Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
111 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Hi,

I've recently moved house and brought my Virgin Media broadband and TV services with me as I've had nothing but a positive experience at my previous house. However, I'm noticing latency issues and speed drops. After reading these forums, I've set up BQM:

My BQM

My Broadband Ping - Home

My Broadband Ping - Home

My Broadband Ping - Home

Any idea what's going on? Could it be over utilisation?

Virgin Media - can you help me?

Many thanks,

Gez

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.83K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
104 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Can you post a 'Live Link' to your BQM please ...

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
Highlighted
  • 11.83K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
96 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
Highlighted
  • 4.4K
  • 744
  • 1.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
92 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Ignore all that....

The BQM indeed shows a typical over-utilisation pattern - you see how it's very poor during normal waking hours, and then adequate from about half past midnight to 9 am? Shows that the network and your hub are working adequately when there isn't too much traffic. It is also apparent from spiking through the small hours that your connection is "noisy", which can be fixed, but won't improve daytime or evening latency.

Nothing you can do to improve matters. In some areas VM do indeed undertake work to rejig the local networks to balance loads and eliminate over-utilisation. But sometimes that's either not possible, or judged uneconomic if there's a need to spend money on more equipment. And sadly VM won't ever admit the truth, so there will be a fault reference and a "fix date", but there's no way of knowing if that fix date is actually backed by an actual plan of action and programme of works. Quite often it seem not, and as the fix date approaches it is simply moved a month or two ahead.

There is a little glimmer of hope, that as and when your area is upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1, and sufficient customers are using the Hub 4, then that ought to improve matters, but this could be many months, even a year or two hence. Simply having a Hub 4 on its own won't improve matters, and although VM aren't saying so, I suspect that even after D3.1 is active, a significant proportion of customers on an over-utilised segment would have to be using the Hub 4 before the benefits start to appear.

Your options:

1) Sit it out, and hope that either VM do carry out improvement works, or that they get D3.1 live and hand out Hub 4's like smarties, and that this tactic actually does work. There's a worrying number of posts cropping up from Hub 4 users who are less than impressed with the device, but you can be sure that given the right conditions the Hub 4 can work. If you're already in a D3.1 area, then (in theory) it is simply waiting for the Hub 4's to be installed and their collective benefit to hopefully materialise.

2) Get yourself a new ISP. If you're in a fixed term contract you'll probably have to use the VM complaints process (and arbitration at CISAS if need be) to try and be released from contract without penalty.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
84 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Thank you both for your quick responses, I really appreciate it. I've updated my first post with the "Live" link.

I'll try posting the Router Status info below as it was too large for the first post.

I was afraid that over-utilisation might be the issue - it's quite frustrating as when looking for our new house we specifically looked for somewhere that was in a Virgin Media cabled area so that we could get a decent speed/connection.

How would I go about solving the noise issue?

Currently in my account there are "no issues" on the broadband - presumably this means VM are not aware of the over-utilisation in my area?

Many thanks,

Gez

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
83 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13227500000.538256 qam24
21387500000.937256 qam1
31467500000.737256 qam2
41547500000.537256 qam3
51627500000.237256 qam4
6170750000037256 qam5
7178750000037256 qam6
8186750000037256 qam7
9194750000-0.537256 qam8
10202750000-0.937256 qam9
11210750000-1.237256 qam10
12218750000-1.737256 qam11
13226750000-237256 qam12
14234750000-2.537256 qam13
15242750000-2.937256 qam14
16250750000-2.737256 qam15
17258750000-2.237256 qam16
18266750000-2.237256 qam17
19274750000-2.537256 qam18
20282750000-1.537256 qam19
21290750000-0.737256 qam20
22298750000037256 qam21
233067500000.238256 qam22
243147500000.438256 qam23

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
82 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6150
2Locked37.3530
3Locked37.3260
4Locked37.6380
5Locked37.3490
6Locked37.3160
7Locked37.6210
8Locked37.3180
9Locked37.3200
10Locked37.6200
11Locked37.3220
12Locked37.6160
13Locked37.6160
14Locked37.6270
15Locked37.6360
16Locked37.3240
17Locked37.3250
18Locked37.6160
19Locked37.3270
20Locked37.6180
21Locked37.6160
22Locked37.6160
23Locked38.6260
24Locked38.6270

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
81 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000045.5512064 qam4
24620000047512064 qam3
35370000047512064 qam2
46030000047.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0020

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
yewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv9



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID16415
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID16416
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
80 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Network Log

Time Priority Description

17/11/2020 10:49:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 06:43:25noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 06:43:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 14:22:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:15:7criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:56Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:52criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:52criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:11:47criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 16:09:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:54:1noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:36:42criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:34:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:34:42criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:34:0Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:33:56criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:33:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 15:33:55criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.4K
  • 744
  • 1.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
61 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 latency and packet loss - moved house

Unfortunately there's not much you can do (other than as my earlier comments about requesting to leave without penalty, and invoking the complaints process if they refuse). 

Regarding the noise issue, whilst I believe can see it on the BQM, there's nothing out of spec with the SNR, power levels and modulation when you took the status data. If you look at a decent cable BQM like mine on the day shown below, look in particular at the period 12:30am to 8:00am.  Because there shouldn't be any network congestion at that time around you, that's what yours should look like even if there's over-utilisation during the day.

My Broadband Ping - VM number 2

Your network log is full of far too many critical errors, that might be enough to persuade the forum staff to request a technician when they get round to this post in the next few days.  But unfortunately a technician visit won't address the over-utilisation related packet loss and latency, and nor will it actually reduce the errors, because the timing of those indicates that they are caused by over-utilisation time outs and packet loss, not by noise.

In your shoes I'd be asking to leave and escalating if VM refuse, rather than worrying about the presumed noise issue, but then I don't know what your other ISP options are.  VM should never have accepted more customers onto a segment performing this badly, but since Rip Van Ofcom are fast asleep, there's no negative regulatory consequences from this corporate behaviour.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks