Menu
Kat_Hunt
Joining in
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Urgent support needed

Hello!

I need help urgently. My wifi keeps cutting out during meetings on teams and zoom. I have asked my landlord to help but he says that he has checked the speed and it is fine and is not helping me to sort it out. He is blaming my own laptop as the problem which I know is not the case as other people in my house have had the same problem. The wifi is included in my rental agreement yet it is not stable. I have checked the speed and it is fine. The speed is not the problem. The problem is that it keeps cutting out randomly during video calls. I am at risk of losing my job if this is not sorted urgently as I am an online teacher. Please help! I will be eternally grateful! 

I have called Virgin Media and the queue is an hour on the phone which I do not have time for! 

Thank you in advance,

Kat

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Urgent support needed

presumably the account is in your landlords name? if so, VM won’t talk to you about the issues anyways 😞

is there any way you could get the landlord to agree to run an ethernet cable up to where you work? or are you able to work in close proximity to the hub so that you can test via a cable?

if you can do some testing when using a cable to see how it performs, and it improves the situation, then you’ll have to try to convince your landlord to run one to wherever you need it - then maybe buy your own wireless access point to stick on the end of that cable..

Adduxi
Trouble shooter
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

I suspect VM will not discuss this with you, as your landlord is the account holder?  Sounds like you need the landlord to setup a Mesh or other boosters to get better wifi to your room.

Kat_Hunt
Joining in
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator