Menu
Reply
FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
272 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

I upgraded to the 1Gb broadband and the Hub 4.0... went well for a while, then it started dropping out, killing my vpn as well as giving truly terrible bandwidth.

The laptop is direct connected by Cat6 cable to the hub so the dropouts weren't due to WiFi, the WiFi however has become appallingly slow

Virgin engineers have been out, replaced all of the connectors,  replaced the Hub 4.0 and even moved me to a different port in the relay box outside ... still the same

Tried to fix the WiFi by trying to set to manual rather than dynamic but was still atrocious as can be seen below .. has anyone else seen this issue?

CYMERA_20210720_174156.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
249 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)
Give it a while to gather data and then click 'Share Live graph' and paste the 'Direct Link' into the forum!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Ashleigh_C
  • 1.03K
  • 45
  • 89
Forum Team
Forum Team
154 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Hi there @FreddieHatterz

 

Thank you so much for your first post to our community forums and welcome to the team! It's great to have you here! 

 

I am so sorry to hear you are facing this issue, especially after so much work already done to try and rectify this. Can I ask if you are able to follow the brilliant advice given by lotharmat at all? 

Ash_C
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
144 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Screenshot_20210720-210326_Outlook.jpg

Screenshot_20210720-210413_Outlook.jpg

Screenshot_20210720-210735_Outlook.jpg

Screenshot_20210720-210748_Outlook.jpg

 Did the initial snapshots of performance from the site, was going to leave one running for a while, last time I looked it seemed to be close to flatlining. It's so bad that my Sonos (the speakers within 6-12ft of the Hub 4.0) keep losing signal and skipping part way through songs)

0 Kudos
Reply
FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
134 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Will need to leave the monitor running for a while last few days are messed up as I've been trying configuration combinations as well as doing a couple of factory resets

0 Kudos
Reply
Ashleigh_C
  • 1.03K
  • 45
  • 89
Forum Team
Forum Team
128 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Thank you for updating us! 

 

I have had a look and I can see that there are a few issues showing with the stats on the Hub, for this reason I think it would be best if we arrange an engineer to come out and take a look for you. 

 

I will send you a PM now so we can arrange, please keep an eye out for the purple envelope in the top right corner of your screen alerting you to a new message.

 

Thank you. 

Ash_C
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
127 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

The check router status gives me this.

Screenshot_20210722-202807_Outlook.jpg

Screenshot_20210722-202723_Outlook.jpg

Got this when I ran a network test on 192.168.0.1

Screenshot_20210722-195623_Outlook.jpg

 looking at the meter I'd left running it looks like it flatlined with an amphetamine rush in the middle 

Screenshot_20210722-204027_Outlook.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
65 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

Can you post up the hub stats like this:

Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs as text as a reply - not quick reply. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
61 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

  • Status:

Cable Modem StatusItemStatusCommentsCable Modem Status

Online
DOCSIS 3.1

Primary downstream channel

Locked
SC-QAM

Channel OverviewDownstreamUpstreamDOCSIS 3.0 channels

31
4

DOCSIS 3.1 channels

1
0
0 Kudos
Reply
FreddieHatterz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
31 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible broadband bandwidth and signal dropouts

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

39400000

45.020599

5120 KSym/sec

64QAM

4

2

46200000

44.770599

5120 KSym/sec

64QAM

3

3

53700000

44.520599

5120 KSym/sec

64QAM

2

4

60300000

43.020599

5120 KSym/sec

64QAM

1




3.0 Upstream channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

US_TYPE_STDMA

0

0

0

0

2

US_TYPE_STDMA

0

0

0

0

3

US_TYPE_STDMA

0

0

0

0

4

US_TYPE_STDMA

0

0

0

0

 

General Configuration

Network access

true

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

true

DOCSIS Mode

3.1

Config file

cmreg-vmdg640-bbt076+voc-b.cm




Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

939290

Max Traffic Rate

1200000450

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0




Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

939289

Max Traffic Rate

55000270

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

42600

Scheduling Type

bestEffort

 

 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

Thu Jan 1 00:01:25 1970

4

Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jan 1 00:02:01 1970

3

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jul 22 11:47:35 2021

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jul 22 11:47:42 2021

5

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jul 22 11:48:04 2021

6

CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 41; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jan 1 00:01:21 1970

3

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Thu Jul 22 17:06:21 2021

5

MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

  
0 Kudos
Reply