Menu
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
216 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Hiya,

I have noticed a fair bit of packet loss on my BQM (See sig for live) Link Here

One of my upstream channels is sat at 16 QAM 

Also my downstream power levels seem to have crept up to borderline high - they have been bobbing around up to 9.5dBmV

I have rebooted the Hub (in Modem mode) and the packet-loss is still persisting and the QAM is still 16.

Is this something that I need a Tech to rectify - I imagine I'd need a 6dB FPA to cure the downstream issues:

Stats and logs to follow.




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
215 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

D/S:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000008.540256 qam25
22030000008.640256 qam9
3211000000840256 qam10
42190000007.340256 qam11
52270000007.540256 qam12
62350000007.340256 qam13
72430000006.440256 qam14
82510000007.140256 qam15
92590000008.140256 qam16
102670000007.540256 qam17
112750000007.540256 qam18
122830000008.140256 qam19
132910000008.340256 qam20
142990000008.440256 qam21
153070000008.540256 qam22
163150000008.540256 qam23
173230000008.540256 qam24
183710000006.640256 qam26
193790000007.440256 qam27
203870000008.340256 qam28
213950000007.440256 qam29
224030000006.540256 qam30
234110000007.640256 qam31
244190000007.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.370
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.300
5Locked40.350
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.300
8Locked40.300
9Locked40.910
10Locked40.900
11Locked40.300
12Locked40.950
13Locked40.960
14Locked40.360
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.950
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.900
21Locked40.360
22Locked40.300
23Locked40.900
24Locked40.910



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
212 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

U/S

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000040.5512064 qam1
23940000040.3512064 qam2
32580030240512016 qam4
43260000040.3512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
208 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Log:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/07/2021 15:27:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 21:13:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2021 18:01:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2021 09:13:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 04:10:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2021 09:13:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2021 01:29:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2021 21:13:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/06/2021 12:35:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2021 09:13:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/06/2021 18:30:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2021 21:47:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/06/2021 15:02:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2021 07:58:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2021 07:26:26noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 18:42:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 18:27:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 17:48:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 06:37:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
173 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

I'm starting to think there is some planned work occurring as here is yesterday's BQM

ee2a3484fe878f95e9d7105bb4ccd52aa013dafa-13-07-2021

 

And today's:

58a99df6048585f559b382779d60afef8a6779da-14-07-2021

 

Both the packet-loss begin at 1400 hrs.

 




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 9.19K
  • 494
  • 831
Forum Team
Forum Team
163 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Hi lotharmat,

 

Thanks for posting and apologies about the packet loss. 

 

I've ran a system diagnostic today and it's come up with this;

 

We've identified a connectivity issue that would cause performance related issues with the customer's connection. This issue is impacting at least 25% of the customers in the area.

We've automatically raised the issue to our network teams who will investigate and fix the fault in the area.

 

Best,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
160 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Legend! 

At least I know there's a reason for it! - There was nothing on the Service status pages or the 0800 561 0061 number!

I appreciate the update!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 9.19K
  • 494
  • 831
Forum Team
Forum Team
154 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Haha thanks for coming back to me 🙂

 

I've raised it as a work order on the account so the network team know you're impacted by it, so hopefully resolved soon. 

 

Give me a shout if you need further help

 

Best,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
140 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Brilliant! - Cheers John!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
92 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upstream Channel at 16 QAM - Packet loss

Just wanted to add to this:

Got a text this morning saying that the fault had been fixed which is evidenced by the BQM looking healthy and the QAM being 64 across the board for upstream!

Many thanks John for your help with this!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply