Menu
Knibbsy1
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Wifi booster

To improve the range of my Hub 3 I've invested in some tp-link deco M5 boosters. These have been set up, with their own wifi network, and work very well - the range and strength of the signal has improved.

But I'm getting a problem with my Sonos speakers which keep losing the separate network

It has been suggested that I switch off the Virgin Wifi as this might be causing conflict -I s that correct/possible?

If I do switch off the virgin wifi will the other ethernet connections that I run off the hub ( to Blue ray player, you view box etc) be affected - and if so how do I overcome this.

Simple step answers please I'm not that technical

0 Kudos
gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi booster

You need to run the hub in modem mode 

Ethernet connections then need to be made via the M5’s - if you need more ports you’ll need to get a desktop switch. 

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Knibbsy1
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Thanks for the reply - running it in modem mode - is that just a case of turning off the wifi?

0 Kudos
gary_dexter
Alessandro Volta
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

No you need to go into the settings and change if from Router Mode to Modem Mode.

I assume you currently have the M5’s setup in Bridge/AP mode?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
g0akc
Well-informed
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator