Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
373 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

T3 time out & intermittence internet

Hi All,

Long story short to be honest was on 200 broadband and started having broadband lag (xbox & playstation) and disconecting while gaming online, then Netflix kept cutting out and finally on PC's /laptops.

contacted Virgin as had no internet for a few days and a replacement hub was sent out. After a few days same problem . We upgraded to the Gig1 as we thought it was becuase we are all online at the same time and bogging out the speed with in mind covid plenty of people are online however we are still having problems and the new hub 4 is showing T3 time out too now 😞

Any help would be nice as all i see is numbers and getted kinda fed up to be fair.

Network LogTime Priority Description
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:234Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu 01/01/1970 00:01:463No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Fri 05/06/2020 22:06:575MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Mon 08/06/2020 19:21:403No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue 09/06/2020 04:31:074DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.39K
  • 790
  • 1.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
367 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Its perfectly acceptable to have a few t3 timeouts.  The first two are not even timeouts as it was part of the boot sequence

I work for Virgin Media and my posts are my own opinions
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.56K
  • 597
  • 1.28K
Legend
364 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Need to know the following:

  1. Is your equipment connected using WiFi or is it cable connected, if you have cable connected devices do they give the same problem 
  2. Full network log, there should be many more entries
  3. Up/downstream stats.

Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
321 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Hi,

Sorry i didnt metion this is my 3rd router now . 1st two was hub 3's i have the ?status log for these but we now have a hub 4 on the gig1 network and still facing a few problems - above log was from the hub 4 that we had end of may.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
317 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

xbox and playstaion are network cable cat 8. and TV are on 5e cable we think or cat6 . 1 x Pc is hard wire and one is wireless 2.4. They all seem to have the same issue within 2-3 min of each other like a domino effect.

full network log - from Hub 4 -  I have the log only from the hub3 if needed i can add this too.

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1139000000-1.79999938.983261QAM2561
2147000000-2.50000038.605377QAM2562
3155000000-2.70000138.983261QAM2563
4163000000-2.70000138.983261QAM2564
5171000000-2.79999938.605377QAM2565
6179000000-2.70000138.983261QAM2566
7187000000-2.79999938.605377QAM2567
8195000000-2.70000138.983261QAM2568
9203000000-2.70000138.605377QAM2569
10211000000-2.70000138.983261QAM25610
11219000000-2.70000138.605377QAM25611
12227000000-2.79999938.605377QAM25612
13235000000-2.70000138.605377QAM25613
14243000000-2.90000238.605377QAM25614
15251000000-3.09999838.605377QAM25615
16259000000-3.00000038.605377QAM25616
17267000000-2.79999938.605377QAM25617
18275000000-2.70000138.983261QAM25618
19283000000-2.90000238.983261QAM25619
20291000000-3.09999838.983261QAM25620
21299000000-3.90000238.605377QAM25621
22307000000-4.09999838.983261QAM25622
23315000000-4.09999838.605377QAM25623
24323000000-3.70000138.983261QAM25624
25363000000-3.40000238.983261QAM25625
26371000000-3.40000238.605377QAM25626
27379000000-3.59999838.605377QAM25627
28387000000-3.70000138.605377QAM25628
29395000000-3.50000037.636276QAM25629
30403000000-3.40000238.983261QAM25630
31411000000-3.40000238.983261QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked000
2Locked11408689900
3Locked11410847600
4Locked11390214700
5Locked11395369600
6Locked11389347500
7Locked11419903200
8Locked8475385500
9Locked8495545800
10Locked8480063300
11Locked8492278000
12Locked8358306500
13Locked8405127900
14Locked8417429600
15Locked8383886200
16Locked8423551600
17Locked8495439900
18Locked8436895100
19Locked8483474500
20Locked8540649800
21Locked8524334200
22Locked8505609500
23Locked8537806500
24Locked11331441800
25Locked11277418500
26Locked11311951600
27Locked11262287800
28Locked11522471900
29Locked11520364800
30Locked11773374000
31Locked193919525300



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159964K1880QAM4096759


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked -2.51140687210

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
316 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000038.0205995120 KSym/sec8QAM12
23260000037.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM13
34620000038.0205995120 KSym/sec8QAM11
45370000038.5205995120 KSym/sec8QAM10



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0070
2US_TYPE_STDMA0070
3US_TYPE_STDMA0070
4US_TYPE_STDMA0070
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.57K
  • 578
  • 1.41K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
241 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Can't comment on the stats from your Hub 4 as I've never seen one, but if you were sold an "upgrade" after being led to believe (by VM staff) that intermittent connection problems were due to people working from home, then you've been royally "had" unless it is at the same price as your previous connection.  If you assumed and hoped that a faster connection would help, there's nothing you can do, but if VM staff misled you to believe that buying a more expensive product would help then you have a watertight case for demanding that VM reinstate your previous contract, because patently the intermittency hasn't been materially changed (and I wouldn't expect it to be).

If it is misleading sales tactics, then unless the forum staff grab this and get it sorted, you will need to take it down the formal complaint route, which is tediously slow, but very likely to be successful, although you may need to escalate to the industry arbitration scheme to get the right outcome.   I'm happy to offer advice on how to approach that, PM me if you don't know where to start.  Or, if you'd prefer, stick with Gig1 and work on getting VM to sort the reliability. 

Note that if you want to dispute the sale, you should do that in the first six weeks or so - your case would be significantly weakened if you left it several months.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
205 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Thank you Andruser,

it was ourselves that thought that the upgrade in speed would solve the problem so our fault there. We definitely notice the speed increase it’s just the lag and the disconnecting . Did a test and had some 1% packets loss last night

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.75K
  • 1.65K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
201 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

Have you got a BQM - if so post up the link.

If not, Set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and also record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
147 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: T3 time out & intermittence internet

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d7544c400cb0f13fb26d334929f8b909acf87e3f-18-06-2020

Hi,

Unsure how to get the graph to show so here is a link??? 

0 Kudos
Reply