Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 3 drops Ethernet connection

I've been fighting with this problem for a few months now and am running out of options to try, so could use some advice and assistance.

I have a Superhub 3 which is connected to an HP 1810-24G 24 port switch. Every two to three days, the link between the hub and the switch just stops working, devices I have connected to the switch can no longer access the internet.

If I reboot the hub, everything starts working again. Alternatively, if I disconnect the cable between the hub and the switch then reconnect it, everything starts working again.

I've been checking the router status, there is no link between any of the events there and the timing of the network drops.

I've also been checking the log on the HP switch but little joy there. I am concerned that there often seems to be an LLDP delete that happens shortly before the link goes quiet but that is not always the case.

I've recently installed Wireshark and been capturing data off the Ethernet line however with the low frequency of the event and the massive amount of Ethernet and TCP/IP traffic, I'm at a bit of a loss to go any further than simply look at the traffic. To my uneducated eyes, it seems reasonable. There arent any silences or large numbers of malformed packets appearing, it all appears sensible and logical.

Regarding the Superhub, I have about 20 devices connected by wi-fi. Three of the four Ethernet ports are connected, to my switch, to an home automation hub and to the Virginmedia kit.