Menu
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
213 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Wifi Cutting out

Hi,

I have been having issues with my Virgin Media Super Hub 3, on multiple occasions during the day the Wi-Fi will cut out and the green light will rapidly light up during the 5 minutes the Wi-Fi isn't working, All of my devices that are connected via ethernet still work. 

This can happen multiple times per hour and it can be frustrating while trying to work remotely over Microsoft Teams for me and my 3 sons, on the router status network log there are constant errors every day that say "No Ranging Response Received - T3 time-out"

This has been going on for months it is clear there is something wrong with the equipment, I have tried the troubleshooting steps but the problem still persists.

Regards

0 Kudos
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
204 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

I separated the 2.4ghz and 5ghz band and it happens on both,

0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.57K
  • 253
  • 379
Superfast
198 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

You really need to check how it performs when connected to the hub via ethernet. Not convenient, perhaps, but if it all works ok when wired in then you can look at options to improve WiFi in your house...

0 Kudos
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
186 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

The wifi radio completely turns off on the router, I very much doubt my phone / laptop in the same room 1m away from the router would be a fault of my house considering I can see my Neighbors virgin media hub on my Wi-Fi list

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.51K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
163 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

You said in the first post that everything works ok on ethernet connections - is that still correct?

If so, you should consider putting the Hub into mobile mode and getting your own better quality wireless equipment

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
159 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

I was able to live with the latency problems of the superhub 3, as I am writing this it has cut out again.

I don’t really want to drop £200 on a good enough router to add to faulty equipment in modem mode, I was happy with the performance of the router for the years I’ve had it. 

I am pretty convinced that there is something wrong with it beyond the latency issues that all of them have 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.51K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
154 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

OK lets see the connection data - follow this procedure.
___________________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.42K
  • 662
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
151 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out


@jonesverity wrote:

I don’t really want to drop £200 on a good enough router to add to faulty equipment in modem mode, I was happy with the performance of the router for the years I’ve had it. 


Modem mode is fine so just the hub wifi is bad you can spend £126 on a good router or even less.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
76 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

Alright thank you  

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1251000000-6.936256 qam15
2139000000-5.737256 qam1
3147000000-5.537256 qam2
4155000000-5.537256 qam3
5163000000-5.737256 qam4
6171000000-5.737256 qam5
7179000000-5.737256 qam6
8187000000-5.737256 qam7
9195000000-637256 qam8
10203000000-6.237256 qam9
11211000000-6.437256 qam10
12219000000-6.437256 qam11
13227000000-6.736256 qam12
14235000000-6.736256 qam13
15243000000-6.736256 qam14
16259000000-736256 qam16
17267000000-736256 qam17
18275000000-7.236256 qam18
19283000000-7.236256 qam19
20291000000-7.736256 qam20
21299000000-7.735256 qam21
22307000000-7.736256 qam22
23315000000-7.536256 qam23
24323000000-7.436256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6448631
2Locked37.611730103
3Locked37.6541695
4Locked37.69780414
5Locked37.3558388
6Locked37.633078134
7Locked37.321009362
8Locked37.62727246
9Locked37.335351
10Locked37.328440
11Locked37.333224
12Locked37.6568322
13Locked36.6335883
14Locked36.6404031
15Locked36.6767533
16Locked36.634460
17Locked36.624460
18Locked36.631574
19Locked36.642492
20Locked36.3559010
21Locked35.785540
22Locked36.3760913
23Locked36.385940
24Locked36.379060

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260019440.8512032 qam7
22580000040.5512032 qam8
34620031641512032 qam5
43939998540.8512032 qam6



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0070
2ATDMA0080
3ATDMA0040
4ATDMA0090

 

8540729816d7ddf1ce539a9d742c3b32a04c7e03-01-02-2021.png

 

I'm not sure how helpful that graph would be considering its the wifi itself that is causing a problem every device is dropped out apart from those connected via ethernet 

0 Kudos
Reply
jonesverity
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
74 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wifi Cutting out

 
  Network LogTime Priority Description
01/02/2021 08:09:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 07:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/01/2021 04:55:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/01/2021 17:02:36noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/01/2021 08:28:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/01/2021 19:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 20:45:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 07:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/01/2021 03:18:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 19:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2021 23:37:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2021 07:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2021 22:54:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=4;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 18:26:19Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 12:23:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=4;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/01/2021 07:46:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 07:29:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 04:24:39noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 03:09:28ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2021 02:20:2noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply