Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Jonnwhite
Joining in
469 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi All, 

Long story short, been with Virgin 18 months, starting having issues just before the 1 year mark, got a very good deal so thought i'd live with it/bug virgin to fix issues. 

Was i wrong! I'm on 350mb and at one point had 0.50mb download speed, WiFi drops at 6FT away, total network loss however white light on the front of the box.  i am getting erratic speeds varying from 80mbps to a little over 400mbps. I know the common questions, WiFi or Ethernet answer is both, Is the Ethernet direct to the router and GB yes to both using a high quality Cat6 cable, speed varying at different times of the day? Yes, however better at peak times i know speeds aren't guaranteed by 0.5mbps? My area was only connected when i joined 18 months ago so i'd like to think my area can handle me trying to watch netflix.  

I am a network engineer and it is infuriating to see such awful customer service. I shall lay out below what has been done to rectify my issues:

  • New ONU outside the wrong one was install apparently
  • 4 Way splitter removed as i am the only one on my block (Flat) with Virgin
  • Currently on my 3rd router
  • Issues with the TV signals so had a booster added
  • Supposed to have a house re-wire however didn't happen as the engineer removed the 4 way splitter that was not needed

Each time calling the Helpdesk getting told to reset my router, I've done it so many times that I've lost count, however the last count was 35 times, 35 TIMES!!!

A Helpdesk person "Adjusted" my WiFi settings to fix the issues, even thought the issue was apparent on the Ethernet too, the funniest thing about this was that my Hub 3 was in Modem mode so not even using the in built WiFi! However the tech insisted he change these settings. 

All these things adding up does not fill me with any confidence, i'm personally a network engineer, if i could it'd rip out your Hub 3 router and put my own High performance router however the only option i have is modem mode which makes things only slightly better. 

This issue has been going on for far too long, it needs to be resolved by a competent engineer. If it mean fibre being re blown from the exchange to my house, the cable coming from the ONU inside my house and all cabling in my house to be replaced do it! The thing that really gets to me is, when i call the helpdesk to report issues the last thing i got was, well you have managed to download 600GB this month so you quite clearly are getting a service. Yes that's because throughout the day/night i have to download anything want to watch on Netflix/iplayer/on demand services as i cannot stream them live/from Netflix!

Asking for money back and getting £15 for 6-8 weeks issues is abysmal and insulting, i understand this is long but i've had enough and want someone to fix my issue.

Bellow are current logs from last reboot. Rebooting restores service for a few hours however it slowly gets worse again. Helpdesk also ask me to reboot at the start of the call and then i get the see how you get on for the next few days not listening to me when i say the above. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Jonnwhite
Joining in
466 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
298750000
Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

39400084
Locked
Provisioning State

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-337256 qam17
2170750000-3.537256 qam1
3178750000-3.437256 qam2
4186750000-3.237256 qam3
5194750000-3.437256 qam4
6202750000-3.537256 qam5
7210750000-3.437256 qam6
8218750000-3.437256 qam7
9226750000-3.437256 qam8
10234750000-3.237256 qam9
11242750000-3.437256 qam10
12250750000-3.437256 qam11
13258750000-3.237256 qam12
14266750000-337256 qam13
15274750000-3.237256 qam14
16282750000-3.237256 qam15
17290750000-337256 qam16
18306750000-2.737256 qam18
19314750000-337256 qam19
20322750000-337256 qam20


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.3610
2Locked37.3320
3Locked37.3370
4Locked37.6980
5Locked37.6680
6Locked37.6440
7Locked37.3340
8Locked37.3520
9Locked37.3460
10Locked37.6380
11Locked37.3920
12Locked37.3480
13Locked37.6420
14Locked37.6850
15Locked37.6550
16Locked37.6330
17Locked37.6740
18Locked37.6480
19Locked37.6760
20Locked37.6530

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000843.075512064 qam8
2461999223.075512064 qam7

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA000

0

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID20264
Max Traffic Rate402500000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID20263
Max Traffic Rate22010000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 59
  • 193
Forum Team
Forum Team
430 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi Jonnwhite,

 

Welcome to the forums and thank you for your post. I'm sorry to hear that you've been experiencing broadband issues and have had difficulties in trying to resolve this.

