Menu
Reply
sonijem
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
181 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Slow Broadband Speed

Hi Guys,

I have a  problem with Broadband speed, it is extremly slow. I have 100MBPS connection but speed it accually deliver is from 1MBPS to 40MBPS.

If I do Pin reset then it give around 80MBPS for sometime then back to normal. Such a stupid broadband.

I cant connect the video call using wi-fi for work, I have to transfer my calls so that I dont get disconnected due to suddent decrease in internet speed thus forced me to drop-off from the call.

Previously it had network dropout issues.

Please help!

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
172 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as text, not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

sonijem
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
159 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
11387500005.638256 qam1
2146750000537256 qam2
31547500004.537256 qam3
41627500004.138256 qam4
51707500004.138256 qam5
61787500004.138256 qam6
71867500004.538256 qam7
81947500004.638256 qam8
92027500004.538256 qam9
102107500004.538256 qam10
112187500004.438256 qam11
122267500004.338256 qam12
132347500004.338256 qam13
142427500004.138256 qam14
152507500004.338256 qam15
16258750000438256 qam16
172667500004.138256 qam17
182747500004.338256 qam18
192827500005.138256 qam19
202907500005.438256 qam20
212987500005.638256 qam21
223067500005.338256 qam22
23314750000538256 qam23
243227500004.938256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.620
2Locked37.630
3Locked37.650
4Locked38.660
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.610
7Locked38.650
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.940
10Locked38.650
11Locked38.650
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.950
14Locked38.940
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.650
18Locked38.630
19Locked38.960
20Locked38.950
21Locked38.670
22Locked38.950
23Locked38.650
24Locked38.900
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000047512064 qam1
23940000046.8512064 qam2
33260000046.8512064 qam3
42579996646.5512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
sonijem
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
158 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

 

Time Priority Description

08/02/2021 11:12:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/02/2021 09:25:41 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

06/02/2021 01:43:12 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

05/02/2021 07:27:19 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/02/2021 01:48:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/01/2021 22:24:0 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

28/01/2021 14:41:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

28/01/2021 12:08:1 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/01/2021 23:15:40 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/01/2021 03:07:59 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

24/01/2021 10:09:51 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/01/2021 00:33:9 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

20/01/2021 22:09:51 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/01/2021 21:16:20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/01/2021 11:23:53 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/01/1970 00:01:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

14/01/2021 02:49:25 notice SW download Successful - Via NMS

14/01/2021 02:47:53 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS

14/01/2021 01:55:53 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

13/01/2021 19:55:51 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
114 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Unfortunately there's no problems visible in that data (unfortunate because they'd uusally be easily fixed).  There's a further ccheck to see if this is network congestion on VM's cables, although if this is the case then it will (at best) no resolve until lockdown ends.  Setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality that'll show what's going on with your VM connection.  Post a link to a live, shared graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can do that immediately.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

sonijem
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
103 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Hi, 

This is the link for the live graph,

Thanks.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/9053cb3f147663dd4d4f37fe92e4dcc6e548293c

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
89 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Something to try in the meanwhile.  The 40-80 Mbps range suggests that the device/s are connecting to the 2.4 GHz wifi band, which is always slower than the 5 GHz band. I'm not sure that's the whole story, because the circa 1 Mbps speed you measured indicates something more may be going on, but the following is worth a try.

The hub has a default setting of using the same VMxxxxxxx network name for both 2.4 and 5 GHz,many devices are fine, a small minority don't like this at all.  If you go into the Hub's settings and try renaming the two wifi bands with different names (eg just add 5 to the end of the 5 GHz name, or LAN of Hope and Glory, or whatever you want), click "Apply changes".  You'll then need to reconnect devices because they won't recognise any network you've changed the name on.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

sonijem
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
47 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Hey Team,

Someone can please look at the live BQM graph and tell what is causing the slow broaband speed.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
39 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

BQM isn't showing anything significant.  There's a few (unwelcome) latency spikes, but no packet loss, and it isn't indicating anything that would explain the poor speeds.  I'll flag this for the forum staff to advise, if the response is "can't see anything wrong from our side", then whilst on the data available I'd understand that, it does then mean that the best option to improve your internet is to change ISP.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P
  • 1.85K
  • 84
  • 149
Forum Team
Forum Team
20 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Slow Broadband Speed

Hello sonijem

 

Sorry to hear of the broadband speed issues experienced, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us via the forums and welcome to the community.

 

Having checked your account and the details provided we can confirm there doesn't appear to be any issues on our end, All of the level's are within the expected parameter's which doesn't indicate an issue.

 

As Andruser has advised there aren't any glaring issues with your BQM either. If you're using the broadband over a wireless connection, you mentioned you're on 100mb, if you have a lot of devices connected this can effect the overall speeds received. We'd recommend removing any devices connected on the wireless network be removed.

 

We have these helpful tips for wired connections - virg.in/BBtroubleshoot

And for Wireless - https://virg.in/wifisos

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply