Menu
Reply
monty2306
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
424 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Wifi Speed after Install

Hi There,

had my install yesterday on the M600 ultimate ommph bundle. My hub3 is connected via Ethernet to the tv box, router has been installed behind the tv. When connecting any device I am getting max 300mb and then instantly only getting 1.5 to 10mb tops. Literally can not connect anything via wifi and get above 10mb. VM tech have split the SSID to 2 ghz and 5 ghz and it’s done nothing. Was getting 70mb with BT this is unusable. The VM tech as also ordered me some Virgin Pods but I am not convinced this is the issue, as the signal strength is not the issue its the speed of the signal?

 

any suggestions 

0 Kudos
Reply
Richw1982
  • 372
  • 33
  • 89
Fibre optic
409 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Hi, I would try a pinhole reset to force any updates.  Press and hold reset button on back for 15 seconds then release for 5.  Repeat this 3 times and wait 10 mins for it to load back up.

Then 

Log into GUI by typing 192.168.0.1 into a web browser (Settings password is on bottom of the Hub) then go to 

-Advanced Settings > Wireless > Wireless Signal

1)  Make sure 2.4 and 5 are enabled.

2)  Scroll to bottom and disable smart Wi-Fi.

3)  Select 20 on 2.4GHz

4)  Select 20/40/80 on 5GHz.

Save settings.

Wait for the WiFi to drop out and re connect, then re-enable smart WiFi and save again

 

Remember to press 'log out' before closing window

I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
monty2306
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
397 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Thanks for that see screen shot below 6.42mb no change at all

37B44FB0-1533-4564-ADE6-4A9D8A510CB0.jpeg

 really struggling, followed steps as you said…..

0 Kudos
Reply
monty2306
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
386 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Thanks for that see screen shot below 6.42mb no change at all

0 Kudos
Reply
Richw1982
  • 372
  • 33
  • 89
Fibre optic
375 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

What speed are you getting over ethernet?  If you log back into the Hub settings page and goto Advanced > Tools > Network status.  Then copy and paste the levels from the downstream and upstream tab.

I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
monty2306
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
360 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Thanks for coming back to me. I have been keeping a check on the speeds the past 2-3 hours, its very intermittent. One test will be 300-350 the next will error with no connection and get 6-10mb?? After doing the info last time as I say I got 6.2mb, now getting 350mb on the 600 tariff?? Requested info below

Cable Modem StatusItemStatusCommentsAcquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
139000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53699942
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
11390000006.540256 qam1
21470000006.440256 qam2
31550000006.540256 qam3
41630000006.540256 qam4
51710000006.640256 qam5
61790000006.838256 qam6
7187000000740256 qam7
8195000000740256 qam8
92030000006.940256 qam9
102110000006.940256 qam10
11219000000740256 qam11
122270000006.840256 qam12
132350000006.640256 qam13
142430000006.940256 qam14
152510000006.640256 qam15
162590000006.540256 qam16
172670000006.640256 qam17
182750000006.340256 qam18
192830000006.340256 qam19
202910000006.140256 qam20
212990000006.140256 qam21
22307000000640256 qam22
233150000006.140256 qam23
243230000006.340256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3100
2Locked40.370
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.950
5Locked40.380
6Locked38.9180
7Locked40.3180
8Locked40.3190
9Locked40.3100
10Locked40.370
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.360
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.960
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.380
19Locked40.380
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.360
22Locked40.370
23Locked40.960
24Locked40.350

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15369994229.2512064 qam2
26029989830512064 qam1
33940002029.5512064 qam4
44620000029.5512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm


 

Appreciate your thoughts/comments

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 16.3K
  • 712
  • 1.6K
Alessandro Volta
355 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Run hub in modem mode with a PC and see how stable that is.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Richw1982
  • 372
  • 33
  • 89
Fibre optic
354 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Do you know if your area is Fibre to the house or is it coax to the house?  Your upstream levels seem way too high, they should be between 33-51 on the upstream unless its Full fibre which is 27-45.  This could explain your bad speeds but will require an engineer visit

I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
monty2306
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
350 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

I am 99.9% certain its fibre to the house. We are on a new estate and the install was completed utilising open reach infrastructure and the cable (green??) was blown through using compressed air to the property. 

 

Whats the quickest way of getting an engineer. I was fearful of this, as VM don't have the best reviews for customer service??

0 Kudos
Reply
Richw1982
  • 372
  • 33
  • 89
Fibre optic
326 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Speed after Install

Without getting to technical if you are a Broadband only customer a 4 way splitter should be fitted outside and a 2 way inside.  Return levels at cab are 25 then minus 7db for 4 way and 4 for the 2 way inside so your upstream should  be around 36 and forward around 0.

Top right corner of this screen 'Check Service Status'  Should run through diagnostics, if you keep saying fault still present it should allow you to book a tech

 

 

I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply