Menu
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
240 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Solid red power light on Hub 3

We have had a solid red light on our Hub 3 for the past 6 days. 

No area faults identified.

Several pinhole resets done.

Hub not overheating but turned off for 45 minutes and restarted as cold. Hub has plenty of ventilation.

No issue with internet speed. 5ghz signal is consistent, 2.4ghz signal drops out a few times a days. 

Turned off 2.4ghz signal and restarted. Turned into modem mode and restarted. 

Checked all cabling.

Spoken to a Faults Advisor for 45 minutes on the phone, various checks and reboots done. Still solid red light and advised nothing more to be done, monitor for 24 hours. 

Any help as to the cause and fix of the red light would be much appreciated.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
210 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Here's my Hub data:

Cable Modem Status

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz) 

331000000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz) 

32600000

Locked

Provisioning State 

Online

0 Kudos
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
208 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1331000000040256 qam25
2203000000140256 qam9
3211000000140256 qam10
42190000000.940256 qam11
52270000000.540256 qam12
62350000000.240256 qam13
7243000000040256 qam14
8251000000040256 qam15
9259000000040256 qam16
10267000000040256 qam17
11275000000040256 qam18
12283000000040256 qam19
13291000000038256 qam20
142990000000.238256 qam21
15307000000040256 qam22
16315000000040256 qam23
17323000000-0.238256 qam24
18371000000040256 qam26
19379000000038256 qam27
20387000000040256 qam28
21395000000-0.240256 qam29
22403000000-0.238256 qam30
23411000000-0.438256 qam31
24419000000-0.238256 qam

32

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.33680
2Locked40.3180
3Locked40.9230
4Locked40.3230
5Locked40.3290
6Locked40.3460
7Locked40.9440
8Locked40.3470
9Locked40.3510
10Locked40.3690
11Locked40.31040
12Locked40.31180
13Locked38.91750
14Locked38.91900
15Locked40.32110
16Locked40.33030
17Locked38.93550
18Locked40.38500
19Locked38.99920
20Locked40.311170
21Locked40.911740
22Locked38.915650
23Locked38.917340
24Locked38.619280
0 Kudos
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
207 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000042.8512064 qam5
25370000043.8512064 qam2
34620000543.5512016 qam3
43940000042.8512032 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
206 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID1283580
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID1283579
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
203 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Spoiler
 

Network Log

Time Priority Description
12/07/2021 17:30:28noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 00:23:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/07/2021 21:37:16ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2021 12:01:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2021 08:51:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 15:14:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2021 21:37:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2021 16:16:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/07/2021 16:15:1Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 17:52:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 08:04:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 02:12:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2021 01:51:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Akua_A
  • 1.22K
  • 31
  • 79
Forum Team
Forum Team
198 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Hi @mazj_uk,

 

Welcome to our community forums and thank you for your first posts.

 

Sorry to hear you are having issues with the red light on your hub. We can understand you concern and want to do our best to help. 

 

How long has this light issue been ongoing? Are you experiencing other issues with your Hub? Does this affect you use of broadband or WIFI?

 

Thanks,

Akua_A
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
nodrogd
  • 16.81K
  • 1.97K
  • 4.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
198 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Irrespective of the hub data, if the hub is displaying a red power light & is not being used in modem mode then the issue needs to be resolved for safety reasons. False positive indications are dangerous as they can mask a real overheat fault, which is a fire risk.

I will escalate this thread for a priority response.

VM BB TV Landline PAYG mobile. Freeview/Freesat HD, Tesco Mobile. Customer since 1993

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

mazj_uk
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
186 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

As per above the light has been solid red for 6 days, we have no issue with our speed. 5ghz signal is fine, 2.4ghz signal drops a couple of times a day. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 3.4K
  • 205
  • 438
Forum Team
Forum Team
175 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Solid red power light on Hub 3

Thanks for flagging this nodrogd. 

 

So we can help further I will contact you via Private Message mazj_uk - just look out for the purple envelope and we'll take it from there.

 

Tom