Menu
Reply
makse
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
249 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Web page loading refresh issues

Over several weeks been having issues with devices saying they are unable to load pages or pages only partially loading. I disconnect from the wifi and back on and all is good for a period of time (random).

rebooted hub makes no difference.

I see in the logs that one upstream channel is at 16qam

Screenshot 2021-07-06 at 17.16.14.png

and the logs are showing a lot of errors 

Screenshot 2021-07-06 at 17.17.20.png

I rang and spoke to support and their solution is to do a pin hole reset as I am using different SSID than what the hub was supplied with.

when I mention the errors and upstream they say that they don't see it and can only put a note on the case but the solution is to do a pin hole reset 😞

Can anybody confirm if what they are saying is the solution or I am being fobbed off and totally ignoring the logs and upstream values.

TIA

Mark 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.02K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
208 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues


Have you actually done a pinhole reset as they advised? It sometimes does help and can restore qam levels to what they should be - so worth a try. It after all only showing 1 T3 error - the odd one is normal.

Can you post up the full set of Hub data again but do it this way.
___________________________________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
makse
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
203 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

Thanks for the reply and guidance.

They said that the pin hole reset was because I was using a different SSID and nothing else. I'll do it, but will be setting the SSID back again as every device in the house has that SSID configured. Also easier to recognise than a random VM id.

 

Here are the stats and logs before resetting

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1506250000-638256 qam13
2514250000-5.738256 qam14
3522250000-5.538256 qam15
4530250000-5.538256 qam16
5538250000-6.438256 qam17
6546250000-738256 qam18
7554250000-6.238256 qam19
8562250000-638256 qam20
9570250000-6.438256 qam21
10578250000-6.238256 qam22
11586250000-5.538256 qam23
12594250000-5.240256 qam24
13602250000-5.738256 qam25
14610250000-638256 qam26
15618250000-6.738256 qam27
16658250000-7.738256 qam28
17666250000-838256 qam29
18674250000-837256 qam30
19682250000-8.538256 qam31
20690250000-937256 qam32
21698250000-9.937256 qam33
22706250000-10.237256 qam34
23714250000-9.937256 qam35
24722250000-9.537256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6490
2Locked38.9220
3Locked38.9130
4Locked38.9240
5Locked38.6850
6Locked38.6900
7Locked38.9820
8Locked38.9320
9Locked38.9370
10Locked38.9490
11Locked38.6144390
12Locked40.38502601
13Locked38.92191192
14Locked38.91961162
15Locked38.63381132
16Locked38.92133771
17Locked38.64733516
18Locked37.64462565
19Locked38.92248874
20Locked37.618391378
21Locked37.618252094
22Locked37.324623094
23Locked37.6138434812
24Locked37.3185576737

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000547.8512064 qam1
22580005446.5512032 qam4
33260021747512064 qam3
43939984747.5512032 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
makse
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
201 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

Network Log

Time Priority Description

06/07/2021 16:10:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 15:45:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 13:13:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 10:54:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 21:05:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 20:14:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 20:14:35Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 10:14:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 10:09:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/07/2021 17:40:34Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/07/2021 11:54:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2021 20:19:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2021 18:02:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2021 12:46:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2021 09:08:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2021 19:08:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2021 21:11:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2021 13:21:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2021 14:20:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.02K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
199 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

OK thats not looking good. Your down power levels are all low and many are below the minimum recommended of -6dBmV.

The RS numbers are a worry too. Post up the link to the BQM asap too.

Instead of the reset just do this and if nothing changes then you will need a Tech visit.
____________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a few minutes and then start up. When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
makse
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
195 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

I will get on to VM in the morning and see if there's anyway of getting past the Indian call centre.

BQM - https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f66eb406d41ca368516502fd2a8d5dd506...

I did the reset before you replied. 

there are a lot of Pre RS errors but no Post RS errors

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1722250000-9.537256 qam36
2506250000-638256 qam13
3514250000-5.738256 qam14
4522250000-5.538256 qam15
5530250000-5.538256 qam16
6538250000-6.538256 qam17
7546250000-738256 qam18
8554250000-6.438256 qam19
9562250000-638256 qam20
10570250000-6.538256 qam21
11578250000-6.238256 qam22
12586250000-5.538256 qam23
13594250000-5.440256 qam24
14602250000-5.938256 qam25
15610250000-638256 qam26
16618250000-6.738256 qam27
17658250000-7.738256 qam28
18666250000-838256 qam29
19674250000-838256 qam30
20682250000-8.538256 qam31
21690250000-937256 qam32
22698250000-9.937256 qam33
23706250000-10.237256 qam34
24714250000-1037256 qam35

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.610
2Locked38.600
3Locked38.940
4Locked38.650
5Locked38.900
6Locked38.900
7Locked38.600
8Locked38.950
9Locked38.930
10Locked38.600
11Locked38.900
12Locked38.950
13Locked40.350
14Locked38.9130
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.600
17Locked38.600
18Locked38.910
19Locked38.640
20Locked38.640
21Locked37.660
22Locked37.390
23Locked37.310
24Locked37.370

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000047.8512064 qam1
22580000046.8512016 qam4
33260000047512064 qam3
43940006447.3512032 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
154 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

Keep your eye on it! - The power levels DS are way too low and the US QAM is all over the place!

VM will pick this up soon and send an engineer to fix!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
makse
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
128 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

I have VM call me back from my call yesterday and all I can say ' what a joke'.

They want me to monitor via an ethernet connected device, which I do not have. So they said that they can send me Wifi extenders 

When I asked what are the operating limits of the Downstream power levels, all I kept on being told 'they are green'. When I pressed for an answer I was told they don't share that info; more than likely the person did not know the answer.

Waiting for the complaints team to call me.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
124 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

That's a load of 130110ck5!

Call it in as a fault!

It'll ask you to reboot the hub (as you already have done - don't)
You will then be cut off
Wait a couple of minutes
Call 150 again - report a broadband fault - The system will recognise that you called before and transfer you to a person - Hopefully a different person!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

jbrennand
  • 24.02K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
111 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Web page loading refresh issues

I will flag for VM to come here.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.