Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
206 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

Got that friendly call from virgin media ... "Not a sales cal... blah blah ... we will send you a brand new Hub 4... No extra cost ... blah blah"

Sure I said .... How wrong I was

For years I had the Hub 3. Not a single problem with speed. Just worked. Running in Modem mode and blissful years of internet access.

Installed the Hub 4 .... Running in modem mode, just like previously, and now have endless speed issues. On 100M and barely getting 10-15 at most times. Browsing is laggy. Just horrendous. 

Resetting the Hub 4 does nothing most of the time. Anyone else got the same issue ? Trying to get through to their customer support .... 56 minutes so far and just waiting....

 

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-


My Broadband Ping - My VirginMedia Home Connection
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.36K
  • 888
  • 1.45K
Alessandro Volta
203 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

What speeds do you get at >> speedtest.net << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
200 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

As I write this

37ms ping 

8.39 Down

8.32 Up

https://www.speedtest.net/result/10410323623

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-


My Broadband Ping - My VirginMedia Home Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.36K
  • 888
  • 1.45K
Alessandro Volta
193 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Disable any VPNs that you have running.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.36K
  • 888
  • 1.45K
Alessandro Volta
192 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.42K
  • 268
  • 464
Superfast
190 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

Do you have something like the below connected between the HUB and the cable to the wall socket?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
182 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

This is the only thing on the cable. Was behind the wall box where the line comes into the house

IMG_0774-3.jpg

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-


My Broadband Ping - My VirginMedia Home Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.42K
  • 268
  • 464
Superfast
179 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible


@liquidkool wrote:

This is the only thing on the cable. Was behind the wall box where the line comes into the house

IMG_0774-3.jpg


Ok, don't alter that!

Some devices that I pictured can cause problems with the HUB 4.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
167 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

Status:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream

Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.0
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
30
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
0
0

 

 

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-


My Broadband Ping - My VirginMedia Home Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
165 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Hub 4 and now speed is terrible

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

254027500000.70000140.366287QAM25625
11387500003.40000240.946209QAM2561
21467500003.29999940.946209QAM2562
31547500003.00000040.946209QAM2563
41627500002.79999940.366287QAM2564
51707500002.40000240.366287QAM2565
61787500002.00000040.366287QAM2566
71867500001.70000140.366287QAM2567
81947500001.70000140.946209QAM2568
92027500001.50000040.366287QAM2569
102107500001.70000140.366287QAM25610
112187500001.40000240.946209QAM25611
122267500001.20000140.946209QAM25612
132347500000.70000140.366287QAM25613
142427500000.70000140.946209QAM25614
152507500000.90000240.366287QAM25615
162587500001.20000140.366287QAM25616
172667500000.79999940.366287QAM25617
182747500000.59999840.366287QAM25618
192827500000.90000240.946209QAM25619
202907500001.00000040.366287QAM25620
212987500001.40000240.366287QAM25621
223067500000.90000240.946209QAM25622
233147500000.50000040.366287QAM25623
24322750000-0.20000140.366287QAM25624
264107500000.79999940.946209QAM25626
274187500000.90000240.366287QAM25627
284267500000.79999940.366287QAM25628
294347500000.40000240.366287QAM25629
304427500000.09999840.366287QAM25630



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

25Locked229300
1Locked229300
2Locked229300
3Locked229310
4Locked229310
5Locked202530234570
6Locked94528022720
7Locked92378670630
8Locked104277242400
9Locked108113832900
10Locked310860271200
11Locked108964057200
12Locked107523326700
13Locked107240273900
14Locked108016392500
15Locked311979730500
16Locked84106081900
17Locked87438076300
18Locked86431264000
19Locked88481867600
20Locked85471948100
21Locked88431315800
22Locked88283806800
23Locked88285905300
24Locked128732951100
26Locked127038078800
27Locked127050692600
28Locked128558148000
29Locked130974850100
30Locked000

 

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-


My Broadband Ping - My VirginMedia Home Connection
0 Kudos
Reply