens more often during the working day when my partner is working from home and not as often during the evening. We have had multiple technicians out, and have just had a new hub installed today which has not fixed the issue.
Any help would be much appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.07K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
258 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

Are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Heatherl
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
252 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

It affects devices connected to the Ethernet too. 

The last few times it’s happened, since the new hub, the light has went out completely for a few seconds then came back on white, then the other lights start to flash green until connected again. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.07K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
244 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

Ok lets look at the connection data - can you do this...
____________________________________________

First, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then, Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Heatherl
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
219 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

All cables are secure and connected. I have pasted below the info, please note this is the new hub so has only been connected since around 2pm today. I will post the link for broadband monitor once developed in a few hours.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11710000004.640256 qam5
21390000005.940256 qam1
31470000005.440256 qam2
4155000000540256 qam3
51630000004.640256 qam4
61790000004.440256 qam6
71870000004.340256 qam7
81950000003.940256 qam8
92030000003.440256 qam9
10211000000340256 qam10
112190000002.940256 qam11
122270000002.740256 qam12
132350000002.540256 qam13
14243000000240256 qam14
15251000000240256 qam15
162590000002.240256 qam16
172670000003.240256 qam17
182750000002.740256 qam18
192830000002.740256 qam19
202910000002.540256 qam20
212990000002.540256 qam21
223070000002.240256 qam22
233150000002.240256 qam23
243230000002.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3180
2Locked40.9150
3Locked40.3170
4Locked40.9180
5Locked40.9170
6Locked40.9180
7Locked40.960
8Locked40.960
9Locked40.960
10Locked40.960
11Locked40.940
12Locked40.950
13Locked40.950
14Locked40.970
15Locked40.900
16Locked40.310
17Locked40.970
18Locked40.940
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.350
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.370
24Locked40.350

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999884.225512064 qam9
2393999964.225512064 qam12
3462000004.225512064 qam11
4537000194.225512064 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Heatherl
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
217 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/07/2021 14:39:41noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 14:39:41ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 14:22:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:20:20noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:20:0noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:44Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:40criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:39criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 18:37:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 20:59:21ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2020 18:47:45ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 19:50:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 18:45:27ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 06:43:25ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 02:42:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2020 18:41:26ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.07K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
210 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

All stats look ok to me so far.

the BQM should clearly show the drops you get on ethernet devices as red bars - correlate them with messages in the Logs at the same times

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.49K
  • 675
  • 1.52K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
181 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

Not seen upstream stats with the decimal point in the wrong place for a long time. Perhaps the hub is not on the latest firmware release. Best thing to do is a pin-hole reset and post a new set of stats. Hold the switch in for 60 seconds and the hub will then do a clean boot do NOT power cycle the hub.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Richw1982
  • 372
  • 33
  • 89
Fibre optic
175 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

It may also be worth disconnecting all ethernets for 24hours to eliminate any faults or loopbacks on ethernet.  I am going to try a loopback on mine now as I cant remember if these drops register on BQM or not

I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 5.32K
  • 371
  • 540
Forum Team
Forum Team
75 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi cutting out

Hey @Heatherl

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for taking the time to post on our forums.

 

I'm sorry to hear that you're having issues with your connection at the moment.

How has the connection been since your original post?

 

I have looked into your account today and cannot see anything that would be causing the issues that you're experiencing. 

 

Have you been able to setup a BQM as recommended to help us pinpoint the issues?

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply