Menu
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
681 Views
Message 1 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Think I need a replacement Hub

My broadband is solid when it's working and wifi is fine throughout the house, but the connection keeps going down every day or two.  I've checked all physical connections, they're fine.  Usually the problem is fixed by restarting the hub, though sometimes I have to restart a few times to get it working again.  I've reset the hub to factory settings a couple of times too, but the issues persist.  I really think the hub might just have reached the end of its life.  How can I get it replaced?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
679 Views
Message 2 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click Post again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
670 Views
Message 3 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Hey Mike,

Thanks for your reply.  Yes, I always check service status first, but this keeps happening when the area is fine (and restarting hub fixes the problem immediately) so I do think it's an equipment issue.  I've checked all the physical connections inc coax into the house and into the router.

I'll set up the BQM and post results later today.

Thanks!

Nik

0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
663 Views
Message 4 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500002.538256 qam25
2218750000440256 qam11
32267500003.938256 qam12
42347500003.538256 qam13
52427500003.538256 qam14
62507500003.238256 qam15
7258750000338256 qam16
8266750000340256 qam17
92747500002.938256 qam18
102827500002.738256 qam19
112907500002.938256 qam20
122987500003.238256 qam21
133067500003.238256 qam22
143147500003.238256 qam23
153227500003.238256 qam24
164107500002.538256 qam26
174187500002.538256 qam27
184267500002.538256 qam28
194347500002.538256 qam29
204427500002.238256 qam30
21450750000238256 qam31
224587500001.738256 qam32
234667500001.238256 qam33
24474750000138256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.600
2Locked40.350
3Locked38.950
4Locked38.950
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.960
7Locked38.940
8Locked40.360
9Locked38.640
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.6110
12Locked38.960
13Locked38.940
14Locked38.950
15Locked38.6130
16Locked38.960
17Locked38.940
18Locked38.940
19Locked38.640
20Locked38.940
21Locked38.950
22Locked38.9170
23Locked38.640
24Locked38.970
0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
662 Views
Message 5 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

46199981

4.275

5120

64 qam

3

2

39400056

4.275

5120

64 qam

4

3

53700002

4.275

5120

64 qam

2

4

60299996

4.275

5120

64 qam

1




Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
661 Views
Message 6 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

27/07/2020 16:18:52

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:35

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/07/2020 20:56:23

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

23/07/2020 01:29:14

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

22/07/2020 17:16:53

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

22/07/2020 02:16:15

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2020 23:03:58

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2020 00:50:33

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2020 17:54:25

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/07/2020 23:20:22

notice

DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/07/2020 23:20:22

Error

DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

16/07/2020 09:33:24

Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/07/2020 19:53:51

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/07/2020 19:46:29

Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

12/07/2020 16:41:21

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/07/2020 14:30:17

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/07/2020 07:40:12

Error

DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

07/07/2020 21:48:8

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

07/07/2020 05:42:55

notice

DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

07/07/2020 05:42:55

Error

DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
658 Views
Message 7 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub


@nikbower wrote:

Hey Mike,

Thanks for your reply.  Yes, I always check service status first, but this keeps happening when the area is fine (and restarting hub fixes the problem immediately) so I do think it's an equipment issue.  I've checked all the physical connections inc coax into the house and into the router.

I'll set up the BQM and post results later today.

Thanks!

Nik


Rebooting the Hub will force a renegotiation of the connection, thus fixing the problem short term but hides an external problem.

The sooner the better with the BQM.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.5K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
655 Views
Message 8 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Stats all lookk ok. The BQM will reveal whether the issue is a network connection problem or just a wifi one.
Do ethernet connected devices also drop out at the same time as wifi ones do?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
644 Views
Message 9 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

Hmm, good question.  I only have one device on ethernet, which is a smart TV in the spare room, not sure I've checked that for the recent drop-outs.  I guess I can check that next time it happens - can I also plug a laptop into the ethernet after a drop-out to test whether the hard line's still working?

0 Kudos
Reply
nikbower
  • 67
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
580 Views
Message 10 of 55
Flag for a moderator

Re: Think I need a replacement Hub

0 Kudos
Reply