 

Looking at your logs, I can't see anything glaringly wrong with your equipment so would be more than happy to take a look from our end.

 

Of course, we'd need to clear account security to do this and we'd never ask for sensitive information via an open platform. I'll send you a private message to gather the relevant details, please head to the purple envelope in the top right corner to respond.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 59
  • 193
Forum Team
Forum Team
386 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi Jon,

 

I've come in this morning to an email advising that you were visited by an engineer last night who's sorted everything for you. He's explained some of the steps that he's taken and agreed plans moving forwards. It all seems great to me, but I just wanted to check in with you to ensure that you're satisfied with how things are proceeding.

 

Let me know if you have any concerns or if there's anything further you need.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Jonnwhite
Joining in
351 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi Rachel, 

I did have an engineer visit me who was supposed to give me a call back on Tuesday the 12th however unfortunately he didn't.

My broadband went down today which i have managed to fix myself. 

I have called the help centre to get them to re arrange for him to come back and all she wants to do is turn my WiFi back on. I've been on hold with just silence for 10 minutes while she "Checks something" 

If the WiFi is turned on on my router it breaks the whole thing hence using my own AP, i told the engineer this and he said if you have found somthing that works then we shall leave it like that for now untill we resolve the speed issue. 

He said that if i had any more issues he would come back with a Network engineer, however since no call back i haven't had this arranged, please can i have someone call me to get this booked in ASAP as i'm getting under 150MBPs most of the time, sometimes it's okay however quite allot of the time im struggling to stream a TV show from Netflix or i loose everything g completely. 

I've been having issues for almost a year now, if this isn't resolved soon i will more than likely leave in August when i come up for renewal. Considering my area hasn't even had Virgin for 2 years yet, i would of thought the network would of been a bit more resilient and would work.

 

Many thanks

Jon

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.62K
  • 312
  • 772
Roger_Gooner
Superstar
338 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Your upstream power readings of 30dBmV are too low. In contrast here are mine (there's a bug which shows the readings a tenth of what they are).

Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	53700146	4.375	5120	64 qam	10
2	60300121	4.4	5120	64 qam	9
3	46200111	4.3	5120	64 qam	11
4	39400024	4.3	5120	64 qam	12

And what kind of booster was fitted?

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
  • 6.15K
  • 471
  • 1.02K
Tudor
Hero
311 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Agree with @Roger_Gooner, why VM rep said they cannot seen anything wrong is beyond me. 


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.02K
  • 59
  • 193
Forum Team
Forum Team
285 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi Jon,

 

Sorry to hear that the issues have returned and that you haven't had a callback from the engineer.

 

Taking another look at your levels from our end, everything seems fine. I'd also hate to start again from the beginning so I've emailed the individuals who were involved last time to request that they make further arrangements with you. I don't know what times or days they'll be working, but I'm sure I'll hear back over the next couple of days. I'll let you know as soon as I have a response, but please do let me know if they get in touch.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Jonnwhite
Joining in
264 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Hi Thank you very much for your response. 

So my broadband cam in from the hwite box on the wall. 

It then split one to broadband one to tv. It then split again and went to each V6. This was then changed to go through the first splitter and then through a booster to each v6 box. When the bloke came out the other day he removed that, put the 4 way splitter back in ONU side and put a 3 way splitter on where the inital 2 way was. 

Bellow are the current power levels. 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394003953.625512064 qam8
2537001353.6512064 qam6

 

Would these be in tolerance? Would seem to of raised slightly since my last post. 

Still lots of errors in the network log, some being critical.

05/03/2019 18:49:30criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2019 18:49:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2019 18:49:30criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2019 18:49:34Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/03/2019 18:49:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/03/2019 23:03:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Many thanks

Jon

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.62K
  • 312
  • 772
Roger_Gooner
Superstar
255 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed, WiFi and a lots of Engineer visits

Your upstream power levels are now within tolerance although it would be good for them to be a bit higher like mine. As you've still got RCS messages, VM need to sort this out.

Incidentally, how are your TVs? I won't have thought that reducing signal strength to the V6s would be a good idea.

 

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply