Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
201 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

Hi All,

I have an issue which seems to be repeated several times across the forum, unfortunately these things get taken off-line once identified and we never see an outcome.

Basically my Superhub 3 (in modem mode) keeps dropping out, taking everything with it.

Earlier today it happened 3 times in 10 mins.

Its been going on for a week and a half. A Tech came out last Wednesday and although a nice enough chap he didn't fill me with much confidence. I told him id setup a broadband quality monitor via Think broadband and the figures looked bad with an entire red background denoting 100% packet loss - His response was that the BQM was not applicable for Virgin Media 🤣. Instantly lost a bit of credibility.

He looked at the SH and all the connections and was satisfied - He removed the attenuator from the SH and said "you 100% don't need that!" - He looked outside and declared that the splitter in the brown box had corroded (it looked fine) and it should have been changed long ago... So he did.

He came back in and showed me a handheld full of green bars and exclaimed that the issue was now sorted but he'd go and check at the green box in the street (sounds like flannel). My broadband speed had been OK, when it worked, prior to that... After that it was really sluggish struggling to get into the 30's (on a 100Mb connection). Its dropping all the time it's so frustrating!

 

The network log is full of Warnings and Criticals (see below)

I can't get hold of Virgin - despite an initial exchange on twitter the whole thing has now gone cold... I'm so close to walking away. I've been a customer since the Telewest days.

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

331000000

5

38

256 qam

25

2

203000000

8

38

256 qam

9

3

211000000

7.8

38

256 qam

10

4

219000000

7.6

38

256 qam

11

5

227000000

7.3

38

256 qam

12

6

235000000

7.1

38

256 qam

13

7

243000000

7

38

256 qam

14

8

251000000

6.3

38

256 qam

15

9

259000000

6.5

38

256 qam

16

10

267000000

5.9

37

256 qam

17

11

275000000

6

38

256 qam

18

12

283000000

6

38

256 qam

19

13

291000000

5.8

37

256 qam

20

14

299000000

6

38

256 qam

21

15

307000000

5.6

37

256 qam

22

16

315000000

5.5

37

256 qam

23

17

323000000

5.4

38

256 qam

24

18

339000000

5

37

256 qam

26

19

347000000

4.9

37

256 qam

27

20

355000000

4.8

38

256 qam

28

21

363000000

5.5

38

256 qam

29

22

371000000

4.9

38

256 qam

30

23

379000000

5

37

256 qam

31

24

387000000

4.3

38

256 qam

32

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

38.6

0

0

2

Locked

38.9

21

0

3

Locked

38.6

0

0

4

Locked

38.6

5

0

5

Locked

38.9

0

0

6

Locked

38.9

4

0

7

Locked

38.9

5

0

8

Locked

38.9

0

0

9

Locked

38.6

5

0

10

Locked

37.6

0

0

11

Locked

38.6

5

0

12

Locked

38.6

5

0

13

Locked

37.6

0

0

14

Locked

38.6

0

0

15

Locked

37.6

6

0

16

Locked

37.6

5

0

17

Locked

38.6

4

0

18

Locked

37.6

4

0

19

Locked

37.6

0

0

20

Locked

38.9

0

0

21

Locked

38.6

0

0

22

Locked

38.6

1

0

23

Locked

37.6

7

0

24

Locked

38.6

0

0

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

39400002

4.575

5120

64 qam

2

2

25800019

4.375

5120

64 qam

4

3

32599974

4.575

5120

64 qam

3

4

46199957

4.575

5120

64 qam

1



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

617

Max Traffic Rate

10500047

Max Traffic Burst

16320

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

16320

Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

 

 

 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

12/09/2020 15:42:10

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 19:59:42

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:03:47

critical

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-*CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:01:4

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:01:0

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:01:0

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:01:0

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:00:57

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 08:00:36

critical

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:59:57

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:59:52

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:59:52

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:59:52

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:59:48

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:54:14

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:54:10

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:54:10

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

09/09/2020 07:54:10

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/09/2020 21:05:37

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/09/2020 21:05:36

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-*-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.7K
  • 502
  • 874
Legend
184 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

Your Hub stats look OK to me but the Network Log will need someone else to interpret.

Can you post a 'Live Link' to your BQM please ...

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.68K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
183 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

Do you still have the attenuator? Might be worth putting it back in and looking at the stats again as the down power levels, although still in spec, are towards the top of the spec (no lower than -6dBmV and no higher than 10dBmV - Close to 0 is optimal)

As Mike has said - seeing the (working) BQM would be useful for us and VM!

A wall of red can be caused by a few things. Firstly check that you current i.p.address (when you google for it) is the same as the one you have in the BQM settings. It can change - mine did it last week for the first time in years - or switching from modem to router mode will change it.
Also make sure the Hub is set to accept pings -- Advanced Settings > Advanced > Ping > Respond to ICMP echo requests sent to WAN IP (tick that box). Also there may be something similar in the Router settings.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
118 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

No, the Tech took it with him.

I looked at the BQM and it had absolutely minimal detail on there, we're talking a couple of tiny green spikes, perhaps 3 in a 24 hour hour period and the rest was a sheet of red.

 

I deleted it and reset it up as i thought there may have been some issue in the way I initiated it, however the first bit of monitoring data is back in and it looks exactly the same.

 

The IP address was correct.

I changed the SH back into Router mode as there were no 'Ping' options in Modem mode.

Nor are there any options as you describe in router mode. This is what I've got!

 

Screenshot 2020-09-14 122111.jpg

 

Out of curiosity I put my Own IP address in the PING box and this was the result. Which also bears out what the BQM is telling me

 

PING **.**.**.** (**.**.**.**): 64 data bytes
--- **.**.**.** ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
111 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

Also just noticed on Think Broadband site that the BQM doesnt work with Dynamic IPs

Can you monitor my connection if I have a dynamic IP?
We can only monitor your line if you have a static IP address as we are not able to track changes to your IP address at the moment. We will look at adding this functionality in a future version.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.7K
  • 502
  • 874
Legend
107 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

You have a 'sticky' IP address that is normally good for a few months.

Try the BQM again.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.68K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
101 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

My i.p. address changed a week or so ago for the first time in years and the BQM went red. I googled for my new i.p. address and altered the entry in the BQM settings and all is fine now. Note going to modem mode changes the i.p. too - going back to normal router mode changes it again but 99% of the time back to the one you had previously (if change in a short time-frame). So worth checking that.

Also worth checking whether your Hub (or router if you are using your own) has unticked the "allow pings" box - Navigate to routers web interface then in Advanced Settings > Advanced > Ping > tick the "Respond to ICMP echo requests sent to WAN IP" box.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
95 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

Just had a hunt online as I couldn't find this feature anywhere.

 

I'm using Deco M4 Mesh system.... It doesn't have this as an option, according to what I've read.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
82 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: SuperHub 3 resetting constantly - Tech visit made things worse.

2c935ad4e0be1bcdca7c782914a3c3ceb25957b5.png

 

 

This is pretty typical of what i was getting (albeit a very small sample)

0 Kudos
Reply