Menu
Reply
JohnEdwards
  • 110
  • 1
  • 10
Up to speed
1,063 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Hi

This problem has bothered us for years, but it seems to be getting worse!

We have an ethernet-connected PC and a wifi-connected laptop - both in the same room as the SuperHub 3.0.

On most days, the initial bootup of both computers fails to connect to the internet, and this is usually NOT resolved by rebooting the hub (when I bother to try!). Note that sometimes one computer connects while the other does not.

Troubleshooting on each unconnected computer often resolves the issue by resetting the network adapter on that machine. Sometimes further steps are needed too (such as 'reconnecting'), and if all else fails, I have to uninstall the relevant network adapter (Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller on the PC) and reboot (or rescan for new hardware) which has (so far!) always met with success.

I have read a lot of comments on this topic elsewhere (including uninstalling Apple's 'Bonjour' program, which seems to come with BBC iPlayer Downloads, so is regularly reinstalled). All drivers are bang up-to-date.

Can someone authoritatively explain the cause of this problem - and how to resolve it permanently?

Oh - one other point: the laptop has developed the habit of disconnecting from the internet in the same manner as overnight, after being left running but untouched for a few hours during the day (on mains power). I have switched off the power management option which is often pointed to as a resolution.

Grateful for any help.

John

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.48K
  • 675
  • 1.52K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,029 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

What PC and laptop are they and what operating systems release? My Mac mini, Ethernet connected, regularly drop its connection when not being used and regains it. Probably checking for updates and mail. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEdwards
  • 110
  • 1
  • 10
Up to speed
1,022 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Medion PC and Toshiba laptop (both quite old); fully updated with latest Windows 10 Home 64-bit releases (1909).
I've never experienced the connection being regained without any intervention.
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.03K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,015 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Open a web browser, type (or cut and paste) the following into the address bar: 192.168.0.1

This should connect to the hub interface.  Don't log in, just click on the link for Check router status.  Now cut and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs into a reply here.  This may or may not help, what I'm hoping for is that we forum helpers can identify if the hub itself has some problems that might be causing what you are experiencing.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEdwards
  • 110
  • 1
  • 10
Up to speed
1,000 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

When I try to paste the copied information, I get the following message:

"Correct the highlighted errors and try again."

However, nothing is highlighted!!!!!!! So I don't know how to respond.

In case it was too large (>20,000 characters), I tried breaking it down, but got the same response.

Help!

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.03K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
992 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Often does that.  Just click on Post again.  The forum software has a capability to mask personally identifying information like IP or MAC addresses, and I think that software triggers the error message.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEdwards
  • 110
  • 1
  • 10
Up to speed
988 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Hi Andruser 

Thanks for your response. Here are the copies you requested (from the PC) [now sent as plain text]

Downstream bonded channels:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 723000000 -5.5 37 256 qam 40
2 539000000 -3.7 37 256 qam 17
3 547000000 -3.7 36 256 qam 18
4 555000000 -4.5 36 256 qam 19
5 563000000 -5.5 35 256 qam 20
6 571000000 -5.9 35 256 qam 21
7 579000000 -5.7 36 256 qam 22
8 587000000 -5.2 36 256 qam 23
9 595000000 -4.7 36 256 qam 24
10 603000000 -4 36 256 qam 25
11 611000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 26
12 619000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 27
13 627000000 -5 37 256 qam 28
14 635000000 -5 36 256 qam 29
15 643000000 -5 36 256 qam 30
16 651000000 -4.7 37 256 qam 31
17 659000000 -4.7 36 256 qam 32
18 667000000 -4.9 36 256 qam 33
19 675000000 -5.5 36 256 qam 34
20 683000000 -5.7 36 256 qam 35
21 691000000 -5.5 37 256 qam 36
22 699000000 -5.7 36 256 qam 37
23 707000000 -5.5 36 256 qam 38
24 715000000 -5.7 36 256 qam 39


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 37.3 48 0
2 Locked 37.3 56 0
3 Locked 36.6 48 0
4 Locked 36.6 68 0
5 Locked 35.7 706 0
6 Locked 35.5 626 0
7 Locked 36.3 282 0
8 Locked 36.3 164 0
9 Locked 36.3 68 0
10 Locked 36.6 119 0
11 Locked 37.3 55 0
12 Locked 37.3 36 0
13 Locked 37.3 66 0
14 Locked 36.3 127 0
15 Locked 36.6 52 0
16 Locked 37.3 47 0
17 Locked 36.6 42 0
18 Locked 36.6 77 0
19 Locked 36.3 99 0
20 Locked 36.6 51 0
21 Locked 37.3 46 0
22 Locked 36.6 70 0
23 Locked 36.6 57 0
24 Locked 36.6 54 0


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39399859 3.825 5120 64 qam 6
2 46199938 3.9 5120 64 qam 5
3 32600046 3.775 5120 64 qam 7
4 25800117 3.725 5120 64 qam 8


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log
Time Priority Description
22/11/2019 04:41:25 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/11/2019 17:05:15 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2019 13:26:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2019 14:00:54 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/11/2019 20:59:32 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/11/2019 21:14:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2019 08:43:1 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2019 12:48:7 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2019 20:08:3 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2019 07:33:8 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2019 11:23:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/12/2019 11:32:30 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2019 00:28:27 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2019 01:10:36 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2019 09:45:20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2019 11:24:10 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/12/2019 14:48:45 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2019 19:42:23 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2019 04:34:14 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


Hope that helps someone to help me!!!

John Edwards

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEdwards
  • 110
  • 1
  • 10
Up to speed
684 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Did this information prove useful in diagnosing the problem - which has been less apparent recently?
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.03K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
667 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

If you looks at the power levels on the downstream, they're in the range -3 to -5.9 dBmV.  The accepted tolerance is no lower than -5, no higher than +10 and ideally closer to zero with all values tightly clustered.  

So there's a good chance that if you have a flakey connection it is down to out-of-range power levels,but I must admit I've not seen that manifest as a frozen network adaptor.  If this persists then it'll need a VM technician to fix the power levels.  Hold on here (may take a day or two) for the forum staff to advise if there's an areas fault (which should have a fix date, and probably doesn't need a visit to your house), and if not then they'll need to get a technician out to visit you.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Natalie_L
  • 2.66K
  • 120
  • 231
Forum Team
Forum Team
654 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Why do I regularly need to reset my computers' network adapters?

Hi JohnEdwards, 

 

Thank you for posting to the Community. 

 

I have taken a look at your equipment from our side and everything looks good from our side.  

 

You mentioned that the problems seem lest apparent at the moment, have you ran a report recently? If yes, are you okay posting the results? 

 

Thanks 

 

 

 

Nat
0 Kudos
Reply