Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 41
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
293 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

Hi,

Around October 2019 my old Superhub died and I was sent a Superhub 3. When I installed it I was getting an issue where the router would seemingly reboot itself several times a day. An engineer came out and commented on my network cable which at the time was a really poor quality CAT 5 cable. He told me that the cable was shorting out the router and that I would need a better one so, I replaced it with a CAT 7 patch cable.

This definitely improved the issue, but rather than the internet going off several times a day it was once a day, or once every other day at around 0200 or 0300 in the morning. The problem was so infrequent I just put it down to maybe VM doing work at those times and didn't think that there maybe a fault with my router/network. Anyway, the issue has just occurred again and it prompted me see if I can find answers.

This issue always manifests in the same way. The internet will go off, I check the router, the light is changing colour, the light turns solid red, the internet is back on. I run the Superhub in modem mode.

I'm not sure what data you need from the Superhub but I'll paste the network log below.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Paul

08/08/2020 10:24:22noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/08/2020 10:23:53Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/08/2020 10:11:48Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/08/2020 04:59:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/08/2020 06:11:30Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/08/2020 20:21:28ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/08/2020 08:47:39ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/08/2020 02:48:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 21:13:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/08/2020 03:04:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/08/2020 08:23:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 21:05:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 18:02:22Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/07/2020 22:48:25ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/07/2020 15:14:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 23:46:31ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/07/2020 23:23:41ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 05:56:19criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 05:53:16Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 05:53:11Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Downstream

1322750000238256 qam24
22027500001.240256 qam9
32107500001.238256 qam10
42187500001.538256 qam11
52267500001.538256 qam12
62347500001.738256 qam13
72427500001.538256 qam14
82507500001.538256 qam15
92587500001.538256 qam16
102667500001.738256 qam17
112747500001.738256 qam18
122827500001.940256 qam19
13290750000238256 qam20
142987500002.238256 qam21
153067500002.240256 qam22
16314750000238256 qam23
174027500001.738256 qam25
184107500001.738256 qam26
19418750000238256 qam27
204267500002.238256 qam28
214347500002.238256 qam29
224427500002.238256 qam30
234507500002.238256 qam31
24458750000238256 qam32

 

Upstream

1537000004.5512064 qam4
2326000004.475512064 qam3
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.84K
  • 1.17K
  • 3.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
282 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

post the rest of the stats from the hub

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.2K
  • 163
  • 290
Dialled in
279 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

Could you post the data from the 'Downstream' and 'Upstream' tabs?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.49K
  • 484
  • 856
Hero
278 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

 

Then

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream and Upstream tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.27K
  • 591
  • 1.37K
Alessandro Volta
258 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

What model router do you have (not the hub) or do you have a PC connected to the hub in modem mode?

setup a BQM
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

do a over night test in modem mode with just a PC and new BQM to see how stable it is like that.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 41
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
249 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

Thanks for your replies so far. I have added both upstream and downstream data to the OP.

I already have a BQM set up I think. I'll have a look in a bit and add that to the OP.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.2K
  • 163
  • 290
Dialled in
246 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself


@PDG75 wrote:

Thanks for your replies so far. I have added both upstream and downstream data to the OP.

I already have a BQM set up I think. I'll have a look in a bit and add that to the OP.


Only two upstream channels? There should be four.

And the second table in the 'Downstream' tab?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 41
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
238 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

I can't edit my original post now so this is going to look rough. My bad. 😞

Link to live BQM graph below. I had used BQM previously but I deactivated it when a previous issue I had was resolved. I have just enabled it again and I hope it still works. I'll give it a few hours to populate with data and if it's not right I'll look into it.

www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/ffc7fa3aee2f05674ef03f046de34f5420649669

Downstream

1322750000238256 qam24
22027500001.240256 qam9
32107500001.238256 qam10
42187500001.538256 qam11
52267500001.538256 qam12
62347500001.738256 qam13
72427500001.738256 qam14
82507500001.538256 qam15
92587500001.538256 qam16
102667500001.738256 qam17
112747500001.738256 qam18
12282750000240256 qam19
13290750000238256 qam20
142987500002.238256 qam21
153067500002.240256 qam22
163147500002.238256 qam23
174027500001.538256 qam25
184107500001.738256 qam26
19418750000238256 qam27
204267500002.238256 qam28
214347500002.238256 qam29
224427500002.238256 qam30
234507500002.238256 qam31
24458750000238256 qam32

 

1Locked38.900
2Locked40.360
3Locked38.950
4Locked38.950
5Locked38.650
6Locked38.950
7Locked38.950
8Locked38.960
9Locked38.960
10Locked38.940
11Locked38.650
12Locked40.950
13Locked38.940
14Locked38.960
15Locked40.370
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.9150
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.960
20Locked38.940
21Locked38.9130
22Locked38.9120
23Locked38.9110
24Locked38.980

 

Upstream

1537000004.425512064 qam4
2326000004.4512064 qam3

 

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.2K
  • 163
  • 290
Dialled in
226 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

The stats look good, other than two missing upstream channels.

So far your BQM is fully red so I'm unsure if it's going to show anything?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 41
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
225 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 3 Ocassionally Rebootiing Itself

BQM is coming up all red. I've done a factory reset of my router since the last time I used the BQM and I can't remember what I did to fix it. This will take a little while.

edit: BQM should be fixed... hopefully.

0 Kudos
Reply