Menu
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
195 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

I have A Hub 3.0 working in modem mode

It is connected solely to an Asus RT AC58U V3 Wireless Router

The router affords wireless connection to all the wireless devices and also hard wired connections to our main home PC and (via mains extenders) connection to my work PC and a couple of other devices.

Yesterday the wireless connection dropped a few times and re-established; but this morning it failed completely.

After much consternation, working from first principles, fault finding and a call to VM, I finally managed to get the Wireless back up an working but ONLY with the Hub 3 in Router Mode. It no longer works in Modem Mode

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
176 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

I need to clarify .... the wireless from the connected Asus router is only working when its hard wired connected to the Hub 3 in Router Mode

So I now have wireless RF from both the VM Hub 3 and my Asus wireless router ....

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 10.76K
  • 835
  • 2.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
161 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

I think you mean when the ASUS is in router mode and the VM hub is in modem mode you get no WiFi from the ASUS. When it’s like this do you get connection ok to Ethernet cabled devices?


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
151 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

Hello Tudor

The issues are not consistent

I can get the hub to work ok (not great) when in Router mode

If I connect the Asus to the Hub in router mode it also works ok (not great)

When I put the Hub in modem mode, the asus works ok for a while and then the wifi drops out and then re-establishes before working ok for a bit and then dropping out etc

All the while the down load is between 50 and 100 but the upload varies from 0.1 to about 9

I am convinced there is something wrong with the hub, from all the tests and various combinations I have tried out

Currently on second call to VM - just want someone to come out and test the Hub or replace it, as I am convinced that is where the problem lies

0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
141 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

So this makes me sure there is a problem with the Hub or the service to the door ....

What can I do?

daviddwood_0-1652452632036.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 18.16K
  • 761
  • 1.88K
Alessandro Volta
139 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

Connect a PC to the hub in modem mode for some hours running a ping -t 194.168.4.100 checking for drop outs
---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
124 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

Thanks Legacy1 I will try that

Also, this does not look good .... hence me thinking its an issue with the Hub or roadside ....

daviddwood_0-1652461233906.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 10.76K
  • 835
  • 2.11K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
106 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

Please post a full set of stats:

How to get stats from a VM hub (no need to logon to the hub)

Open a web browser and go to 192.168.0.1 router mode or 192.168.100.1 modem mode

  • Click on the “> Check router status” button
  • Click on the “Downstream” tab, copy the text and paste into your reply, do not take a screen shot
  • Click on the “Upstream” tab, copy the text and paste into your reply
  • Click on the “Networking” tab, copy the text and paste into your reply.

Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
99 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

Here goes

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500001.438256 qam1
2146750000138256 qam2
31547500000.738256 qam3
41627500000.540256 qam4
51707500000.538256 qam5
61787500000.238256 qam6
7186750000039256 qam7
8194750000-0.440256 qam8
9202750000-0.538256 qam9
10210750000-0.538256 qam10
11218750000-0.238256 qam11
12226750000-0.438256 qam12
13234750000-0.438256 qam13
14242750000-0.738256 qam14
15250750000-0.740256 qam15
16258750000-0.538256 qam16
17266750000-0.538256 qam17
18274750000-0.238256 qam18
19282750000039256 qam19
202907500000.438256 qam20
212987500000.738256 qam21
223067500000.238256 qam22
23314750000038256 qam23
24322750000-0.538256 qam24

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.94779535584
2Locked38.97377611089
3Locked38.945933105507
4Locked40.34437343863
5Locked38.9105999323
6Locked38.937057890
7Locked39.842377591
8Locked40.33104810094
9Locked38.954066039
10Locked38.994857037
11Locked38.9321558821
12Locked38.944304940
13Locked38.638603289
14Locked38.929402011
15Locked40.320111990
16Locked38.637302899
17Locked38.935093887
18Locked38.9260029101
19Locked39.8115556527
20Locked38.9179307727
21Locked38.937663239
22Locked38.933962799
23Locked38.943313578
24Locked38.94320

2818

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
daviddwood
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
98 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Hub 3.0 not working in Modem Mode

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000042.8512064 qam1
23940000042512064 qam4
34620000042.3512064 qam3
45370000042.8512064 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/05/2022 18:32:43noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 18:31:48Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 14:24:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 14:23:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:49:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:49:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:48:27criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:48:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:38:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 13:37:57Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 08:28:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 08:27:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2022 08:05:39noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
13/05/2022 08:03:33noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
10/05/2022 23:19:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2022 04:12:4ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2022 19:58:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2022 19:30:1ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/05/2022 16:49:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply