Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
171 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Terrible, intermittent connectivity

Since joining Virgin Media our Internet has had no end of issues. I believe it to be an issue with the Hub 3 - it is awful.

I had to purchase a good mesh system at a cost of well over £100 due to the hubs terrible signal reach but that isn't the main issue. It just keeps cutting out intermittently on a frequent enough basis to cause real problems.

When we were with sky the Internet was a bit slower, granted, but we were rarely without Internet and the signal reached throughout the house (even to our garage) without the need for any boosters. Since joining Virgin I've had to spend even more just to get the signal to reach the area we need it in and we still keep losing it! 

I'm seriously considering leaving Virgin and going back to Sky.

We've had an engineer out who checked all our levels and the street connections etc and they said everything was absolutely fine so they didn't understand what was wrong - which is why I am convinced it is the Hub and nothing else.

It is definitely not the mesh system before that is suggested as the hubs bad connection lights come on when we lose signal.

Seriously the hub 3 is terrible. It is causing no end of issues to our jobs (and thus our livelihood) as my wife and I work from home, and for entertainment for our kids, and ourselves.

Is there anything virgin can do to sort their awful connectivity out?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.74K
  • 915
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
167 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible, intermittent connectivity

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Disable any VPNs that you have running.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.64K
  • 1.42K
  • 3.14K
Alessandro Volta
166 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible, intermittent connectivity

Posting some logs is a good start.

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hubs admin pages.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
176 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Terrible connectivity

Since joining Virgin Media our Internet has had no end of issues. I believe it to be an issue with the Hub 3 - it is awful.

I had to purchase a good mesh system at a cost of well over £100 due to the hubs terrible signal reach but that isn't the main issue. It just keeps cutting out intermittently on a frequent enough basis to cause real problems.

When we were with sky the Internet was a bit slower, granted, but we were rarely without Internet and the signal reached throughout the house (even to our garage) without the need for any boosters. Since joining Virgin I've had to spend even more just to get the signal to reach the area we need it in and we still keep losing it! 

I'm seriously considering leaving Virgin and going back to Sky.

We've had an engineer out who checked all our levels and the street connections etc and they said everything was absolutely fine so they didn't understand what was wrong - which is why I am convinced it is the Hub and nothing else.

It is definitely not the mesh system before that is suggested as the hubs bad connection lights come on when we lose signal.

Seriously the hub 3 is terrible. It is causing no end of issues to our jobs (and thus our livelihood) as my wife and I work from home, and for entertainment for our kids, and ourselves.

Is there anything virgin can do to sort their awful connectivity out?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.74K
  • 915
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
170 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

Please stick to one thread.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
145 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

Funny you should say that as the connection cut out as I was trying to post, so it probably posted more than once.

Blame virgin, not me 😉

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.74K
  • 915
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
141 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Disable any VPNs that you have running.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
127 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

My BQM 

DownstreamChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12350000002.234256 qam13
21390000006.334256 qam1
31470000006.934256 qam2
4155000000634256 qam3
51630000005.535256 qam4
61710000006.535256 qam5
71790000006.335256 qam6
81870000006.535256 qam7
91950000005.635256 qam8
102030000005.435256 qam9
11211000000535256 qam10
122190000004.435256 qam11
132270000003.234256 qam12
14243000000233256 qam14
152510000003.534256 qam15
16259000000334256 qam16
172670000003.535256 qam17
182750000004.135256 qam18
19283000000436256 qam19
202910000005.136256 qam20
212990000004.536256 qam21
223070000004.536256 qam22
233150000005.437256 qam23
243230000004.837256 qam24
DownstreamChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked34.34590
2Locked34.417818
3Locked34.9620
4Locked34.9530
5Locked35220
6Locked35.5180
7Locked35.5130
8Locked35.570
9Locked35.790
10Locked35.740
11Locked35.790
12Locked35140
13Locked34.33490
14Locked33.87630
15Locked34.9140
16Locked34.9240
17Locked35.5110
18Locked35.760
19Locked36.310
20Locked36.620
21Locked36.370
22Locked36.600
23Locked37.300
24Locked37.300
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
126 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000039.8512064 qam7
26030000043.3512064 qam5
33940000039.8512064 qam8
45370000041.3512064 qam6


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
125 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible connectivity

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID2634242
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID2634241
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply