Menu
BetronParks
Joining in
Message 1 of 2
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Media Home Network?

Hi guys are able to give me some advice on a set up?

I’ve got a virgin media super hub 3 downstairs at the back of the house however get poor WiFi signal upstairs towards the front. I would like to add Ethernet connection/s upstairs at the front for an office whilst also improving WiFi in that area.

The current super hub has 3 ethernets currently connected (tv,Xbox and TiVo)

What would you recommend? I’m a total noob when it comes to networking.

0 Kudos
Andrew-G
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 2
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Home Network?

Various ways of doing this.  If you need more ethernet ports then a twelve quid "unmanaged gigabit etherent switch" will act as a port multiplier and can be placed anywhere - next to the hub, or on the end of a single ethernet cable run through the house.

For better wifi coverage, you can just add a VM pod (free, with conditions to Ultimate Oomph customers).  The pod turns creates a basic mesh wifi system - not particularly powerful, but it works.  If you don't get it free, then they're £5 a month, which isn't good economic sense, but some customers are not worried about that.

A step ahead of that would be to put the hub in "modem mode", and use a mesh wifi system, currently costing around £100 for a three unit system like the TP-Link Deco S4.  There's plenty of choice in the market, and many different makes, just avoid any cheaper systems that don't have "gigabit" ethernet ports because that will constrain performance even at lower speeds (so don't buy a Deco E4 or Tenda MW3, for example).  If money's no object Asus and Netgear do some superb mesh systems at much higher prices, some with four ethernet ports on each mesh unit, but you're looking at £200-300 for those.