Menu
Reply
djr_uk
  • 97
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
367 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 3 problems

Hi all,

I'm not having any issue with my internet really and my speed is superfast so i've got nothing to complain except....my superhub 3 is just randomly dying at times. I'm working from home and everything is super fast and working perfectly and then suddenly....the internet is dead.

Now usually i'd look down at my superhub 3 and it'd be blinking at me angrily so i know something would be up. Even if that was annoying at least i knew something was up in the area (checking the service status etc) and i'd patiently wait and then it'd resolve itself.

But now when the internet stops working the superhub 3 doesnt even change. The light remains the same. My phone just switches off from the wifi. My work surface pro just says "the wifi doesnt have any internet"...

I then have to switch my superhub off and wait about 40 seconds before switching it back on as anything less doesnt do anything. Once i've rebooted it then everything is fine! super fast internet. Everything back to normal.

Its just really odd. I've checked all the wires are tightly connected it just seems to randomly die until a reboot and i've had the superhub for 5 odd years and never encountered it before. I havent moved the superhub or anything like that. Everything is EXACTLY as it was before the problems started.

I've tried to go through the virgin media fault detector and it just keeps telling to push in wires etc and then say "has it fixed the problem" i click no as it hasnt and then just keeps telling me the same stuff. Only rebooting it completely fixes the superhub.

Any ideas? This has happened about 10 times in the last week

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
sophist
  • 2.53K
  • 417
  • 673
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
337 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

You need to check if the problem exists when connected to the hub via an ethernet cable. Appreciate that this may be inconvenient but it will help rule out a wider connection problem.

If the lights indicate that the hub is operating normally then it could just be an issue with the wireless.. if you spend a few minutes browsing this forum you’ll quite quickly realise that you’re not alone. 

assuming that everything is good when connected via ethernet then the general recommendation from the regulars here will be to put your hub in modem mode and buy your own decent router or mesh system to sort the wireless out - you’re looking at a ~£100ish spend for entry level but it will almost certainly cure any frustration you have with the hub 😉

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
327 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Could be an upstream problem.  Let the hub run for eight-twelve hours without rebooting it yourself (any light show on the front can be ignored), and then connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  (or by typing that in if the link doesn't work).  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
djr_uk
  • 97
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
212 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 387000000 0.5 40 256 qam 28
2 203000000 4.9 40 256 qam 9
3 211000000 4.4 40 256 qam 10
4 219000000 4.1 40 256 qam 11
5 227000000 4 40 256 qam 12
6 235000000 3.7 40 256 qam 13
7 243000000 3.4 40 256 qam 14
8 251000000 3 40 256 qam 15
9 259000000 3 40 256 qam 16
10 267000000 2.7 40 256 qam 17
11 275000000 2.5 40 256 qam 18
12 283000000 2.4 40 256 qam 19
13 291000000 2.2 40 256 qam 20
14 299000000 2.4 40 256 qam 21
15 307000000 2 40 256 qam 22
16 315000000 1.7 40 256 qam 23
17 323000000 1.9 40 256 qam 24
18 363000000 1 40 256 qam 25
19 371000000 1 40 256 qam 26
20 379000000 0.9 40 256 qam 27
21 395000000 0.2 38 256 qam 29
22 403000000 0 38 256 qam 30
23 411000000 0 38 256 qam 31
24 419000000 -0.2 38 256 qam 32

 

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 87 0
2 Locked 40.3 159 0
3 Locked 40.3 142 0
4 Locked 40.9 107 0
5 Locked 40.3 87 0
6 Locked 40.3 119 0
7 Locked 40.3 139 0
8 Locked 40.9 175 0
9 Locked 40.3 146 0
10 Locked 40.3 151 0
11 Locked 40.3 189 0
12 Locked 40.3 136 0
13 Locked 40.3 101 0
14 Locked 40.9 84 0
15 Locked 40.3 150 38
16 Locked 40.9 190 0
17 Locked 40.3 183 0
18 Locked 40.3 96 0
19 Locked 40.3 90 0
20 Locked 40.3 113 14
21 Locked 38.9 121 0
22 Locked 38.9 121 0
23 Locked 38.9 133 0
24 Locked 38.9 146 0


Upstream

Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 47.8 5120 64 qam 4
2 32600000 47.8 5120 64 qam 5
3 46200000 49.3 5120 64 qam 3
4 53700000 49.3 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 70 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 15 2
4 ATDMA 0 0 17 1


Network

Refresh data
Network Log
Time Priority Description
22/06/2021 00:21:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/06/2021 14:18:31 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/06/2021 14:18:31 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/06/2021 00:58:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:20:32 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:20:2 Warning! TCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:20:2 Warning! Initializing Channel Timeout Expires - Time the CM can perform initial ranging on all upstream channels in the TCS has expired;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:19:54 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:19:50 critical 16 consecutive T3 timeouts while trying to range on upstream channel 2;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:19:50 critical Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:06:46 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:06:45 Warning! B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:33 Warning! B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:04:11 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:04:9 Warning! B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:49 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:48 Warning! B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:09:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2021 14:09:32 critical Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


Thanks pal!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 461
Trouble shooter
202 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Power levels look ok! - But the log and the T3 and T4 timeouts will be a problem!

VM Staff need to take a look and probably book an engineer!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
195 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Superhub 3 problems

You've certainly got a poor broadband connection, and I've flagged that for staff to advise and probably book you a technician.  The network log is grim, there's too many upstream timeouts, and the downstream power level has too wide a range.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.05K
  • 33
  • 67
Forum Team
Forum Team
182 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Hi @djr_uk,

 

Welcome back to our Community Forum! Thank you for your post, and I'm sorry to understand that you have an ongoing issue with your Hub!

 

Thank you for running through the self-help we offer on our website.

 

I was able to locate your account and run some further tests. At this current moment, your live upstream and downstream power levels are all in spec and there are no issues showing on the system.

 

Can you tell us if you have tried to Factory Reset your Hub? 

 

How has your connection been since you last posted, as I can see that the Hub has not been rebooted in several days. Are you still experiencing drop outs?

 

Please keep us updated on this so we can send an engineer if needed.

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.05K
  • 33
  • 67
Forum Team
Forum Team
167 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Hi @djr_uk,

 

Apologies for getting back to you so soon. I have taken another look at your connection and power levels. I can see that they have changed quite a bit since my response. 

 

In order to have this looked into further, I will need to have a technician appointment booked for you. To do this, I will need to confirm a few details with you over Private Message.

 

Please keep an eye out on a purple envelope at the top of your Forum page. I will be in touch soon. 

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
djr_uk
  • 97
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
136 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Many thanks for all the replies here. The stuff I posted is double dutch to me so i really, really appreciate the responses and information provided by everyone here. 

I've replied to the PM Paulina many thanks

Just for further information the internet dropped again today. It was very random again and the superhub showcased no fault

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.05K
  • 33
  • 67
Forum Team
Forum Team
113 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 problems

Hi @djr_uk,

 

Thank you for confirming your details with me over Private Message.

 

I was able to book your appointment for the first available time slot. You can manage your appointment on your online account.

 

Please keep us updated on your visit and let us know how it goes! We're more than happy to look into this issue further if needed.

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply